We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite spot in Belize” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Sands Cove Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added White Sands Cove Resort to your Saves list
White Sands Cove Resort
Laguna De Cayo Frances, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite spot in Belize”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

My husband and I traveled to Ambergris Caye in Belize a few years ago, and during our trip we stumbled upon White Sands Cove. As we passed by on the beach, we were impressed with the quaintness of the resort and the close proximity to San Pedro. It appeared to have a more personal appeal than the larger resort were staying at. This year we were finally able to return to Belize and booked our stay at White Sands. Wow, did we make the right choice! It was nice to stay in such a private location. Marlon greeted us when we arrived and was very helpful in planning our diving excursions. We were picked up right at the dock the next morning for our day of diving! The resort's poolside bar and grill made it convenient to grab a cocktail or quick snack, and the bartender was a very nice lady. Some of our favorite restaurants were within walking distance, and it only took a 5 min. water taxi when we wanted to hang out in San Pedro. We really enjoyed this charming little resort and can't wait to bring some friends with us next time. Thank you to all the staff at White Sands Cove :-)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    27
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
43
154
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

I stayed at White Sands for a week with my fiancee, an aunt & her friend, my 80 year old Nana, and my parents. We all had a WONDERFUL time! This was my parents return trip - they had been 3 years ago to White Sands & I now know why they were so eager to get back. White Sands is a perfect trip. They arrange all your travel (from the flights in/out of Belize City, to the taxi at the airport, to the boat to bring you to the Caye) and anything else you could possibly need while you're in Belize. In fact, our Nana unexpectedly had to fly in a day later & Marlon took care of making sure everything was smooth for her.

Marlon greeted us at the dock, took all our things to our rooms (which were amazing!!), and shooed us to the bar for some Rum Punch. Eden, the bartender was amazing & we all became immediate friends. We spent the whole week chatting with Eden & his friends from the island, Doris & Andy made us delicious food (White Sands is one of the only places with food at the resort), and Marlon arranged all our trips to the mainland.

White Sands is perfect for just laying by the pool, drinking Belikin or Rum & Cokes, or swimming by the docks. If you want more adventure though, White Sands will take care of that too. We went on two excursions (Cave Tubing/Zip-Lining & visiting the Mayan Ruins at Lamani) and they were smooth as can be thanks to Marlon. We told him where we wanted to go & the next day a tour guide was there to pick us up! Ask for Daniel from Tanisha Eco Tours -- he was the best!

Sadly, White Sands is looking at not being able to book their condos (we were their last guests), but don't let that stop you! Look into nearby places to stay (like Aji) and make sure to stop by White Sands' for their Melting Pot Bar & Grill. Be sure to tell Eden the Wiedel's say hello!!

TIPS:
-Bring bug spray! But not any kind: mix baby oil with an antiseptic (like Dettol); it's what the locals use.
-Shop at the smaller markets, like San Pedro Supermarket on the North end of San Pedro. The larger stores will charge too much
-Don't pack too much. Seriously, you only need a bathing suit & flip flops. Maybe a windbreaker.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

My friend Katie and I stayed at the resort 5 days 4 nights...and could not have picked a better place! The staff was amazing! They meet you at the dock to take your luggage to you room while you have a welcome drink at the bar. The drinks and food were wonderful and affordable. They had bikes for free to ride into town...and Marlin didn't mind a late night golf cart rental! They have a place to get a massage....I had a seaweed wrap and a guave facial....which almost put me to sleep! They are also able to plan anything you want to do right from the office. Marliyn,the owner,had to leave back to the states when we arrived, but met us and was very warm and friendly!

Recently,they have had to "close shop",Im sure due to the economy....but it's worth the wait till they reopen...I would not stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

We had a lovely time at the White Sands...It's located in a quiet area north of San Pedro...making it a little expensive and/or a hassle to get into town to buy groceries. The water taxi is a bit inconvenient and costly and it's about a 4 mile bike ride.
Marilyn, Mark, Marlon and Eden are all lovely and helpful. We had a nice room near the pool and bar Might have been noisy in a busy period but was just fine. We made our own breakfasts but mostly ate out for lunch and dinner. The restaurant at White Sands is ok but a very limited menu. The bar also was open sometimes and closed others.
Several nice restaurants in walking distance epecialli Aji, a short walk south. In San Pedro we liked Blue Water Cafe.
The diver shop at White Sands was very good and we had a wonderful time with Juan snorkling at Hol Chan Park

  • Liked — Great location and accomodation on beach, nice pool, great dive shop, lovely people
  • Disliked — Inconvenient from San Pedro...barking dog at times, inconsistent bar opening...no sign
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

Where to begin? We just returned home from a one week stay in Belize, including a 5-night stay at White Sands. Booking our stay and our excursions was as easy as pie: Marilyn and her wonderful staff COULD NOT HAVE BEEN MORE UP FRONT with us in all of our planning, including a prebooked dive boat for the day. Everything was as stated, right down to the penny: no financial surprises. That said, let's get to the best stuff....

The condo was perfect for my husband, myself and our 4 year old son. It included everything you could need or want. The location was PERFECT, very near the bar/restaurant and office. We had an ocean view from our kitchen/front room that I enjoyed each morning while making breakfast, even though this was a "lagoon view" condo. The grounds at White Sands are IMPECCABLE! We were blown away at the absolute beauty of the place. The bar/restaurant is stunning with a wonderful menu (try the jerk shrimp and Andy's conch ceviche....DELICIOUS!) Eden the bartender and Daris the server will keep your drink filled and your mind saturated with stories of the culture and people of Belize. They are both fantastic additions to the WS staff.

Marlon the manager is A-#1. He is such a sweetheart and so accommodating. Everything we ever needed was taken care of with a smile and a willingness to please. We felt very spoiled by Marlon and really enjoyed talking with him. His professionalism shines, even in a relaxed environment like Ambergris Caye!!!!

We all fell in love with our dive boat captains, Juan Carlos and Sam - our son was especially bonded with them. He actually cried when he had to hug them goodbye on our last day. They meant a lot to him and taught him how to snorkel, how to fish, how to play with stingrays and sharks, and how to ride in a boat, among other things (his parents learned a lot, too). They are phenomenal at what they do and incredible human beings. They are so attentive and made sure that every step of our snorkel/island hop journey was perfect. We never lifted a finger! They are so wise about the sea and all it's creatures - they know every fish, coral, shark and ray by proper name and are so comfortable in the water YOU WOULD SWEAR THEY HAD GILLS!!! Sam dove down and got some fresh conch for us. He cleaned them all and then Carlos made yummy ceviche - we INHALED it! He made us some rum punch to wash it all down, too.

We loved our day out with them so much that the minute it ended, we marched straight into the dive shop and booked it again for the next day! Our 2nd day out, we got to go fishing and our son caught his first fish (a snapper). After we caught our fill, Carlos took us to the most amazing snorkel spot. We snorkeled while he worked his tail off, cleaning, deboning and filleting our fish. Then, we headed off to a private beach and he prepared the most fantastic fish BBQ meal we'd ever eaten!!! There's just nothing like fresh fish, cooked the way Carlos cooks it! This trip is a must!!!! We can't wait to go back and do it all again!

We have nothing but great things to say about the owners, Marilyn and Mark. They are honest, hardworking, caring people who made sure we had the best vacation possible. They alone are responsible for the splendor of White Sands. Their vision of an oasis on the most perfect island on earth has come true. WS is gorgeous, an ideal location being close to town and the perfect spot for a beautiful week in Belize. Be sure to check out Mark's beautiful woodwork - he has a shop right there at WS!

We can't wait to go back to White Sands. I CAN'T imagine any other place being so perfect in so many, many ways. You definitely get a lot of bang for your buck, there. Worth every penny!

  • Liked — The staff, the location, the accomadations, THE DIVE SHOP EMPLOYEES!!!
  • Disliked — Saying good-bye to it!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

If you want a vacation that satisfies your desire for relaxation, adventure, sports, and culture in a pristine setting this is your place. We have been thinking about going back and saw that the recent reviews still reflected how we felt about our 2 weeks there. Our experience with the staff and owners was absolutely the best! They went out of their way to help us put together great tours and even the little things like calling a boat taxi and making reservations for us at restaurants was a great help. My favorite tour was the boat trip to the ruins; my favorite thing to do other than snorkeling was to just stretch out in a hammock and gaze at the mesmerizing water.

  • Liked — Clean, nicely decorated, beautiful sand everywhere around the resort
  • Disliked — There really wasn't anything I disliked.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

My wife and I just spent a week at White Sands and overall we had a nice time. It was our second trip to Ambergris Caye so we had some experiences from our previous trip to draw on for comparison sake. Our room was clean, comfortable and just a few steps from the beach. We were pleased with the service we received from Marlon the guest services manager. Marlon is actually as helpful as the other reviews indicate. Unfortunately, we had a negative experience with one of the owners that will prevent us from returning. I made some fishing guide reservations through the hotel prior to our arrival. My decision to reserve the fishing trip through them was based on the stated prices on the White Sands website. A day or so after we arrived at the hotel/resort I was presented with a voucher that listed a significantly higher price for the fishing excursion. I brought this to the attention of Marlon and Marilyn (the owner in question) and they both said that the prices on their website were wrong and had changed over a year ago (so much for keeping their website updated!!) Their initial response was to complain that the hotel would loose money on the deal. I was clear with Marilyn that I expected her to honor the price that was listed on their website and she simply walked out the room in a huff which I thought was very unprofessional. She never thought it was necessary to apologoize to me for this behavior. I was left to resolve the problem with Marlon and he suggested that we remove the hotel from the transaction altogether, which we did. Needless to say, I was not at all surprised to learn from a few of the many condo owners who were there during our stay that this was not the first time this sort of thing had happened to a guest (there was a condo owner’s meeting going on during our stay). This was a good lesson for us to get everything in writing prior to booking. An even better idea, in my humble opinion, would be to take a little extra time to book your diving/fishing excursion directly with reputable guides. All of these places mark up the prices 20% or more when you book through them. Safe travels!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Sands Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Cove Resort

Address: Laguna De Cayo Frances, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely boutique hotel on the beautiful island of Ambergris Caye in Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com so you can book your White Sands Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Cove Hotel San Pedro
Hotel White Sands Cove
White Sands Cove Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Sands Cove Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.