We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on earth.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of X'tan Ha Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added X'tan Ha Resort to your Saves list
X'tan Ha Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 1 | 7.2 Miles North, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Belize Legacy Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Plainfield, Indiana
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Paradise on earth.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Well after a 11 month delay (due to my wife's injury) we arrived and instantly my dreams came true. I have been reading reviews every night for a year in anticipation of our trip. We flew Tropic Air from Belize City to San Pedro and loved it. From then on it was 6 days of water taxi's which was always interesting and we enjoyed our daily excursions into town. Loved San Pedro, the people all the little kids running around, golf carts, the market and lots of Great places to eat. Elvi's, Caramba, Wild Mango, Lily's etc: but back to the resort, when the boat docked all the photo's came to life. Fantasy land. We had a beautiful ocean front room so close to the beautiful blue water, breathtaking to wake up to every morning. Our room was great and we were celebrating our anniversary and they made the bed real pretty and gave us a bottle of wine. My wife got her daily "dog fix" every morning when Oliver would bring Buddy by. Everyone on staff was super . Quiet and secluded yet everything you need and a short water taxi ride to town. We had a couple of dinners and several breakfast at Temple Run Tavern and they were excellent. Loved Tristian and spunky little Jessica. We did a ride along on a No Worries snorkel tour with our friends and enjoyed. This was probably our last trip out of the country due to my wife's health and if so all I can say is dream fulfilled. Thanks to all for making that way.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    59
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
50
202
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We love beaches, snorkeling & getting away from it all…..December 2014 was our first stay at X'tan Ha. They had everything we were looking for and more! We stayed for 3 weeks & were not ready to go home.

Oliver, with the help of Buddy his dog & Della his wife, has done a wonderful job of managing X'tan Ha! He has gathered a great crew to run the resort……At the front desk, Oscar, Chris, Emil, Tania & Stacey go the extra mile to be helpful to the guests. They were friendly & interested. We loved them all!!!

Upon arrival, X'tan surprised us with a beautifully decorated room for our anniversary along with a nice note, Champagne & Belize chocolate. We were blown away!…..It was a big anniversary but we didn't remember telling them about it.

Our room was wonderful! It was cute, clean & every window had a pretty view. The towels & bed sheets were of good quality & always smelled fresh. We were provided with nice soaps & lotions. The cleaning girls were sweet.….We were very comfortable…..Plus, we enjoy being outdoors, & would open the front doors to the porch where we could hang out & be outside right at our room. And, there was a hammock on the porch….An awesome accessory!

Ari & his beach crew kept the beach looking nice & the chairs & umbrellas arranged & dusted off. We never felt crowded on the beach. Plus they have all kinds of beach "toys" to appeal to almost everyone, young to old.

Carlos & his maintenance crew kept the grounds beautiful & the buildings in good repair. I don't think there is a bad view from any of the rooms with the way they have landscaped the resort. Each 4 room building has a color & a theme. The layout is well done and pretty.

Tony, the head bartender at the beach bar, was friendly & helpful. We are not ones to hang out at "the bar" but it didn't matter. Tony & his crew were welcoming anyway & we loved the island music that they played. We also enjoyed listening to the Reggae Band & the DJ that they had for entertainment a couple of nights.

Hill & his No Worries Tour Company are located on the dock. Hill & his guys are lots of fun & are knowledgeable. They offer several different kinds of tours. We, of course, went on a snorkeling tour. Mario & Mario took us. Great tour!

Our favorite things to do were to hike the beach & snorkel. We kayaked to Mexico Rocks almost every day. The snorkeling there is fabulous!….Over the top good!!! Everyday was interesting, different & pretty. We loved seeing all the fish, rays, sharks, squid, eels & the coral surrounded by sand. It felt like we were in a different world when we were snorkeling…..Talk about a total escape! WOW!!!

Cheers to Oliver DeHart, the WORLD'S BEST Resort Manager, and his team of happy people who sent us home smiling on a boat playing island music.

:) Ann & Phil from Ohio

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

What an amazing resort! Far enough away from the crowds of San Pedro but close enough to check out all the sights. Our room overlooked the water and was impeccably clean. Loved eating at the restaurant and the guys working at the beach side bar were so great! Took a snorkeling tour with the on-site tour company. They did an excellent job (saw a bunch of turtles, rays, and sharks!). Also, took their free-to-use kayaks out to Mexico Rocks for a little more snorkeling and their free-to-use bikes down the beach! Not only is the beach super clean (not like a lot of the resorts I've seen here) they also have a nice pool (a second one is being built now) perfect for a nighttime dip. I'm not usually one to visit the same vacation spot more than once, but I can't wait to make the trip down there again!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Branch, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I spent a week here in early November. It is a great place to stay while in Belize! The owner and staff are very helpful and professional. We were a little disappointed that we couldn't rent a golf cart to get in and out of town. You have to depend on the water taxi to get into town and then back again. However, one of the perks is the hotel provides kayaks, and you can paddle out to a nice snorkeling area for free.
Nice restaurant on site. Beautiful beach and clear snorkeling around the resort. Great place to unwind, unplug, and relax. Our hobby is geocaching, so I left a geocache at the front office.
Thumbs up!

Room Tip: ask for second floor, oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We walked down 2 miles from our house that we were staying at. Definitely worth the walk! We ordered the wings, mozzarella sticks and cheese fries. Great food! The drinks were also amazing! It was Happy Hour and we left happy! Fabio was a great bartender! We will be going back before we leave!

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After searching long and hard my wife and I decided to travel to Belize for our honeymoon. Working in the hotel industry I did not want to travel to a branded resort and we wanted to do something outside of our typical Caribbean vacations where we always stay with Marriott. We are so happy we chose X'Tan Ha. From the moment the boat pulled up at the dock until the moment we left we were offered top level service for what we thought was great value. Day 2 there was a hiccup with the AC, but once we informed the staff they sprung into action. Felipe apologized from the moment I opened the door and was hardly noticeable while we stayed in the room during the repairs. He took particular care to remove his sandals each time he entered and even wiped the floor upon completion. It was fixed almost immediately and I must admit that the entire property (beach included!) seemed well maintained by the team. We ate at the restaurant which was delicious and frequented the bar where we quickly aligned ourselves with Tony and Elder. They were so much fun and their jokes and conversation were the perfect compliment to the view, drinks and water steps away. I never felt like any of the staff imposed on the privacy of our honeymoon yet they were there if we needed something. From housekeeping to management I can't help but praise their attention to guest service. We went on a spearfishing/shorelunch/snorkeing trip which was easy because it left from the dock at the resort. We had a great time and they put us on the fish immediately while the wives dove for conch. then they cooked the days catch on a beach grill which so simply executed and delicious. There was always ample room to spread out on the beach with the other folks staying at the resort.There were occasional visitors from neighboring resorts which provided some new friends at the bar and great laughs on the trampoline. They all claimed 'to have heard of the beach and bar at X'Tan Ha' which is what affirmed to my wife and I that we chose the right spot. It was the perfect mix of total seclusion and accessibility to the other attractions in Belize. The boat back to town was simple and passes could be purchased right in the lobby, this required a total of about 40 steps from the room which was convenient.

All in all we couldn't be happier with our choice. X'Tan Ha doesn't claim to be what they aren't -- which is refreshing. Genuine, good service, good food, happy staff, delicious drinks, great beach and property all provided for an equally relaxing and adventurous honeymoon. Full recommendation from this highly critical hospitality professional.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

X'tan Ha is a wonderful resort I really can't fault it!! The staff were amazing - Jessica, Joshua and Tristan in the restaurant were friendly and helpful and gave great service. The bar staff were great fun and the grounds men worked tirelessly to keep the grounds neat and tidy and always with a smile on their face. Front desk were also so helpful, the manager Oliver has a fantastic team and resort. We really liked the food in the restaurant too and the Belizean Burritos are delicious!! The rooms were lovely with great amenities inc a kitchen and Free mineral water is supplied which is greatly appreciated. The housekeeping staff were also lovely and kept our room clean and tidy. We experienced rain whilst there but it didn't ruin our stay and made the sunny days even more special! We would definitely return.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to X'tan Ha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about X'tan Ha Resort

Address: PO Box 1 | 7.2 Miles North, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Belize Legacy Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — X'tan Ha Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a tranquil, luxurious and romantic destination at X'tan Ha Resort, located just 7.2 Miles North of San Pedro Town. This truly exotic, tropical resort offers one bedroom suites, with spacious kitchens and living areas. Each villa offers a private verandah overlooking the pristine Caribbean Sea. X'tan Ha offers complimentary water sports- kayaks, paddle boards, paddle boat, hobie cat sailing, and a water trampoline.X'tan Ha offers complimentary transfers upon arrival/departure from/to San Pedro town upon arrival and departure. Please contact us the resort to schedule your transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your X'tan Ha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belize Legacy Beach Hotel San Pedro
Hotel Belize Legacy Beach
X'Tan Ha Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage X'tan Ha Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.