We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Spot to take in the beautiful view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SunBreeze Suites

Save Saved
You added SunBreeze Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SunBreeze Suites
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Barrier Reef Drive | P.O. Box 14, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #28 of 56 hotels in San Pedro
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Spot to take in the beautiful view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Older property that has been adequetly maintained; large rooms, very comfortable king size bed. The Staff is so helpful. The Bar has very friendly staff. This is not a place for children, does not have the amenities of a full scale resort, but very good for singles or adult families.I would consider a return visit with them.

Room Tip: We had a gound floor unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    89
    19
    13
    8
See reviews for
35
107
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Black mold, smelly sheets, loud music, and drug dealers. Now that I have your attention, expand this review and read exactly what the Sunbreeze Suites is really like. First, just so you don't think I'm some over critical snob, you must know that I am an expat that currently lives in Baghdad, so I am very familiar with "lower" living conditions. Well, I somewhat felt at home at the Sunbreeze. If you enjoy being in the heart of San Pedro with the hustle and bustle of the local "developing" people, by all means, go to the Sunbreeze. I had arguably the best room there (107) which looked straight out into the sea and had a door to the pool deck and bar. But, the bar played Reggae music (usually one song on repeat) until 11 or midnight. So loud that it sounded like a party in our room. I would sit out on the porch overlooking the beach (more appropriately the sand by the dock) and local "party suppliers" would walk up and try and sell us cocaine and weed. While some reading this may think that's awesome, it really made the vacation feel dirty. The room, particularly the sheets, smelled like old mold and there was black mold developing in the shower. I understand the whole island environment is hard on living quarters, but for the price they could have done something. And here is where it gets good. I told them I wasn't happy and I found a different hotel. Told them it wasn't personal and I would be happy to pay for the 2 nights we stayed and will be on our way. They didn't even try to rectify the situation, sent someone to our room with a comments card with the early checkout date written in, and proceeded to have a chip on their shoulder about the whole event. Oh, and they refused to refund the other 8 nights I paid for in advance. I thought about keeping the room since I was paying for it and using it as a base camp while in town, but I just didn't want to deal with the establishment anymore and said good riddance. So, in summary, if you really don't care about where you stay, go to Sunbreeze. But if you re looking to relax and not be bothered, spend the little extra cash and go somewhere else. I upgraded to Victoria House and do not regret it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBsuites, General Manager at SunBreeze Suites, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. I want to say that I am so sorry that our quaint SunBreeze Suites did not meet your expectation. You had communicated this with our senior front desk clerk on the same day of your arrival, but there was very little we could do since you had your mind set to find alternate accommodations outside of the town. In fact, our property is located just north of the heart of the town and many of our guests love the idea of being able to walk to the many local/gourmet restaurants, groceries stores, entertainment, water-sports activities and have a close feel of our culture and friendly people. Should you have brought your complaints to our attention during your stay, we would have had the opportunity to do everything possible to rectify any issue that you may have found disturbing in your suite. As you mentioned, our suites do offer a porch that overlooks the water (beach) and just glazing at the sea makes you feel relaxed. It must have been very disturbing to have been approached by these “Party Suppliers”. We have, however, taken note through this review, and will increase our vigilance to identify these people and to make a proper report to the authorities. We trust that you will continue to enjoy our beautiful island and people.

Sincerely,
Julia Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great spot on the northern part of San Pedro. Nice refreshing pool and jamician restaurant on site which was very good. Beautiful sunrises if you are up that early. Great location and good value. You can arrange snorkeling, snuba or scuba and will be picked up at the dock right in front. I did snuba and snorkeling with Discovery and it was very exciting and the guides were great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Three nights stay here before a nine night sailing adventure. It was a perfect setting foe getting a start on our vacation. Our room was large and the shower was huge. Everything was very clean and there were even flowers on our bed! The pool is lovely and the grounds are very clean too. It is right across from the airport so it is handy too.

Room Tip: Check out several beach front restaurants not just the hotel one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had a great time at this hotel. The maid service was very good. The rooms were spacious, and the staff was very accommodating of our needs for an extra bed. There is a nice view of the ocean a few steps away. There is some noise coming from the restaurant and from the street, but I imagine this would be the same in most other hotels along the beach. Overall, it was a very good experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new haven, Conn
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Overall we had a most enjoyable stay. Wilton and Amalia were very friendly and helpful, especially Wilton. Our suite was very comfortable the Ac worked very well and the kitchen facilities were very adequate. The restaurant food however, could have been better.

Would love to visit again. Had a relaxing and enjoyable time at Sunbreeze Suites. Would recommend it highly!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at SunBreeze Suites for 6 nights and the location is amazing. You are on the beach, maybe a 5 minute walk from the best restaurants on the island, close to shopping and spas, right next to the Caye Caulker Water Taxi dock, and it being at the end of Front St means far less traffic than the rest of the island. Need to hit an ATM? The Belize Bank is across the street. The staff is super friendly and will help you with whatever you need to make your trip amazing. No problems with anything getting stolen. The entire hotel is kept very clean and even the pool is cleaned every morning. There are a few cheaper places to stay on the island, but this was by far the best deal for what you get. The rooms are large, there is free wifi, the only draw back is that the beds aren't the most comfortable, but apparently that is true of most hotels on the island from other people we have talked to. Beds aside, this is an amazing place to stay.

Room Tip: The second and third floors have the best views, but on the first floor you can walk right out the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SunBreeze Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunBreeze Suites

Address: Barrier Reef Drive | P.O. Box 14, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SunBreeze Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SunBreeze Suites central location has been one of the top choices for visitors in “la Isla Bonita” San Pedro, Belize. This Resort with only 20 one bedroom seafront suites offers a tranquil, and laidback, atmosphere in addition to stunning views of the Caribbean Sea and the largest barrier reef in the western hemisphere – 8 Oceanfront suites and 12 Ocean view suites, all suitable for families, friends and couples that are looking forward to spend a fun vacation full of activities, or just sitting back on the beach relaxing while sipping a tropical drink and gently being caressed by the refreshing sea-breeze. The easy access to a variety of local and gourmet restaurants, souvenir shops, art galleries, and entertainment provides SunBreeze Suites’ guests convenience and memoirs of a lifetime of our unique multi-cultural Island. Amenities include: pool, restaurant & bar, reception, tour desk, dock, Free WiFi. All Suites are non-smoking. Jambel Jerk Pit Restaurant & Bar offers a fusion of Belize’s signature flavors with the perfect blend of Jamaican Cuisine. Carefully selected spices are utilized which are sure to tantalize your taste, while the exceptional aroma awakes you! Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner (from 7:00 am to 9:00 pm daily). Offering “All you can eat buffet on Wednesday with live music from 6:00pm to 9:30pm and Happy hour on Fridays from 5:00pm to 9:00pm. Belize Dive Connection” a well known and respected dive operation for over 15 years now, expanding to our sister property, SunBreeze Hotel, just an 8 minute stroll away, provides The SunBreeze Suites’ guests with safe and professional diving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your SunBreeze Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbreeze Hotel San Pedro
Sunbreeze Resort San Pedro
SunBreeze Suites Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SunBreeze Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.