We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Blanca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Blanca Mata Grande

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Blanca Mata Grande
Save
You added Casa Blanca Mata Grande to your Saves list
4 1/2 Miles North, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Casa Blanca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We just had are first Family trip abroad at Casa Blanca. There were Five of us. My wife and I plus our 3 daughters(ages 6, 3 and 2) Brian and Yuri couldn't have made it easier for us. Brian took us fishing and snorkeling. Set up a sailboat for our private use to take us to Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley. We also went fishing and and spearfishing almost every evening. It was extraordinary. He also helped us by getting groceries and basically anything we needed whenever we asked. We also took advantage of having Yuri cook for us. The meals were excellent. It made it real easy to show up and have dinner ready for us. This was a trip we will always remember. I know we will be going back.

Thanks again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Be prepared to be pleasantly surprised. Fly in to San Pedro where Captain Brian Grajalez will be waiting to greet you. He'll escort you to the waiting boat and deliver you to Casa Blanca, a luxury condo 4.5 miles north of town. You are now in store for a vacation you will not soon forget. Brian will see that you are kept happy, escorting you to fishing and snorkeling sites and suggesting the best tour excursions that offer the best values. The condo offers full housekeeping services and they will cook for you if you wish. Casa Blanca is within walking distance of several very good beachfront restaurants. Rent a golf cart for your own convenience. Brian will take you out in the boat anytime you want, weather permitting during daylight hours. The local water taxis are also safe and efficient and more than reasonably priced. The locals are all very friendly and there is never any undue pressure put on the tourists to buy their wares or souvenirs. There are no hard sell tactics in Belize. We took advantage of a tour to the mainland where we explored the Mayan ruins, Zip Lined through the forests, Cave tubed in what has to one of the wonders of the world. We swam with the docile Nurse Sharks and beautiful corals. Brian's the best. Go and enjoy Belize.

Room Tip: Pick one, they're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Our group of nine (5 adults, 4 kids ages 4-15) just returned from a week at Casablanca. We had a wonderful time. The house was beautiful. Having a boat and captain was terrific. Brian was very accommodating and took us snorkeling or fishing whenever we wanted to go. The snorkeling was awesome--we opted to stay close to the house as opposed to springing for a trip to hol chan with a guide and we weren't disappointed. Swimming at the beach in front of the house was only ok because of the amount of sea grass. We cooked and cleaned for ourselves so can't comment on those services. We took golf carts to town- the ride is long and pretty rough but we were glad we got the carts. Many of us left with a ton of no-see-em bites and we found a scorpion in our suitcase when we got home, so remember although it is paradise it is the tropics! We had a great trip and would recommend Casablanca to anyone staying on ambergris caye.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Having a boat with Brian as a guide made the trip for me. If the wind was not up, we could consult with our captain and be off to snorkel the reef, go fishing or, pop up the beach to a restaurant for dinner. The mobility and knowledge of the local area was indispensable. Thanks Brian

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Casa Blanca was the ideal place for rest and relaxation. The ability to come and go with the boat was a definate plus!! The house was amazing and the staff very helpful. Leslie the cook was fantastic, well worth her doing the cooking every night. Brian was a great boat captain taking us to all the great snorkling locations, and finding us lots of lobster!! Just be very clear with what you will expect from the staff at the beginning of your trip and they will accommodate you!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

In January, I stayed for a week with family at Casa Blanca and it was such a fantastic trip! We went to Belize for a wedding and quickly realized upon arriving that the grounds at Casa Blanca were so nice and well-kept, that the wedding itself took place right in front of the house on the beach.

We flew into Belize City, then took a quick flight via Tropic Air to San Pedro. On the way home, we flew Maya Air, which I'd recommend over Tropic. Maya Air more easily accommodates luggage, duty-free purchases, and their staff seem a little more professional.

The accommodations at Casa Blanca are top notch, mainly because of Byron, the property's caretaker. I did a lot of research of other properties in San Pedro on vrbo.com and other vacation rental websites before going. Looking back now, the pictures and description for Casa Blanca don't do the property justice! It's absolutely stunning in person. I'd highly recommend this location and Byron to anyone looking to travel to Belize and rent a home. Having access to the boat (you just pay for gas) was fantastic. We ran into a number of vacationers during our stay there and their comments were all the same - no one realized how much they really wished their rental property's had a boat until you're there.

Byron goes above and beyond to ensure that the trip is everything you want and you're happy. He is conscientious and considerate. I was nervous of having someone around all the time and feeling "waited on" since my family and I are used to being self-sufficient. But Byron was conscientious and could adapt so that you always felt like there was privacy while still being available if you ever needed him. Whatever he's being paid, it should be doubled! He works hard and has great connections to refer tourists for local shopping, restaurants, activities, etc. In hindsight, I realize how much better of a trip it was because of Byron. Staying at a hotel, you'd definitely miss out on this.

The property itself was amazing. We rented both floors and there was tons of room and privacy. It's close to a local grocery store, there's a couple fantastic restaurants within walking distance down the beach, there's great swimming access off the dock, and the views from the roof and decks are fantastic.

After staying at Casa Blanca and dealing with Byron, I can't wait to go back next year. I highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

My family and I vacationed to Casa Blanca the beginning of January. We definitely weren't aware of what we had gotten ourselves into, but once we arrived to casa blanca we were blown away. We took the water taxi, San Pedro Express, into San Pedro and wished we would have just paid the extra to fly from Belize City to the Island, but you live and and learn. The house is absolutely stunning! The pictures on here do not do it justice. Plenty of room for everyone. Since there were 10 of us we occupied both the top and bottom of the house. Brian and his help definitely did well at keeping the place clean and providing us with authentic Belizean meals. I probably had the best shrimp tacos I've ever had in my entire life there at the house. It was definitely a unique experience and Brian was there every step of the way to help us decide on activities and to give insight on things to do and the best way to go about doing them. We swam with sharks, snorkeled in Hol Chan, and even went spear fishing and lobster diving. Brian took all the guys out fishing multiple times and they brought home fish everyday! The guys loved it! We were going to go Cave Tubing, but the caves flooded as there was a torrential downpour the day before. I guess when we go back that will be on the list of things to do. Plan on renting a golf cart ($300) because it takes about an 45 minute golf cart ride to get into town (the ride is a little crazy and be prepared for bumps in the road), but it was fun.
Overall an amazing experience and definitely one to remember.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Blanca Mata Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Blanca Mata Grande

Address: 4 1/2 Miles North, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Blanca is the perfect island getaway for anyone looking to experience all the comforts of home while enjoying an unprecedented level of personalized attention and incredible ammenities. Identical upper and lower suites comfortably accommodate up to 12 guests or more. Ammenities include the use of your own powerboat and captain, full use of our snorkling and fishing gear, high-speed internet, satellite television, daily laudry service, and optional cook, and more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Blanca Mata Grande Hotel San Pedro
Casa Blanca Mata Grande Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Blanca Mata Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.