We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT week at the Pelican Reef!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Reef Villas Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Save
You added Pelican Reef Villas Resort to your Saves list
Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Houston, TX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“GREAT week at the Pelican Reef!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

We stayed at the Pelican Reef Villas Resort from June 14 - 20, 2008. It was an amazing week!! I can't say enough great things about this property! All of the other reviews are accurate! Lori was just a delight and so helpful. Eliazar was so kind and informative and was always there if you needed assistance - he is a gem! As you can see in our pictures, several days we had the pool and beach all to ourselves! And we were looking for a very quiet, relaxing week - so it was perfect! The grounds are immaculate! And inside the condo was very clean and first class accommodations! The kitchen was completely filled with any type of cooking and baking utensils you could need!! The a/c worked like a dream – no dampness on this island resort! Lori and Eliazar were so helpful in recommending restaurants to dine at, must-see places and general information on the island. The pool was sparkling and so relaxing! The swim up bar was so fun for drinks and good conversation. The beach was so quiet and peaceful! We never tired of the view! Most days people were out doing excursions, so the property was quiet and very peaceful. There is sea grass growing in the water on the beach property, so you cannot swim off the beach. You can walk down to the end of the pier and swim around that area. We heard sea grass is important to the marine life.

The mosquitoes were very bad on the beach and inland. This was from the tropical storm a few weeks before. We just loaded up with “Off” and knew that was part of island living. It did not affect our trip.

We rented a golf cart from the resort - we used it daily to go to town for shopping and meals. It is about a 15-20 minute ride to town. (The villas are about 2.5 miles south of San Pedro.) You will pass a big swamp/lake and the local boys will feed the 10 foot (!!) alligators for you to watch (and a tip). I felt kind of bad for the alligators being tempted with the chicken meat. We did not stay long because the alligators move fast on land!

There is also a big homeless animal problem on the island. I encourage everyone to visit the SAGA Animal Shelter on the island (close to the villas) and make a donation, or adopt an animal!!(You can bring them back to the USA.) They had so many darling ones!!

We dined at some great restaurants in town with very good prices: Carumba's, Elvi's, Blue Water Grill, Sunset Grill. Casa Pan Dulce Bakery has pastries that you must get and enjoy at your condo - Divine!
Fido's and Mr. Joes are near the villas and have great cheeseburgers for lunch! (Loved the round fries at Fido's!)
One night we wanted to stay in and Eliazar recommended Pepperoni's Pizzeria because they deliver. Eliazar set it all up for us! And it was the best delivery pizza I have ever eaten!!

The villas also arranged for a ½ day snorkel trip to Hol Chan Marine Reserve, Shark-Ray Alley. I have attached a few pictures from it. It is a Must-Do on your trip!!! The boat will pick you up right off the pier!

Pelican Reef Villas was a great place to stay and I would highly recommend it for anyone looking for a five star, relaxing beach vacation. I hope we can return there again soon! Email me if you have any questions.

  • Liked — Everything!!!
  • Disliked — Seagrass. Having to leave....
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    37
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
190
235
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boerne, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

Recently, we stayed with a large group at Pelican Reef Villas. This was our first stay at the resort, but our 5th time in Belize. We booked the property based on the reviews on TripAdvisor, and the photos on the website. Upon arrival, check-in was easy and the rooms were nice. Previously, everywhere we stayed - even similar concepts with condos being rented as an entire resort - had excellent service. I was disappointed with the Pelican Reef. Twice we had to ask for maid service. We had to request that our towels be washed - even then, we were responsible for putting them in the dryer, folding, and replacing them. There were no "essentials" in the condo (paper towels, dish soap, shampoo/conditioner, salt/pepper) - of which we were unaware. The staff was not overly friendly, yet did assist with reservations for excursions and dinner. The overall property was nice, but if hotel service is what you expect on a vacation, this is probably not the place for you....

  • Liked — Close enough to town to drive a golf cart
  • Disliked — Lack of service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

All the rave reviews are right. This is an extraordinarily nice property with service to match. We were made to feel right at home and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The units are built and maintained to a very high standard and it's obvious that the developers/operators know what they are doing. What a pleasant surprise to enjoy wonderful southern hospitality and graciousness in remote Ambergris.

  • Liked — Service and the staff are par excellence!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

Well for once I get to write a short and sweet review.

This newly developed property was done right from the ground up. It's an excellent place to stay, at a good location on this small island.

The condo units are furnished with high quality furniture, and items like granite countertops and other touches throughout show that care was made on the part of the builders to do things the right way instead of trying to cut corners.

On site staff are more than excellent, and very helpful.

Having your own kitchen is a big plus in terms of saving money, it allows you to get up and make a breakfast as an option rather than trying to go into town and find someplace to serve you one that may be overpriced.

This was my first return to San Pedro in 10 years, and much has changed. It was a bit more difficult to find great locally flavored food but the number of options available were much higher. Unfortunately rather than concentrating again on local cuisine, there are grills and sushi and things like this. This makes some happy, some less so (like me). The town is bustling now, with golf-cart traffic jams and you have to wait to cross the street... these were shocks to me. But new visitors won't notice probably.

Overall the water remains as beautiful and the wildlife as noticeable. The locals are still very friendly even though every other person seemed to be on the payroll of Captain Morgans and trying to get you over there for a time share pitch.

This remains my favorite country to visit so I am particularly sensitive about change. I am very happy to have found Pelican Reef because it is my new first choice of places to stay on the island. Quiet, very comfortable, excellent staff, well run with high standards through and through. Many top hotel chains could do to learn some basic lessons from the operators of this outfit.

The *one* nitpick that I would make, and it won't apply to many people, is that it needs a better wireless internet solution. A good wireless-n router would likely broadcast over the entire property, and if not, it is not so difficult to run some cable. But I am a computer programmer and I need my connections wherever I go, most people won't care.

Anyway, Bravo Pelican Reef. 5* for you.

  • Liked — everything was high quality
  • Disliked — except the internet access
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRVINE, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

Our family (with 3 college age kids) stayed at Pelican reef for 4 nights last month. It was terrific. Lori arranged our air travel, snorkel excursions, suggested restaurants & even helped us with finding a lodge for the first half of our trip. Elizar was always around to offer a hot cup of coffee in the morning, a cold drink in the afternoon or even hydrogen peroxide for our scraped knees after snorkeling. It felt like a family environment where you were welcome to make yourself at home, do anything you wanted & they were there to help you.
The villa was beautiful. We had an upstairs 3 bedroom unit that was complete with a washer, dryer a full kitchen & jacuzzi tubs in the bathroom. We were in the lap of luxury with granite counters & kohler bathrooms. We loaded up on groceries at the local market (VERY expensive) & ate our breakfast & lunch in our villa. It was a lot easier than going to restaurants for all of our meals.
San Pedro was nice, but very busy. We were glad to be staying outside of town. It was less crowded, no street vendors & more peaceful at Pelican Reef. The golf cart was fun & the kids loved driving it to dinner every night. We heard that if you stay north of town that you need a taxi to get into town due to poor roads.
The beaches in San Pedro are small (or washed away). The sea grass is encouraged to promote wildlife so it is hard to snorkel off the beach. At Pelican Reef, there is a nice beach to play in the sun & you can snorkel off the end of the pier, but it is limited. your best snorkeling is out at the reef on an excursion.
We flew to and from San Pedro on Maya Air. We did not care for this airline.We felt like we had no control over our situation & they really didn't care. We were bumped to the next flight both ways. We were still able to make our connection home, but it made us nervous. I am not sure that Tropic Air is any better, but i would at least try them before flying with Maya air again. By the way, you need $35.00 US (NOT Belizean) or a credit card to leave the country.
We would recommend Pelican Reef without hesitation. There is nothing they wouldn't do for you. They are beautiful, fully equipped villas on a nice, peaceful beach. There is nothing we would have changed to make our experience better. It was perfect!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelican Reef Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Reef Villas Resort

Address: Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come Experience Luxury! Swaying Palms, sandy beaches, and warm ocean breezes welcome you to Pelican Reef Villas. Experience unparalleled luxury, and service that is raising the standards, in one of our 2 or 3 bedroom villas. Pelican Reef Villas blends deluxe amenities and breath-taking views with a discreet location 2.5 miles south of San Pedro to give your trip seclusion with real panache! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pelican Reef Villas Hotel San Pedro
Pelican Reef Hotel
Pelican Reef Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Reef Villas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.