We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful way to start a honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azul Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Azul Resort
Save
You added Azul Resort to your Saves list
North Beach, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to start a honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We kicked off our three-country Latin American honeymoon in Belize and the Azul was the perfect pick for our four-day stay. We opted for the resort experience, which includes all meals and drinks... and I have no doubt that we ended up with the better side of that bargain. The "villas" are more like two bedroom mansions and come with fully appointed kitchens and living spaces. They are thoughtfully decorated, incredibly spacious, supremely comfortable and boast private rooftops with hot tubs and some of the best stargazing I've ever laid my eyes upon. The Azul has only two such villas, so if you're seeking privacy you'll have plenty of it. Guests who stay at the Azul can opt to lounge by the private infinity pool that adjoins the two villas or by the Rojo Lounge beach area, where they will be waited on hand and foot by either Finley or Daniel while being given a chance to converse with the locals, who seem to gather every day en masse to recap island happenings and gossip. Highlights of our stay included some breathtaking scuba scenery at Hol Chan, (it was my first dive and I can't wait to go again!), the most delicious huevos rancheros EVER (courtesy of Chef Jeff) and not having to wear shoes for a glorious five days. Truly Spectacular. We can't wait to back some day with a few little ones in-tow.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We did not stay at Azul, but have to say we wish we did!! The staff, specifically Finn and Danny, are incredible. We loved hanging out there for happy hour and would recommend this as a great resort in a great location!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

This resort is fantastic. The individual service and attention is amazing. The food was fantastic, and any excursion you wanted to take could be easily arranged. We enjoyed diving and snorkeling. You feel as if you are in your own private beach house.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012 via mobile

In all my travels i have never stayed somewhere that was so beautiful. Where the service is exceptional AND honestly friendly. The food is amazing, the villa's are 3000 sq' of overkill. We were so fortunate to find this place and stay here. You can not go wrong at the Azul. 100% recommended for a romantic getaway for couples of any age.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We really do not know where to begin with this review. The pictures online do not do this property justice. Azul exceeded every expectation.

The Rooms:

There are only two Villas on the property and they are exquisite. The villas are separated from the restaurant and bar by a small building and a row of coconut palms ensuring total privacy. A beautiful infinity pool separates the two villas and the view from the pool is breathtaking.

Our villa had two very large bedrooms with an extremely comfortable mattress. The villa is filled with natural light and plenty of opportunities to take in the gorgeous setting. There is a high-end kitchen in the villa which is somewhat odd considering that food is included and no one in their right mind would miss a chance to eat Jeff's creations.

Each villa has a large rooftop patio with day beds and benches as well as a Jacuzzi which is perfect for lounging in after dinner or to take in the sunset. The fridge is well stocked with an assortment of local beer and soda the staff is more than happy to fill your freezer with an assortment of homemade ice cream and other treats if you so desire.

Food:

Chef Jeff makes some of the most craveable food we have ever tasted. Rojo Lounge is the restaurant associated with Azul and they have an extensive menu which combines Belizean and Caribbean flavors with Asian, and classic European twists. Some of our favorites were the butter and habanero poached lobster, beer braised pork belly in steamed buns, and lobster ceviche. Also not to be missed are the huevos rancheros for breakfast as well as their fresh made watermelon juice.

Staff:

Jeff and Vivian have amassed an impressive staff. They are all well trained and were attentive to our needs but never intrusive.

They employ a large and friendly grounds crew who keep the property pristine at all times (they even rake the sand daily.)

Their servers were knowledgeable about the food and were always happy to help with menu suggestions and even provide local advice on activities and sights we must see before leaving. We were particularly impressed with Andre and Suzette who were always ready with quick conversation and a cold drink.

Vivian and Jeff:

What a great couple! They were so much fun to talk with and managed to make our stay feel so personal and special. They ensured that our every need was met and were always around if we wanted to schedule a dive or get a boat ride into town to explore the island.

One experience which highlights the quality of Azul was towards the end of our trip when we ran into a bit of a snag with our flight itinerary. We were supposed to fly home on a Sunday but our flight was canceled and we were rescheduled to Monday. Instead of taking a much deserved week off Jeff, Vivian and the rest of the staff agreed forego their own vacation time to stay for the extra day so that we could finish our honeymoon in style.

Bottom line:

This is certainly not the cheapest resort in Belize, but when you consider the personalized attention, spectacular location, and flawless customer service we believe Azul is worth every penny.

We cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

I’m still on cloud nine from my trip to Azul! First off, upon arrival.. I was completely in awe at how gorgeous the resort and beach were. It feels very private and there are so many areas that you’re free to lounge and relax! From the docks that extend out on the ocean in front of the resort, to the hammocks in front of the villas or bar, all the lounge chairs lining the beach, the infinity pool and rooftop Jacuzzi! It was amazing!! The villas were spacious and had everything you would ever need! It was like your very own beach front condo! Now the staff .. like family!!! Completely welcoming and there to help out with any of your needs! Fin is hilarious and Viv and Jeff are so sweet! They definitely make you feel at home (and you’ll leave wishing this was your home!). And they’re dog lovers too! Which adds to the home-like feel of this resort! The dogs are super friendly .. always appreciative of a little belly rub =). Now last but certainly not least, the drinks and food at Rojo Lounge! Tasty concoctions of island-like cocktails and gourmet dishes with the freshest ingredients! Chef Jeff is truly talented, which makes this restaurant the best on the island! You’re guaranteed to enjoy every meal on the menu! I will definitely come back for another perfect vacation!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Wow. Simply, Wow. The private Villa is Super nice, top of the line everything, the nicest infinity pool. I've never been to Greece, but something about the white villa and the blue tops reminded me of pictures i've seen of Coastal Greece. Azul is right on the water, hammocks under canopies, jacuzzi on the rooftop. Geez.. (can you tell i'm still blown away by it a few weeks later, i miss Belize). And one of the best parts is the extremely friendly staff and the Amazing food from Rojo Lounge. I'm from New York, so definitely have a high standard for food and Rojo lounge exceeded all expectations. Amazing Hummus, the dinner special Udon was incredible. not a single dish was bad. we were only in San Pedro for 1 night and 2 days but i must return, as Azul embodies everything i could ever hope for in a vacation.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Azul Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Resort

Address: North Beach, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#20 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short boat ride from the hustle of San Pedro town, we are located in prestigious North Beach on 400 feet of beach and 10 acres of luxury nestled between the best restaurants, hippest lounges & entertaining neighbors on the island. Only a 10 minute kayak from the barrier reef with great snorkeling in the most azure waters right off the beach, our beautifully manicured beach and resort is a breathtaking venue. Azul Resort and its restaurant, Rojo Lounge are the only in the country to be voted Fodor's choice 6 years running. You can enjoy total privacy in your own area of the resort, relax in your villa, chill in the private, huge 35' x 40' custom infinity pool or jump off your dock for some amazing snorkeling. If you want a more social scene, wander a few steps to our restaurant & lounge which has become a neighborhood hotspot. Since opening our beach bar & pool lounge, afternoons at Rojo have become the place to enjoy refreshing cocktails, great music and delicious treats as you soak up the sun after a day of exploring, diving or fishing. Our repeat customers prove Jeff has mastered the art of Caribbean cuisine with his pairings of textures and flavors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Azul Hotel San Pedro
Azul Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azul Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.