We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best shop to dive with in San Pedro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amigos Del Mar Dive Shop

Amigos Del Mar Dive Shop
Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
+501 226-2706
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1987, Amigos Del Mar is a SSI and SDI resort facility which specializes in full-service diving, instruction, snorkeling, and fishing expeditions and is ideally situated in the heart of San Pedro Town. Our boats provide a convenient complimentary pick-up service at most of the island's major hotel docking establishments. We provide local diving expeditions on a daily basis starting with two dives at 9 am and two afternoon dives commencing at 1 pm. Night dives are also available upon request. In addition to the local diving excursions, trips to Belize's renowned offshore atolls including Turneffe, "The Elbow", Turneffe North, and The Great Blue Hole situated at Lighthouse Reef are also available. All offshore packages are full day excursions which consist of three dives and include continental breakfast, lunch, snacks, and drinks.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Best shop to dive with in San Pedro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Centrally located, it is one of the oldest dive shops in the area. For both professional and beginner divers, they have all the gear. The weather was quite rough our first day, with 10ft waves beyond the reef and poor visibility but Juan, our dive master was extremely professional and kept a close eye on all the divers. We finished diving the second day and my partner says it was the best dive he's ever done. We also used this company to snorkel Hol Chan. Babar, was amazing. He took his time to show our group of 5 every spectacular animal and reef formation. You can tell these people love their jobs and enjoy working for this company. It was also the best priced shop in the area, as we compared with 2 others who wanted to charge $20 extra for equipment rental.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    48
    17
    18
    31
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timonium, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very helpful and profession”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I went to Belize to do several dives. The day we went out on a local dive it was so windy I didn't feel well. I didn't want to go all the way out to the blue hole if the weather was going to stay rough. The staff didn't push me to make decisions. We ended of doing all our dives/snorkels with them. They came on boat to pick us up at our hotel. All the guys were very good and helpful. They had some good spread of food too after we came up from each dive. I was very happy with their service.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Snorkling - Great Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Go snorkeling with Babar at Amigos Del Mar!

Best snorkeling I've ever done!!! Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley are fantastic. So much to see! Sharks, Rays, Turtles, Eels, barracuda, tons of fish and coral. It was amazing.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Professional, safe and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We chose Amigos del mar based on a recommendation from our scuba instructor back home. It was a wonderful choice. We were first-time divers - just off our OWC course a few weeks prior, and these guys made us feel completely comfortable. I felt we were paid special attention due to our rookie level, which was greatly appreciated. We dove one two tank trip with them, and then we went big with the Blue Hole dive. While I wouldn't recommend this to every fresh OWC diver, and while I acknowledge that this exceeded the scope of our certification at the time, I felt completely safe with the equipment and the divemasters. The entire dive felt very organized, and even though some divers were experiencing issues (buoyancy problems, nitrogen narcosis), the divemaster ratio was high enough to handle all divers at all times. Would definitely recommend!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Dive Shop in Amberis Caye, Good Gear, Great People”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We dived with Amigos Del Mar for 4 days on 6 dives: one 2-tank, one 1-tank, one 2-tank + snorkeling and Caye Caulker visit, and one 1-tank night dive.

Our party was 2 adults with some experience but a long time lapse, and two boys 14 and 11 who got certified the prior year but had not dived since.

There are many dive shops, and it's hard to know about those we did not use. But we were very happy with Amigos.

In particular, dive master Carlitos was truly fantastic with our younger son, who had a bit of trouble on one dive.

All the dive masters put a premium on safety, beyond what we have seen at other places.

Boats are good if spare -- although longer trips to the Blue Hole, etc., use larger vessels with better appointments.

Equipment is fine. Nothing fancy, no dive computers, but in good condition.

Light snacks are offered back at dock for local dives -- many of which are within a 15 to 20-minute ride.

We were able to customize trips, and keep using the dive masters we had become comfortable with.

The office staff were great.

The only reasons for 4 stars were that this is not a luxury outfit (not did we want one), and the attractions off Ambergris Caye are really good, but still showing the effects of hurricane damage.

Overall, we had a great time and felt very well taken care of. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amigos Del Mar Dive Shop also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Amigos Del Mar Dive Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amigos Del Mar Dive Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.