We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“X'Tan Ha” 4 of 5 stars
Review of X'tan Ha Resort

Save Saved
You added X'tan Ha Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
X'tan Ha Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 1 | 7.2 Miles North, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Belize Legacy Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
“X'Tan Ha”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This will be long-winded, but informative, so bear with me.

Pros:
-The beach is the only swimmable beach in San Pedro that I saw, so a lot of people from other resorts would pay to come to X'Tan Ha for the day. The water is so turquoise and beautiful, and was like a big swimming pool. Amazing.
-The staff is very friendly. Everyone we came across genuinely wanted to make our stay as pleasant as it could be. Shout out to Elder, Obi, Alex, Betty, and Richard. Cool kids, y'all are.
-There are as many or as little things to do as you want. Kayaks, paddle boards/boats, snorkeling, guided tours, ethnic night, bonfire, bicycles, you name it, it was available. Or, you could lay in the hammock on your deck and read. The bar will stay open until the last people leave. If you're looking for a dance party, you should stay somewhere else because that's not what X'Tan Ha is about.
-The rooms are fantastic. King-size beds, kitchen with eat-in area, cook top, fridge, toaster, microwave, and coffee maker, the aforementioned deck with a hammock, a table and chairs, and, if you pay for it (which I recommend), the most incredible sea view you've ever seen.
- The other patrons. The resort is small, so you see the same people. I'm not a sociable person, by any means, but it's cool to see where everyone traveled from and get to know them. I've never had that experience anywhere else, so that was pretty neat.

Cons:
- As a vegetarian, I found the food choices extremely limited, and expensive, and nothing to write home about. I will admit that I'm a picky eater, and my wife loved everything she ate, so take it for what it's worth. Be prepared to spend at least $40 for lunch and $50 for dinner for two people. My suggestion would be to find Winston at the dock when you arrive in San Pedro and have him take you to a grocery store so you can stock up before you head to the resort. There is also a little grocery store 3 miles from the resort that you can get to by bicycle, but the store in town in San Pedro has a little more variety.
- The power went out three times during our stay. The staff didn't seem too concerned by this, and we learned that this isn't an unusual thing. It's a pretty safe bet that if it's a windy day, the power will go out at some point. I think this is just a consequence of living on an island, so I won't fault the resort for this one. It was usually back on within a few hours.
- My wife wanted more sugar and creamer for her coffee, and she didn't get it until the next day. That was rough. Also, we had to ask twice for another 5 gallon jug of water for the room, but that also coincided with one of the power outages so I chalk that one up to the guy we asked having more important things to do first. I ain't mad about it.
- Mosquitoes will want to eat your flesh. Bring bug spray and use it, especially at dawn and dusk. Also, if you're scared of reptiles of any kind, well, stay at home. You're in the jungle, after all. We named all the ones we came across. Special shout out to Lazlo, Larry, and Lenny the lizards, and Gertrude the gecko.
-The sun is HOT. Not a con, by any means, because isn't that why we're in Belize? But be prepared. Bring sunscreen, and use it in abundance. Don't assume that being under an umbrella is sufficient, because the sun WILL reflect off the water and burn you to a crisp. Slather it on, people.

Overall, I loved the resort and the people. My one main suggestion would be to provide more vegetarian/vegan meal options, but, aside from that, I can't complain at all. Della and Oliver, the resort managers, are very friendly and will do whatever it takes to make your stay unforgettable. Keep up the good work, X'Tan Ha!

Room Tip: Pay extra to stay in a seafront villa. You'll get better breezes and incredible views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    31
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
112
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conway, Arkansas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We spent 5 days here recently and had a great time. It's a really laid back resort with a beautiful beach and view. The only negative about it is the prices on food and drinks. Beer is $8 a bottle and the good is around $20 a plate. Just bring your own food and drinks and you'll have a great time. Also, you should definitely snorkel at shark ray alley with curt and go cave tubing. There's plenty to do and the water is the clearest I've ever seen.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, 4 days ago
It was indeed our pleasure hosting at X’tan Ha, we are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay as well as your adventures with Curt. As is the nature of islands, food and beverage is more expensive, particularly in our location where all supplies are brought up by boat. That being said, beer is actually US$4.00 each and US$3.00 each during daily happy hours. Full American breakfast at our onsite restaurant is US$12.00, average lunch price is US$13.60 and average dinner price is US$24.50. Thanks again for your feedback, we look forward to the opportunity of hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathdrum, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel was very clean service was excellent. Staff were extremely friendly. They took the time to ask and remember your name. The General manager and hotel manager went above and beyond to assist my husband and myself when we had some difficulties occur in our trip. The General manager especially gave us her card should we have any other problems with our trip while on the mainland of Belize. We were very impressed with their courtesy would highly recommend this hotel. The only downside is the litter which drifts in from Honduras and is funnel through the barrier reef and ends up on the beach. The hotel keeps their beach clean but off the resort there is a lot of trash

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Liz and Mike, thanks again for choosing X’tan Ha for your recent vacation. We were pleased to assist during your stay and look forward to welcoming you back at X’tan Ha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Love, love, love this place!!! Buddy is so awesome -- and Oliver's pretty great too! The accommodations were wonderful, staff is so friendly and helpful all the time, in all areas of the resort. We were greeted in San Pedro and taken to the resort where we were met at check-in with rum punch. How great is that? Was a wonderful vacation -- can't wait until we can go back!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the bottom floor beach front rooms. View is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience. We will definitely be looking out for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Every employee was friendly-greeting you no matter what their job. By 6:00am guys were raking the sand. The condos were cleaned twice a day. We swam in front of the resort every day.
Be aware that lots on either side of the resort are not developed, so the beach there is not cleared of the significant amount of trash that washes up every day. So if you like long walks or bike rides on the beach, you will be going through a dump. Not X'Tan Ha's fault, but does impact their guests.
Paying $18 round trip for a water taxi every time you want to leave the resort means that this is a fantastic place to go if you want to just chill at a beautiful remote location.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your comments and for your observations. We do appreciate all feed backs and will try our best to accommodate those guests who enjoys biking or long walks. Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We loved X'tan Ha Resort when we were there in Feb. 2014. The service and cleanliness of the resort were perfect. We found all the people working there to be very friendly, happy and went out of their way to make us feel at home, and as we were there for two full weeks, they felt like new friends. Got lots of hugs when we were leaving. The Katanga Beach Bar was so much fun, Eller and Alex were amazing (sorry to any other bartenders, we only got to know these two). The restaurant food was delicious although we did make most of our own meals. My only complaint, and it's not really a complaint, is that it is difficult to get groceries. I read one review where the writer mentioned there wasn't anyone in San Pedro to meet them; I emailed the resort 72 hours in advance with all our arrival details. We were welcomed at the airport upon our arrival by Enner who took us and our luggage to the dock, and then pointed out a small store where we could get some supplies to get us started. It was all perfect. Thanks to all the staff for making our vacation so amazing, and also to Betty, Neil, Pablo and Mario from No Worries tours, love you all !!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are enthused that you got to truly enjoy your vacation and that you made new friends. It is extremely important that all our guests get to share your experience and as such we will continue to do our best to achieve this goal. We truly thank you for taking the time out to write and we do hope to see you guys on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the moment we were picked up at the airport to the moment the water taxi dropped us off back in San Pedro, our stay at X'Tan Ha was perfect. The staff and service are unbelievable. They are friendly, helpful, work hard, and work hard at getting to know your name and you as a guest. The rum punch at check-in got us started off right and 5 minutes after check-in our luggage was in our room, we were unpacked, and at the beach.

Our biggest worry was that the property would not live up to the photos posted on Trip Advisor. We did not have to worry about that. The units, pool, beach, bar, and property are as nice in real life as they look in the photos.

There are lots of activities if you want them (kayaks, stand up paddleboards, snorkeling, , pool, volleyball, paddle ball, bikes, Hobie cat, and day trips) and the beach is beautiful if you want to do nothing. The restaurant and bar are great-food, drinks, and service. I can't imagine staying anyplace else on the island now that we have stayed at X'Tan Ha.

We went as a couple but this would be a great spot for a family too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We are very much appreciative of the fact that you not only took the time out to write but that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with. We thank you for this and hope to see you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to X'tan Ha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about X'tan Ha Resort

Also Known As:
Belize Legacy Beach Hotel San Pedro
Belize Legacy Beach Hotel
Hotel Belize Legacy Beach
X'Tan Ha Resort Belize/San Pedro
Address: PO Box 1 | 7.2 Miles North, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Belize Legacy Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — X'tan Ha Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a tranquil, luxurious and romantic destination at X'tan Ha Resort, located just 7.2 Miles North of San Pedro Town. This truly exotic, tropical resort offers one bedroom suites, with spacious kitchens and living areas. Each villa offers a private verandah overlooking the pristine Caribbean Sea. X'tan Ha offers complimentary water sports- kayaks, paddle boards, paddle boat, hobie cat sailing, and a water trampoline.X'tan Ha offers complimentary transfers upon arrival/departure from/to San Pedro town upon arrival and departure. Please contact us the resort to schedule your transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Travelocity so you can book your X'tan Ha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage X'tan Ha Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.