We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Dissatisfied. Won't be returning.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Villas Condos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaside Villas Condos
Save
You added Seaside Villas Condos to your Saves list
Beach Street, Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Dissatisfied. Won't be returning.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I had stayed in unit #5 once before with my husband and sister-in-law and liked it well enough, despite some hang-ups: poor distribution of a/c throughout rooms, no hot water, and a severe leak through the sliding glass door on a stormy night that required we use our pool towels to stop the leaking. Because of the size of the condo, the a/c, the pool and the kitchen I decided to overlook the previous hang-ups and return with a friend and her 3 year old daughter…BIG MISTAKE!!

The first indication that things would not go as expected came four nights before our reservation, when I received a call from management (Mariya and Ray) informing us that they were expecting us that evening (problem #1). It took two additional phone calls to clarify the exact dates of our reservation and the exact number of people in our party, details that had originally been confirmed over the phone but were not written down by building management.

We arrived at noon on check-in day and initially had no problems , and Mariya was kind enough to drive us to the condo after checking us in and reassured me that, unlike during my previous stay, there would be hot water. However, she did inform us that construction was being done in front of the building (problem #2). She wasn’t kidding! The beachfront near the property was completely inaccessible, power saws were operating from 8am until sundown, and our “oceanfront” view was obstructed by building materials and a team of construction guys. Additionally, the beach chairs reserved for guests were not usable, as they were occupied with tools from the men. Given the scope of the construction and the fact that it was planned and scheduled well in advance of our initial booking, I was surprised and disappointed that neither Mariya nor Ray mentioned the construction until after we had arrived and checked in.

We stepped into unit#3 and everything looked great. We went to turn on the a/c and nothing happened (problem #3)! I immediately called Mariya, but left a message because she was away for lunch. While waiting for a call back, I knocked on a neighbors door for help but they couldn’t figure out the problem either (I felt awkward having to interrupt a guest to ask for help with what should have been a management issue). After about an hour of tinkering and playing I finally walked over to the office to inquire and asked Mariya about my message which she said she never got. She did send Ray over to look at the problem and this is where things really started to go downhill. The “a/c guy” was in Belize City (an hour away on boat), so they were told that he would be on the next boat. When we didn’t hear from Mariya at about 4pm we again stopped by and we got a long story about how the guy never got on the boat so he wouldn’t be coming until the next morning. When we returned to the condo we attempted for about ½ hour to open some windows but they wouldn’t stay up (problem #4). We had to call management yet again to have Ray come over and take a look at them. Turns out the cleaning crew had removed some springs that were needed. By about 6pm I received a call from Mariya offering us some fans to get us through the night. Around 9pm a rain storm came through and forced us to close those windows that we had managed to prop open, and we were back to a stuffy condo for the rest of the evening. We had discussed moving to another building (as all the units in this building were occupied), but we had unpacked and were reasonably settled with the three-year-old child, so we decided to wait for the a/c repairman to arrive that morning.

On day #2 we saw the a/c guy working on the problem as we headed out to the beach. When we returned at noon for lunch the a/c still didn’t work and, not having heard any word from management, we assumed the problem was still being fixed. Even as we grew worried about another evening in a stuffy condo with no a/c, we decided against acting like overbearing obnoxious tourists, so we did not call to complain about it and let management sort through the problem (problem #4). We were very wrong to have sat on it!

On day #3 we returned to the office first thing in the morning and let Mariya know that we still had no a/c. She immediately contacted Ray to check on it because the a/c guy had told them that the problem was fixed. As it turns out, it was official that the a/c unit was completely un-repairable, so at that point we were moved to condo #2 (problem #5). Not only were we not kept up to date on the status of the a/c repairs, but the unit managers had not clarified the issue with the repairman.

Unit #2 was smaller and darker. Though the a/c unit was working it was a bit difficult to control. It was extremely loud in my room and woke me up a few times in the night when it kicked on. Again, the a/c was not equally distributed as it blew a lot of air in my room but not enough in any other bed room. Our kitchen table was on its last leg (figuratively) and appliances needed upgrading (our can opener did not work). We also had a broken tv control (problems #6 -9).

The worst part of the whole experience was not, in fact, the two days of no a/c or the construction-ruined view but our check-out experience (problem #10). The first words out of Mariya’s mouth were that since we were already getting a repeat-customer rate she could not give us a discount despite our two nights without a/c, the lack of beach access and the chronic failures to communicate. We stated our case to her about how we felt it was only fair to get a discount because, regardless of the rate we were paying, we were expecting a/c, an ocean view, beach access and luxury accommodations. Not only was she reluctant to give us a discount, she quickly became discourteous and outright disrespectful. We allowed her to tell us what she thought was fair but she only kept saying, “The customer is always right.” She tried to argue her case by telling us that had she known how unhappy we were on the first night she would have helped us find a new place on the beach and would not have charged us the rest of the nights we had reserved. In addition she noted that she assumed everything was all right because when we did speak, we did not seem bothered by the issues. In other words, because we didn’t complain enough or voice how unhappy we were, we were not deserving of an additional discount. She argued with us to the bitter end and was certain to have the last word. Having been disappointed while staying in three of the six different units in this condo, and after this last experience has left a bad taste in my mouth with management, my decision to never stay here again has been solidified.

The lesson learned: You can never complain too much or too often, especially when you are expecting a “Dream Vacation Rental” with “Luxury Amenities.”

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariya H, Manager at Seaside Villas Condos, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We really wish that you had let us know some of the issues during your stay, rather than after as it’s difficult for us to solve the issues and accommodate your needs if you do not let us know the problems at the time. For example, the hot water issue and the leaking door were both things that could have been fixed at the time, rather than you experience further discomfort during your stay. In addition, it makes it difficult for us to know what the problem could have been and fix it.

We did explain to you at the time that the a/c issue was an isolated incident and beyond our control, we did everything we could to try and accommodate your party and we did give you a further discount due to this, giving you a total of US$200.00 off of your four night stay.

With regards to the beachfront, as we told you, this was scheduled to be complete by the time of your arrival, but due to bad weather it was delayed and once again something beyond our control and for that we do apologize.

With regards to some of the furniture being outdated, we will address this issue with the owners. Thanks for bringing this to our attention.

As mentioned, the a/c problem was an isolated incident due to the Contractor not being on the island at the time, but we have since put measures in place to prevent this from happening again.

It is vital for us to be made aware of issues at the time rather than at the end of the stay. We do not consider it as complaining, but rather assisting us in making our guests stay at Seaside Villas a good one.

I once again deeply apologise for the inconveniences you experienced on your stay but we do very much value guest input and try to do everything we can to make our guests happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    19
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Just returned from our second trip to Caye Caulker and we were very impressed with the Seaside Villas. We stayed in unit #6 on the third floor which had great views of the beach and pool. On our first trip to Caye Caulker, we stayed at a guest house without Central A/C which was a bit much at times. This time we opted for central A/C which was quite a luxury.

The management, Mariya and Ray, were so nice and accommodating. They were even nice enough to help us on a very rainy Sunday.

We will be back and will definitely stay at Seaside Villas again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
299 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We started at the Sea Side Cabanas, but when they were full were referred here. We were just in town for one night (which from my understanding they typically do not rent out for one night) and after traveling very rustically for the week, were happy with our stay here. It was clean, had a nicely stocked kitchen, cool ac, great view of the ocean, and central location. We did not have hot water. It really seemed to be one of the nicest places on Caye Caulker.
We will not be returning to Caye Caulker though- it was raining for some of our visit & we got so many sand flea bites it was awful. Although there were no bugs in the room of our hotel, we were so itchy it was an island that we will not be heading back to.

Room Tip: We had room 8 & were high up with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

My family and I stayed in unit 6 and were very pleased with it. Ray had a taxi driver meet us at the airport who took us to the water taxi. Then, Ray himself was waiting for us at the dock when we arrived at Caye Caulker.
The A/C worked great the entire time. Everything was clean. The one quirk was the unit had hot and cold water, although not necessarily at the same time.
Housekeeping came around twice, which was enough.
If we ever visit Caye Caulker again, we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed in Unit #4 for 4 nights and was very pleased with it. Loved the Oceanfront View. AC worked great. The showers were either cold or VERY HOT! Never could get it right. Great value and location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Location, size and value are exceptional. We really enjoyed our stay. Not having housekeeping didn't both me as much, but my wife didn't like how the sand got on the floor and other aspects of the unit became dirty over the five days we were there, so would be nice to have housekeeping at least once. (I can't remember if it was advertized as having housekeeping or not, but either way it was the only thing that made the stay anything less than perfect).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We were very pleased with our unit #5. Oceanfront view, clean
and spacious rooms. Two bedrooms with individual bathrooms.
Enjoyed the air-conditioning and (cold) pool. Jacuzzi wasn't working.
The kitchen, although functional, lacked essential cooking utensils
like enough pots and pans, etc. Housekeeping is only a couple
times a week, which is a let down considering we are at the beach.
The condo rental company is friendly, but getting anyting you require
is a chore to keep running to their office. Disappointed they wouldn't allow
us to use the clothes washer in the unit.
Hopefully they improve with simple necessiites and I would look forward
to staying there again.

Room Tip: Needs more frequent housekeeping and essential cooking utensils.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.3 mi away
Iguana Reef Inn
Iguana Reef Inn
#2 of 20 in Caye Caulker
5.0 of 5 stars 380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#9 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#10 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Villas Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Villas Condos

Address: Beach Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Caye Caulker
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside Villas consist of 6 beautifully appointed beachfront condos on the island of Caye Caulker. Each Condo overlooks the crystal clear waters of the Caribbean Sea and the second largest barrier reef in the world.With the luxury of both swimming pool and rooftop Jacuzzi, Seaside Villas Condos are ideal for couples or families alike. Seaside Villas is located only five minutes from the Caye Caulker Airport, a short stroll from the water, shopping, restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaside Villas Condos Hotel Caye Caulker

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaside Villas Condos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.