We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of X'tan Ha Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added X'tan Ha Resort to your Saves list
X'tan Ha Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 1 | 7.2 Miles North, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Belize Legacy Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Dowagiac, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at X'tan Ha Resort in March. We had an amazing trip! The moment we arrived at X'tan Ha we felt welcomed by the staff. Everyone working at X'tan Ha is helpful and friendly. The property is beautiful, and the beach seems to be the best in the area! We had read other reviews before we arrived to the resort, so we knew that we needed to buy groceries in town if we wanted to save money by cooking a few meals in our room. We were able to take the water taxi to San Pedro and buy a few things that we needed. Groceries can get expense, but it was great to have some things right in our room. Although the resort is a little off the beaten path we were still able to explore Belize with the help of No Worries Tours. It was very helpful to have them right at the resort. They were very accommodating and helpful. We were able to do all the tours that we wanted to while in Belize.This resort offers the best of both worlds a quiet secluded getaway and/or a great adventure if you want it. Overall, we had the most amazing honeymoon at X'tan Ha. We plan to come back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    59
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
49
201
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

What an amazing spot and staff! If you like tons of people, parties galore and lots of beach traffic and vendors, this is NOT the place for you. The beach was amazing, the staff were excellent, and the rooms were very clean and comfortable! The water was so warm and clear, we walked out and snorkeled most days. As this is a smaller, more intimate resort you really get to know everyone and they get to know you, staff & guests alike. And you don't have to get up at 4am to claim a beach chair! The only way in and out is via water taxi, and it is a 15-20 min. trip but that can be a plus or a minus, depending on how you look at it. We loved it! The running water does have a smell, but it's an island people! I'm guessing they were working off of well water. You get used to it and they provide plenty of clean, fresh drinking water so it's not that big of a deal. We only ate at the restaurant a couple of times but it was good. We didn't find the drinks to be out of line with anywhere else we've been, but we did bring a bottle in and ordered in beer from the grocery. The bed was a little too soft for what we are used to, but we still slept fine. Must have been all the fresh sea air and Belikin! The absolute only fault I could find would be with the dive shop on site. But he rents from them so no black mark against the resort. Better to go in to town and book from someone there. I booked a deep tissue massage from Sandra the first day. Very reasonably priced and she was WONDERFUL!!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room. Worth every penney!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at X'tan Ha the second week in may and we loved it! The moment you arrive everyone treats you great.Saul took our bags to our room and helped me unpack the food we had delivered from Mata Grande grocery store before we arrived.The bartenders Alex,Elder,Tony and Obie are a great bunch of guys!Every time we were at the bar they were feeding us something whether it was conch ceviche or fresh fish they grilled.The beach is by far the best on the island,very little sea grass and calm clear water.Hill at No Worries Tours is a great guy as is the entire crew.X'tan Ha is small only about 32 rooms so everyone gets to know each other pretty quickly.I've read complaints about the beds,but ours was comfortable.Our room was always clean and all of our requests were taken care of with a smile! X'tan Ha is a wonderful place with friendly people and we plan to go back again and again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The staff is very friendly and attentive (Oliver, Stacey, Fabio, Christina, Eugenia, and Saul)!! The beach is probably the best on the island - there is white sand beach and the sea grass does not come all the way up to the beach as with most other parts of the island. There is plenty of beach to swim or wade without getting into the sea grass. Free kayak usage is a nice bonus and you can easily kayak to Mexico Rocks and the reef -- about 300-400 yards from shore. The efficiency style rooms with bedroom, bath, living, and eat-in kitchen were roomy and didn't feel cramp. The A/C works well.

The grounds are meticulously maintained. The restaurant is very good with an excellent chef and friendly staff (Lorraine, Alfred, Rick).

I would highly recommend X'Tan Ha for folks wanting to get off the beaten path. This resort is somewhat secluded at 7 miles north of San Pedro and generally only accessible by water taxi. Aside from the resort restaurant and bar, there is no other commerce. Order some food essentials and groceries and they will deliver to your room.

Great location, service, and beautiful. We will return.

Room Tip: Recommend a room directly on the beach as opposed to poolside with limited view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver D, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thanks for all the shout outs, we are so happy you enjoyed staying with us as much as we enjoyed hosting you and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Yes, we are somewhat secluded and we do our best to make sure all our guests know that before they arrive. We are 7.2 miles North of town, if you are looking to be in the hustle and bustle of town, we are not the right choice for you. If you are looking for a great stretch of beach and a place to unwind complemented by staff that really want to make sure you enjoy your stay, then please choose us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here in February 2014 and are really glad we made the choice of this location. Ambergris is not the location for you if you are looking for sandy beaches or stretches of unblemished shoreline. The H'Tan Ha has the best beach we saw an we explored pretty thoroughly. The beach at the resort is sandy, clean and the water line free from grass which grows along the shore line here. You can actually wade out and swim in relatively clear water. This is not the case elsewhere.
The resort has a friendly feel to it. The staff are really lovely and want to make your stay memorable. The bar guys will look after you and the bar gets great breeze in the afternoon.
The accommodations are actually small one bed apartments with kitchen facilities, so if you want to cook a little you can. We cycled along the beach to the small grocery store (borrowed bicycles from the resort) mentioned in other reviews. If you want, they will actually deliver for you but we managed to get what we needed back with us. The coconut ice cream is fabulous. We met a couple who loved it so much they cycled there every day for a treat!
Dinner options are a bit limited. We ate on site a couple of times but weren't super impressed. Lunch options are better. Service for food at the bar the day we got lunch was pretty slow but it's vacation, so who is in a rush? We used the complimentary water taxis to a couple of other restaurants and enjoyed the experience.
There's plenty of toys to borrow to paddle to the reef, along the shore line etc. It's a bit of a slog out to the reef but plenty to see out there. We also walked to other properties and they are variable. Again, glad we were at this option!
Some of the units are for sale and Oliver, the manager who lives on site,will show you around and help you if you are interested. We looked at a couple of 2 bedroom places being built behind the main units and will have a second pool. Not the right time for us to settle on a second home and not convinced Belize is for us.
We ventured in to town a couple of times on the water taxi and got more groceries and also took a day trip on a plane to the mainland to go tubing, see the ruins and zip line.
All in all a good vacation and would certainly consider going back again.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs unit. Great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Spring
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Service was awesome, place was awesome, rooms were awesome, beach was awesome. Only complaint was there tour company No Worries Tours.. They seemed like they didn't want to accommodate .. Not all the staff just the guy that runs it.. However we found a place in San Pedro to take us out to many cool places to Dive and Snorkel... The staff at x tan are awesome.. Service, beach, everything was the best... The lady that runs it so helpful.. It's a paradise in heaven... Will come back for sure....

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

As you are you notice the crystal blue waters which are pristine, we came all the way to this remote resort for the trampoline for the kids to at with in the ocean which was gone so that was disappointing right off the bat. The oceanfront room had a beautiful view. We had groceries delivered so that we would not have to eat at the restaurant over and over. It was very difficult to
Prepare food as the stove
Was basically one you use while you are camping. One night a nice young man Saul grilled our meat that we had purchased and he was so gracious in doing so.
The bartenders were very nice but seemed annoyed they weren't receiving cash tips...drinks are very
Expensive and if you and your partner are drunks you could easily spend 500 a day on alcohol.
The housekeeping was ok when you could get them in your room with very few people at the resort sometimes the rooms weren't cleaned until the evening despite posting the clean room now tag and being at the beach from 10-2, plenty of time to get that done. The room was hot until the last day we finally figured out how I use ac properly in the bedroom as no one instructed us how to do so. Beds were horribly uncomfortable. The bathrooms and water stink of fish. A word of advise to honeymooners warm a gallon of water in the shower and use to rinse of with after your shower as your body will be tasting pretty salty from the resort water in places that should not be salty after a shower...if you get my drift..
Food at te restaurant was ok for lunch the one time we ate their expensive of coarse about 100 us for four.
All in all beautiful property that needs some work, it is hard because it is a three star property and being hotel snobs you can't expect it to e the four seasons,
But some improvements can be made. Unless you don't plan on leaving the resort much stay closer
To town as the water taxi schedule sucks. We went to San Pedro for dinner, finished at 915 and the water taxi wasn't available until 1030. Our fault but still a pain.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver D, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you so much for taking your time to write this thoughtful review. Feedback like yours is important, not only does it flag us on areas we can improve - which we are always striving to do - But, it also allows assists other travelers in determining if we are or aren't the right fit for them. We were honored to host you and thank you again for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to X'tan Ha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about X'tan Ha Resort

Address: PO Box 1 | 7.2 Miles North, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Belize Legacy Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — X'tan Ha Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a tranquil, luxurious and romantic destination at X'tan Ha Resort, located just 7.2 Miles North of San Pedro Town. This truly exotic, tropical resort offers one bedroom suites, with spacious kitchens and living areas. Each villa offers a private verandah overlooking the pristine Caribbean Sea. X'tan Ha offers complimentary water sports- kayaks, paddle boards, paddle boat, hobie cat sailing, and a water trampoline.X'tan Ha offers complimentary transfers upon arrival/departure from/to San Pedro town upon arrival and departure. Please contact us the resort to schedule your transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your X'tan Ha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belize Legacy Beach Hotel San Pedro
Hotel Belize Legacy Beach
X'Tan Ha Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage X'tan Ha Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.