We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveled as a couple” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Sands Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added White Sands Cove Resort to your Saves list
White Sands Cove Resort
Laguna De Cayo Frances, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Traveled as a couple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights on the last part of our vacation in Belize. We enjoyed our stay at WSC and would love to go back. The rooms were clean and the staff were very attentive to our needs. The pool was clean and the grounds were well kept. The resort has bikes on site that are free for guests. We took the bikes to town for the day and it was a quick ride along the beach path. They also have kayaks for guests to take out for snorkeling at the reef. The tour guides that the WSC recommends/sets you up with are also Fantastic! Doris, who runs the pool restaurant is awesome! She was always going out of her way to make sure we were enjoying our stay. Chico and Chica were the cutest/friendliest dogs. We miss them! I highly recommend planning a vacation in San Pedro and staying at the White Sands Cove. We will definitely be back soon! Thank you!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    27
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
44
165
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Md
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spend a wonderful week at the White Sands Cove Resort. Ambergris Caye is a very long island. San Pedro, the town, is about two miles south of the resort. The resort is situated on a long quiet strip of each, dotted with other resorts, some small, some larger, and restaurants. There's a sandy path along the water on which one can walk or bike up and down the beach, visit restaurants, etc. The location is very good--quiet, peaceful, but accessible to places to go. One can take a water taxi (10 min) into town; we did this once. White Sands has a very good dive center, with dive and snorkel opportunities every day. We are snorkelers, and went out four times during the week with Bernabe, an energetic young dive instructor who was eager to show us everything beautiful underwater. Two of our trips we were joined by two other snorkelers, and twice Bernie took just the two of us out. I heard that there is another White sands dive shop that used to be affiliated with this one; this dive shop is just excellent. Don't mix them up.

The resort itself is very pretty, the units are nicely furnished and decorated. The accommodations are in a group of round, two-story buildings that surround a central swimming pool. At one end of the pool is a bar that serves lunch and dinner hosted by a lovely woman named Doris who becomes friends with all the guests. At the other end of the pool are a couple of thatched cabanas (roof no walls) with hammocks in them. There are chairs around the pool and down near the beach. The setup is so pretty, I hardly wanted to move from the resort. Also, the way the resort is laid out facilitates conversations among the guests--everyone talks to each other. Also, there are a couple of small dogs, Chico and Chica, who adopt all the guests who will pay attention to them.

The menu at the bar is good but not extensive; we ate there a few times but visited many other restaurants in town and up and down the beach. Several other restaurants are no more than a five minute walk away.

The only negative (if there is one) is that the swimming pool water was a bit chilly when we were there (early March). We also swam in the larger pools of a couple of nearby resorts. We would have lunch and swim--no one minded.

Room Tip: The second floor beach front units have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at White Sands in Feb of 2013. At first sight, I was happy with the size of the resort, it's small and intimate--perfect for a peaceful beach vacation. All of the rooms are graced with either a balcony overlooking the ocean or the finely kept grounds. Our room was a beautiful 2 bedroom beach front condo that was perfect for our group. The pool is lovely and surrounded by lush foliage. There is a bar/restaurant on the grounds as well and the chef is incredible!! We ordered many different things from the menu such as fish and chips (the breading on this is very light, not heavy at all), chicken tacos and burritos, conch ceviche...etc. Everything we ordered was mouthwatering and delicious!
We also utilized the Dive Shop services and were very impressed when they took us out on a whole day tour of snorkeling, spear fishing and a really great Beach BBQ so we could taste all the fish we worked so hard to get (okay, maybe the dive shop guys speared a little more than we did). The hospitality of White Sands Cove was the best by far. We were greeted by the managers of the resort as soon as our taxi entered the grounds. I felt like a VIP guest! The staff was attentive to our needs from assuring we got on the tours we wanted to putting away our groceries for us when we arrived! I would go back to White Sands Cove in a second. It was the perfect little getaway ---- so peaceful, blissful, but a lot of fun when we wanted it to be! Thanks White Sands Cove employees for a job well done! :) We'll be back!!

Room Tip: Love the rooms that are on the top floor because you have a good view of the ocean and the grounds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the White Sands Cove Resort for 10 days. It's a great condo/hotel. The pool really makes a difference, and having the dive shop on-site is great. One of the dive shop's guides, Bernie, deserves special mention - he's great!

The web site's map "suggests" that the White Sands is closer to San Pedro than it really is (however, the distance estimate is correct).

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs, as the A/C unit is noisier than most (we were in B2). Nevertheless, we got lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights over Christmas 2012 and was very disappointed with the whole place. Received some fantastic hospitality in Belize but WSC was not one of those places. I could really go on about how I disliked this place but that would take way too long so I will try and keep to the facts. Arrived late in the evening on a water taxi. Beach is not accessible from resort, there is a sea wall in front and there is about 6 foot of rubbish washed up against the wall around the resort. We got checked in by Marlon (the not very friendly manager), got settled in our room and put all of our stuff away. We decided to go into town for dinner so my husband was taking a shower first. Water went cold after 1 minute in the shower, water stayed cold for the remainder of his shower. I did not have a shower. We left for dinner and decided to let Marlon know about the shower. He was very inconvenienced by our news and proceeded to tell us that we could either change room or wait for the plumber who will be there the next morning but will not be checking our shower until he does his other jobs like cleaning the pool and raking the sand first (Yes, every morning they rake the sand, while 6 feet of rubbish lies in front of the sea wall a few feet away). I wanted to be able to have a shower so we decided to change rooms. We did not receive any apology for the problem or the inconvenience of having to pack up all of our stuff and move it all from one end of the resort to the other. Marlon did not even offer to help us move our bags. When we eventually got our stuff moved it was too late for dinner and my husband and I were starving and really pissed off. I took a shower at the new room and the very same thing happened, the water was warm for 1-2 minutes and then freezing cold for the rest of the shower. The next morning I informed Marlon that the same thing happened with the shower in the new room. He did not really seem to care and just kept saying that they have no problems with the hot water. His attitude just got worse really, he was unapologetic, arrogant, annoyed, and unprofessional. I really think this guy is in the wrong job. Our first impressions were ruined and we really felt like the resort was very overpriced and outdated. We did not mind having to do without hot water, the point is that this resort advertises itself as a luxury resort and it does not even have hot water!!!! There is also very little privacy and the bottom cottages can hear all of the noise above them. San Pedro is a beautiful Caye and there are way better accommodations for way less money. This place is also a time share, I would not have booked if I had known before, very overpriced, very basic, very unfriendly, bikes were never available when needed. We had a fantastic time everywhere else in Belize, the people are fantastic, this place is not a true representation of the genuine hospitality the exists everywhere else in the country. I really felt like we were ripped off staying here.....

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at White Sands Cove! The entire staff at WSC were so friendly and accommodating. The room was just beautiful - loft style with a great kitchenette with mini fridge, microwave, toaster, blender and coffee maker.
The hummingbird loft was located near the back of the resort, so it was quiet but also only a few steps to the pool and restaurant/bar area. There are lounge chairs and hammocks all over and a beautiful refreshing pool. The beaches in Belize are not really walk in but the resort provides complimentary kayaks so you can go out into the beautiful blue water to snorkel or you can swim off the dock. WSC also provides bikes to their guests which we used daily to bike into town - 2 miles or so but great exercise and a fun adventure. I have to mention the dive shop on site - We did about 10 dives with Pedro as our dive master where we swam with sharks, beautiful fish and sea turtles. We even had a dolphin sighting! There are many dive companies in Belize but I highly recommend this PADI certified shop! The whole crew took care of us from start to finish, very professional and entertaining! I would highly recommend WSC as well as the dive shop- we had an amazing week and would definitely come back!

Room Tip: The resort is pretty quiet overall but for additional privacy, the rooms further away from the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, NY
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Much of what I liked best about Belize is here: I liked the warm people, the laid back attitude, and the great diving.

White Sands is a modest sized low density complex with a very nice small pool and bar area. Rarely over the Christmas/New Year's Holiday were there more than 4 or 5 people at the pool area.

The people at White Sands do a nice job. And there is an on-site dive and excursions office. Tanya and Yemen there are great. We dove several days with their dive group, Scuba School Belize. Yemen takes you from the White Sands dock each day to the dock in San Pedro where they have their boats and nearby office. They were very professional and patient (we had two people getting Certified). And they were very, very good about getting you to and from the hotel.

For travel to and from San Pedro when not diving we took the scheduled shuttle boat which took 15 minutes and worked out fine.

Our unit (C-2) was very good. It was on the second floor, one building back from the beach. The ocean was visible through some palm trees. The unit was well kept up and nicely decorated. The two bedrooms were good sized, and the Adirondack chairs on the deck were nice to sit out on. The kitchen was well equipped with pots, dishes, etc. (we met some fishermen on the dock one night and bought fresh lobster tails we sauteed one night). But since these are condo units I think each one is different--scan through the Trip Advisor reviews for some thoughts on the particular unit you are considering.

Some things that might not make White Sands a good choice for you:

-If you like nightlife. The nightlife is in San Pedro. Yes there are bikes and golf carts--but the road is not very good and it will likely be dark coming back. The shuttle boat back runs every two hours (2:30, 4:30, etc.) throughout the day. If a night cap or two on your porch or poolside is sufficient, the White Sands will do very well.
-It is a condo complex. Marlin and the small staff work hard and do a very nice job. But if you need a lot of amenities this is not the kind of facility that provides those.

Like all of Ambergris there is no beach. There are mainly stone walls or rocks. The waterfront is not particularly attractive where it meets the ocean--and can be a bit trashy. And the few attempts by other hotels or condos to create a beach were not really beaches. So don't come to anywhere on Ambergris thinking "sand beach".

We walked up and down the waterfront on the north shore. There may be a few places newer and a bit grander (like the Caribe). But I did not get a feeling that I would have enjoyed them more. I liked the low density and laid back style of the White Sands. I could see how some people could be happier being walking distance to the supermarkets, restaurants, or bars of San Pedro. But for a family of four coming to Belize for a lot of diving the on-site satellite dive shop, nice pool and bar area, and good condo unit worked out well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
8.7 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 838 reviews
5.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
8.1 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
4.0 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#12 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 970 reviews
2.3 mi away
Matachica Beach Resort
Matachica Beach Resort
#15 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Cove Resort

Address: Laguna De Cayo Frances, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#15 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely boutique hotel on the beautiful island of Ambergris Caye in Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com so you can book your White Sands Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Cove Hotel San Pedro
Hotel White Sands Cove
White Sands Cove Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Sands Cove Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.