We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect escape resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of X'tan Ha Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added X'tan Ha Resort to your Saves list
X'tan Ha Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 1 | 7.2 Miles North, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Belize Legacy Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Bonners Ferry, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A perfect escape resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My husband and I spent our 30th wedding anniversary there in March 2014. First time to Belize, and what a wonderful introduction. Do not be worried about the transportation from Belize City to the resort, they had it covered. Never once did we feel as if things weren't going absolutely perfect. We took the wonderful short hopper flight to San Pedro and loved it. Then a lovely boat ride to Paradise where we were greeted by friendly staff taking our bags and offering us our 1st rum punch. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, we slept great. The beaches are beautiful and the resort goes the extra mile to make sure you feel special and are happy at all times. We will certainly be going back. Nice to be able to say it was worth every penny.

Room Tip: Do not worry about which room you get, all have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver D, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Gina, thanks again for choosing X'tan Ha and celebrating your anniversary with us. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    59
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
49
201
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights at x'tan ha the first week of May. It was perfect for us! We wanted peace, relaxation and a get away from all the hectic schedules of our lives. The resort and Beach are beautiful and all of the employees were respectful, kind, and friendly. Don't expect much of a nightlife here, but the Katanga bar was laid back and had very refreshing drinks ( although somewhat pricy!) We will certainly return for another relaxing vacation as soon as possible!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, it was truly our pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,

The X'tan Ha team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at X'tan Ha. They have a wonderful beach and the location is quiet and remote. The food at the on-site restaurant was very good! We ate there several times and enjoyed every meal. Our waitress, Rosita, was phenomenal! She was so friendly, professional and polite. We miss her already. The entire staff was terrific! I wish I knew all their names because everyone was extremely polite and helpful. Our room was cozy and clean. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing X'tan Ha for your recent vacation. We will be sure to give Rosita the shout out she deserves. Did you happen to get to see her dance at the Monday night cultural event? Yet another talent of hers.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

The X'tan Ha team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We loved X'tan Ha it was an amazing resort for an amazing vacation. It starts with the warmness and sincerity of the owner Oliver who makes you feel so welcome and like you are family. He remembers everyones names and he checks in on everyone consistently just to confirm all is good. It was very sad saying goodbye to Oliver he was so kind to us. The staff here is also phenomenal from the bartenders, Alex, Tony, Elder and Obi (who all made sure we had a great time, made us feel very welcome and kept us highly entertained at all times LOL). The beach maintenance crew, I cannot remember their names, who were all so friendly and work so hard to make sure the beach is clean and everyone has everything they need. And our house cleaner Betty she was so warm and friendly and made sure our room was always perfect. Not only was the staff here phenomenal we met some fantastic people here as well and had some great times, some great laughs and maybe a few drinks :). The beach is beautiful, the water is crystal clear and so warm, I cannot say enough about this place other than it is paradise and we will be back!! Thanks so much everyone for the fantastic vacation you all played a part in making it great :)

Room Tip: The higher units have a hammock on the patio and a great view of everything. However the lower room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing X'tan Ha for your recent vacation. Believe us, Oliver is just as sad to see our guests go as we truly think of you all as friends. We will be sure to pass on your kudos to the bartenders, and Betty. We are so fortunate to have a great team that no only enjoys hosting the guests but enjoys working together. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm Regards,

The X'tan Ha team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I cannot even begin to say how beautiful, clean and friendly this resort is. I stayed last week with my cousin. Initially I was expecting a quiet and subdued atmosphere due to its remote location 7+ miles outside of San Pedro. I not only found that, but also made lifelong friends at the resort of all types of travellers-singles, couples, families with kids, extended families and groups of friends alike. The condo-style rooms, the owner and amazingly accommodating staff really made the vacation feel like a "home away from home", and the staff never skipped a beat with fulfilling requests, wake up calls, and providing or directing you toward proper water taxi transportation to and from the other resorts, restaurants and into town. The resort bar on the dock was always entertaining with excellent company, friendly and fun bartenders who made outstanding drinks. I personally recommend the fresh watermelon mojito! And the water and view, simply warm, breathtakingly beautiful! Loved the water trampoline, Catamaran, and just snorkeling in the water right off of the resort! I give this resort 5 stars and will be back again!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing X'tan Ha for your recent vacation, what a great week and fun was had by all! Thanks again for your kind words and encouragement, we will continue to strive to improve and do better each and every day. Looking forward to welcoming you back!

The X'tan Ha team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lomita, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This is a must see resort. You will be in paradise. This is heaven on earth. The best place ever to relax!!!! New pool almost done. This is an additional pool but the beach is steps away from the pool. The ocean water is crystal clear. You will want to swim every day. This is a bucket list must!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. They are all beach front or pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver D, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thanks so much for choosing X'tan Ha for your recent vacation. We know it's a long way to travel from California yet lots of folks are doing it and we really appreciate it! Thanks for sharing your experience with other travelers and we hope to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed at X'Tan Ha a few weeks ago and had a wonderful time. Great staff, nice facilities, and the best beach in Ambergris Caye. While we loved that it was away from all the activities and people in San Pedro, we did miss having good restaurants or reasonable facilities to cook our own food. The restaurant there got old after eating in it for about 2 days. There didn't offer a whole lot of variety, and while we appreciate that it is expensive to get food to the resort therefore it would be expensive, we don't mind paying for food we enjoy. We didn't particularlly enjoy the food offered in the restaurant. It all tasted the same.
We would consider returning but our suggestion was have a few grills the guests can use. It really would make being there a lot nicer if planning for dinner was't such a chore.

The water taxi when you arrive in Belize City is a great adventure, but not sure I would recommend it. A couple people we met there had their Ipad stolen from their bags while traveling to the resort and we did find our front pocket of our suitcase was open when we arrived at the resort. So if you decide to take it, keep your important items close to you. We definately took the short airplane ride back to Belize City, way easier!

Best adventure trip we took there was a Catamaram Sailing and snorkling day trip. They picked us up at our resort and took us to meet the boat in San Pedro. Great trip! We wished we had done it the first day and then we would have done it multiple times.

Room Tip: We were on the front facing the water, great place! We woke up every morning and layed in the hammoc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for choosing X’tan Ha for your recent vacation. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your interactions with our staff as well as our facilities.

We are disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy the onsite restaurant and will be sure to discuss your feedback directly.

We are very sorry to learn that some visitors to Belize had trouble with the water taxi from Belize City to our island and would recommend these visitors contact the Belize Tourism Board. Please note this is not a common complaint. We want to ensure there is no misunderstanding; the water taxi this guest mentions is not the boat transfer we provide our guests to/from the resort upon their arrival to the island. For a more comfortable, convenient, and scenic way to/from Ambergris Caye, we recommend our guests arrange their local flights and transfers through our reservations department by contacting reservations@xtanha.com. There is no surcharge for this service and the cost will simply be posted to your account for payment upon departure.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed time relaxing in your hammock and enjoying the view. Thanks again for your valuable feedback; we look forward to welcoming you to our resort again in the future.

Warm Regards,

The X’tan Ha team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to X'tan Ha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about X'tan Ha Resort

Address: PO Box 1 | 7.2 Miles North, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Belize Legacy Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — X'tan Ha Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a tranquil, luxurious and romantic destination at X'tan Ha Resort, located just 7.2 Miles North of San Pedro Town. This truly exotic, tropical resort offers one bedroom suites, with spacious kitchens and living areas. Each villa offers a private verandah overlooking the pristine Caribbean Sea. X'tan Ha offers complimentary water sports- kayaks, paddle boards, paddle boat, hobie cat sailing, and a water trampoline.X'tan Ha offers complimentary transfers upon arrival/departure from/to San Pedro town upon arrival and departure. Please contact us the resort to schedule your transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your X'tan Ha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belize Legacy Beach Hotel San Pedro
Hotel Belize Legacy Beach
X'Tan Ha Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage X'tan Ha Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.