We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DANGEROUS STAY AWAY” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Reef Village Resort

Save Saved
You added Reef Village Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Reef Village Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Reef Village Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“DANGEROUS STAY AWAY”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My wife has slipped and fallen twice during our week stay because of really bad maintenance. Several huge deep potholes taking up 90 % of the the roadway we have to use to get to our condo. She has a huge scrape on the side of her leg. Talked to the management staff. I was addressed aggressively and told to go ... myself. When I talked to the restaurant manager about it he said he regularly feels physically threatened when he tries to talk to the condo management staff. We are seasoned travelers. We walk 5 miles a day, are strong and are not the complaining type. This is my first review ever. Hope I never have to write one like this again. The list is much longer here but I'll stop there.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    17
    12
    2
    17
See reviews for
24
44
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

David and Omar are amazing. The villa was great. Can not wait to come back! See you in 2015...everything they said they would do, they did. You can count on them. I do hope the pool gets fixed. Reef village has its ups and down, I do believe they are doing the best they can to get it back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Not to be harsh, but the title of this review is well-deserved. At one time this property was amazing, to our disappointment, when we came back expecting the same- it truly was the opposite! Very run-down, pool pump not working, resulting in pool closure, apparently some electrical issues, electric lines dug up everywhere, condo buildings desperately need painting, even tho rain has been excessive, there was no obvious attempts to fill huge potholes. In a nutshell, this place is a mess!! We checked out after the first night- moved on to a properly managed resort/ Captain Morgans

Room Tip: keep movin on down the road a bit further north- several well managed resorts
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This review is long overdue. I stayed here with my sister and two girlfriends not long ago, and we had a wonderful time. The manager David was exceptional, he placed us in the best villa on the property. The staff is extremely accommodating, especially Omar at the bar. The drinks and the light food at the bar were tasty (especially, the lobster ceviche). The pool is refreshing, the grounds are never crowded, so if you are looking for a place to unwind, this is the place to be. The location is nice because you are right over the bridge to town (I think the bridge to town is about $5 USD roundtrip by golf cart or taxi) and Reef Village is located on the north part of the island, near other resorts and great restaurants (this part of the island is more low-key and romantic than town). It was nice to have so many options.

Travel Tip: Beware of fraudulent activity at the golf cart rental place a.k.a "mark's mini mart" just down the road from the bridge. Faulty golf carts that breakdown, which equals a shakedown, and also my bank advised us not to rent from them, along with locals putting us on to their scam.

I can't wait to go back next year!!! A great time had by all.

Warm regards,
Erika, Kristin, Andrea and Lovis

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We booked a week at Reef Village with Interval. We already were spending 10 nights at Captain Morgan' resort. We took a golf cart ride
down to see where we were staying at the reef. WHAT A SHOCK. This
place is a garbage hole of rundown units and facilities. The multi level
condos or apartments were dirty and completely neglected. The individual lagoon units were the same. The driveways were giant water
holes, landscape on existing, office and so called restaurant full of rain
water all over and all closed. A small open sided bar with a poor local
employee was the only sing of life. When asked, where were the people,
he replied there are none. We bought two belkin beers from him and left
him a $5. There were many paper notices taped on the lagoon unit front
doors that read, "Due to the power problems in the complex, do not use
the AC units until further notice". Do I need to say more. We cancelled
with interval and they were very concerned, refunded by booking fee, gave me another 6 months to use my certificate and tried to find us another location on the island. Nothing available so we went back to
Captain Morgan's and they made room for us for another week.
This property should be removed from interval.
If this is not enough, the location is like a slum area.

Room Tip: Try Motel 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The apartment was fine, everything worked as it should, very clean, the bed was too firm so I did not get good sleeps. The weather was not good it was rainy season and I normally dodge the rain , not this time however at least 3 days of my week, Sept 7- 14th. The room had the cool air on and the fans which made it really cold for me so I ended up turning it off and hence got a sore throat from the mold spores a heating engineer gave me a tip go and buy a bag of charcoal and put it in the cupboard with the unit it helps, there is always a next time.
The resort was dead no-one really around only ex-pats on their lap tops, very quiet so if you want that great, sadly no evening entertainment and the bar closed early.
I had a good time but the weather lacked, it is a friendly safe place to be, I am a single woman, I was on my own and walked into town and around with no concerns.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you want a wonderful relaxing vacation time....reserve your villa at Reef Village San Pedro, Belize. The dives are spectacular, the villas luxurious, and the staff...fabulous. Particularly Carla and the office staff. They will make sure your stay is wonderful. The pool is sparkling clean and the maid staff see to everything you need from a blender to cooking tools if you choose to use their well stocked kitchen (even has a wine refrigerator)! I highly recommend this place for low key quiet vacation time. You will not find a better staff from Omar (wonderful adult beverage bar) to the immaculate 3 bedroom 3 bathroom villa on the waterfront.

Room Tip: Request a villa from Carla! They are very accomodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Reef Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Village Resort

Address: Reef Village Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#39 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reef Village Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reef Village Resort - one of the most beautiful places in the country offering luxury condos and villas with up to 4 bedrooms at reasonable rates among some of the finest amenities on the island, restaurant with delicious local and Intl. cuisine, bar and pool on a cool island in the middle of the lagoon. Incredible packages and tour offerings ensure your Belize vacation will exceed your expectations of luxury, comfort, adventure and fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Reef Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Village Hotel San Pedro
Reef Village Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reef Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.