We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Getaway At Pelican Reef” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Reef Villas Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Save
You added Pelican Reef Villas Resort to your Saves list
2.5 Miles South, Mosquito Coast Rd, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% OFF + 5th night FREE
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Getaway At Pelican Reef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We've just returned from a wonderful 5 night stay at Pelican Reef and cannot say enough about the accommodations, service, amenities, and wonderful food and drinks. We stayed in condo #8, a 2-bedroom, on the ground floor at the far right of the resort (when facing from the beach) and it was fantastic. The room is huge with a fully furnished and stocked kitchen, dining room, living room, huge bedroom with king bed, an additional bedroom with a queen bed, and two well appointed bedrooms. Perhaps the best feature was the large patio area directly on the beach which made our access to the beach lounges incredibly convenient and easy. The service provided by the staff including Glori, Enrique, Ruth, Carlos, and the rest of the staff was absolutely top notch. From taking care of our reservations, flights from BZE to San Pedro, airport transfers, golf cart rentals, and excursions we felt like everything was taking care of quickly and with a smile. The drinks were fantastic (definitely try the rum punch) and breakfast and lunch were fresh and delicious (you have to try the banana pancakes, French toast, watermelon juice, and the fish & chips) and reasonably priced which made it so easy to spend the day enjoying the resort rather than leaving for 2 meals a day. The resort is 2.5 miles south of town so everything is peaceful and quiet without being too far away from downtown San Pedro making it an easy trip via golf cart for dinner and drinks. You don't even have to leave the resort for great snorkeling as the resort dock has a wonderful artificial reef with an excellent array of sea life. There isn't much more praise I can heap upon Pelican Reef that has not already been said and we hope to return again the next time we travel to Belize.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican_Reef, Manager at Pelican Reef Villas Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at PRV and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Belize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    41
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
212
254
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax Station
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

When you first arrive at Pelican, one immediate assumes that it is a big hotel. It looks and feels like that. But it isn't. It is a boutique hotel on steroids (as described to me by the ever so friendly manager Greg.)
The place has only a staff of 18 and 24 rooms.
Our room was awesome. Two bedrooms overlooking the ocean with everthing we wanted: granite counter tops kitchen, big screen TV (who would want to stay indoors), leather sofas, super cool bathrooms and get this: a washer/dryer. The pool is small but what more do you want than a place to swim, view the ocean and the ability to order right from the bar, a beautiful beach and pier where they pick up clients for day excursions.
What does it not have? A gym or a restaurant (they served breakfast on the patio next to the pool.)
The only other draw back is the place is located a few miles down a bumpy and dusty road from the main town. Not that you would want to stay in town, because there is nothing really there. They do rent golf carts but they are really expensive: $80/day or a cab ride is $10 each way.
Overall this place is a real gem if you want everything but are looking for a smaller hotel setting.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican_Reef, Manager at Pelican Reef Villas Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and welcome you back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Just had our annual trip to Belize do course we stayed here! The rooms are wonderful, they have upgraded the WiFi, which is great for me so we can get some work done. The bartenders are super nice and make some of the best drinks. I really love their banana pancakes for breakfast. We had a great trip as always, can't wait to come back!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I was astonished at the beauty of the beach. The staff was unbelievable. Very attentive and helpful. Helen, of the bartenders made our trip even better with her ability to make everyone around me happy.
The rooms were hands down the best. The enormous kitchen made it easy to have great dinners with my friends and hear the sounds of the sea at the same time.
I cannot wait to return!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

It's been almost a year and my family still talks about what a great time we had in Belize staying at the Pelican Reef Villas Resort.

The staff is incredible...extremely attentive to all of our annoying needs. Have them help you book your tours and recommend restaurants between the resort and San Pedro.

The rooms are immaculate and well cared for.

The resort itself is very small...and not really a resort if you compare against the big vacation resorts in Cancun, for example. It's a small two-building condo with a small pool and beach and very fun dock.

Santos is one of the grounds keepers and took extra time every day to interact with me and my children. Specifically, he needed to find a Lionfish that had made a home right under the resort's dock. He invited my three kids along to watch and helped them spot the fish hidden among the rocks. He got us a couple of coconuts to drink and eat. All on his own time with clearly no specific expectation of anything in return.

We spent hours under the dock watching fish around the homemade reefs, including two moray eels.

The breakfasts were also amazing, served daily with a myriad of Mrs. Sharp's wonderful hot sauces.

I couldn't recommend the resort more strongly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from our first but, not last visit to Ambergis Caye. Loved The Pelican Reef, beautifully maintained property with all the amenities needed. Everything is just as the photos show! All employees are gracious and accommodating. Ruth the bar tender was incredibly nice and makes great drinks!! Only complaint ~ we stayed in Room 1 and the curtains were white and thin, allowing for bright light at 5:00 in the morning. Front bedroom has the night light from stairwell shining directly in room. No sleeping in however, we mentioned to management and this is something they are addressing by replacing with room darkening drapes.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We almost did not write a review because everything you read in the previous reviews is all true. The best thing we can say about this place is that we tried to think of something we would do to improve the experience and could not come up with a thing.

I will not go on and on however what separates a place with a great location, terrific amenities and fantastic value is the people. You have read the names but they should be repeated Ruth, Helen, Enrique made the experience just awesome. Enrique made our stay effortless. Ruth is someone you just fall in love with. In addition the other folks who care for the property and your condos who's names I should know but do not keep the place spotless. The owners are on site and actively involved in making your stay perfect. I cannot say enough about these people who made our stay special.

Awesome place. Awesome staff. You will not get this experience for ten times the cost. We will be back.

Room Tip: Do the beach front. It is not necessary to request a higher room as all those rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.0 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 839 reviews
0.2 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#4 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
6.0 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 973 reviews
9.8 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Reef Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Reef Villas Resort

Address: 2.5 Miles South, Mosquito Coast Rd, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come Experience Luxury! Swaying Palms, sandy beaches, and warm ocean breezes welcome you to Pelican Reef Villas. Experience unparalleled luxury, and service that is raising the standards, in one of our 2 or 3 bedroom villas. Pelican Reef Villas blends deluxe amenities and breath-taking views with a discreet location 2.5 Miles south of San Pedro to give your trip seclusion with real panache! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pelican Reef Villas Hotel San Pedro
Pelican Reef Hotel
Pelican Reef Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Reef Villas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.