We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable island getaway!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Reef Villas Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER PACAKGE $1999
Ranked #3 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable island getaway!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

From the minute we stepped on to the resort until the flight back we were met with incredible service and stunning views! Karol and Ruth were especially wonderful! They made every experience unforgettable and unique, whether it was ordering the complimentary breakfast in the morning or having a late night swim and drink at the pool bar. I cannot say enough about Karol and Ruth, their customer service alone was enough to make us want to come back a second time. Now, onto the scenery! Waking up every morning to beautiful blue Caribbean water was one thing that we will never forget! There are beautiful flowers and palm trees lining the beach. The pier and dock are gorgeous as well! It is fun to walk out on the pier and jump off the end of the dock into the warm water! The rooms at the resort are incredible! They have a full kitchen and refrigerator where you can store local fruits or dinner items if you do not want to go out to eat every day. The resort offers free snorkeling by the pier where they have created a fake coral reef so fish, crabs, octopus, and eel can easily spotted. There are kayaks available to rent out for free! We didn't get to do this but we would have liked to! Overall, it was an incredible vacation and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    519
    34
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
187
218
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicagoland area
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed at the Pelican Reef for a week in July with my family. From the moment of arrival till our departure, the service was perfect. We have never stayed anywhere where the entire team was so attentive to our needs. We learned the owners were away the week we were there, but I can tell you the staff may work harder when they are gone. Carol and Ruth were there everyday. Carol took care of all the tours for us and she did a fantastic job. She even came on a night snorkeling tour to hang on the boat with my mother-in-law. She is so much fun. Ruth in the evening was terrific. She constantly went above and beyond. One night when there were no golf carts available, she gave us hers. She truly cares about the customers. The facility is nice and comfortable. The beach is clean and maintained. The pool area is nice. The breakfast s very tasty. We had a wonderful stay and would recommend to everyone. Thanks again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I wish I could give six green circles for this one! My whole life I have wanted to go to Belize and our time spent at Pelican Reef did not disappoint. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with excellent customer service and a great atmosphere. The food was really good and the accommodations were better than expected. They not only treated us well in the resort, but the staff helped us with our plans during our stay in San Pedro such as transportation to town and restaurants close by. They also assisted us with planning daily trips to the Mayan ruins, cave tubing, and the Belize zoo (picked up right at the pier for these!). The beach is one of the best south of San Pedro and there is daily maintenance to keep it that way. Snorkelling is available right off the beach/pier. The bar scene was fantastic as they served delicious drinks and even brought out a TV to watch the USA and Belize soccer games going on that week! A big thanks goes out to Carol, Ruth, Carlos, Leon, Santos, Sapo, and all the rest of the crew at Pelican Reef for a truly great experience!
Some advice: If going anywhere in Belize, pack enough bug spray for the mosquitos! Pelican Reef was so good they have a basket of some that you can use!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We just got back from Pelican Reef and we loved it. We took a trip with 2 of our best friends for a long, kid free weekend. Carol was fantastic, she was there to help with anything we needed. Ruth was a fantastic bartender!! We enjoyed the beautiful rooms, the drinks were always good and so was the food. They make it to where you don't have to lift a finger...they bring your food to the beach, your drinks, etc. They are there to please! Everyone was so fantastic. They set us up with snorkeling, massages, and great food recommendations. My only complaint (and it isn't their fault) was how bad the mosquito's are...they have bug spray but pack some!! Also, don't buy roundtrip water taxi tickets because there are 2 different companies and you may use one for arrival and a different one for departure. We were so pleased with everyone at Pelican...if you go to San Pedro, this is a MUST stay!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our 6 night family vacation to Pelican Reef in June can be characterized by excellent customer service, or what felt like pampering! You know from the reviews that they greet you with the cold, scented towel and a rum drink, but that also entails a tour of the hotel and your condo. Right from the start you feel connected! We were greeted by Ruth, Libby, Carol, and Calley, and they were there for us throughout our stay, helping us with our plans and restaurant choices, and ALWAYS with a smile. Our 3 bdrm, 3 bath condo was a perfect retreat for our teen sons who had space to hang out! We enjoyed the pool and the bar cave very much. The breakfasts that were included were scrumptious. If you stay at PRV and can bring extra books for their library, that would be great! We borrowed books intending to mail back some, but the cost is prohibitive!!!! We rented a golf cart for our stay and enjoyed the ride into San Pedro to try out different restaurants each night. On our last day, just as we stepped outside with our luggage, their were staff to help us with the suitcases, and Carlo waiting to take us to the airport. Timing was impeccable until the end. We were sad to leave, so that tells us, perhaps another visit will be in our future. Thanks to Greg, Carol, Libby, Ruth, and Calley for being so generous in your enthusiasm for serving us, we recognize how hard you work day in and day out, and we really appreciate everything you do to make vacationers like us- happy!!!! :)

Room Tip: Our room was not an ocean view, but we had a pool view with a sliver of the ocean view. You can'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed there in July 2013. The hotel is clean and well maintained. We had an ocean view room which was absolutely beautiful, with direct access to the beach. When we opened the door, we just said "wow". So much space for us. Kids enjoyed the TV during rainy days (rainy season started...) and as there was one in every room they did not have to negotiate between themselves:) The kids also loved the swimming pool and we loved the swim up bar.

We very much enjoyed the breakfast offered each morning. The portions were good and the food was very tasty. The hotel staff is very nice and friendly. Carol will arrange whatever you want! She is amazing! The bar tender is also very kind and friendly.

The beach at the hotel is very nice. The sea is calm but shallow with a lot of grass so for us it was better to access it via the dock. You can snorkel a bit around the dock and see different fish and even stingrays. Unfortunately, we could really enjoy this only when the weather was a bit cloudy. When there was clear sky and sun, there was such a busy boat traffic that we found it dangerous to snorkel at the dock.

We took a snorkel tour which was fun, the whole family enjoyed it and the kids were proud of having snorkeled with sharks. The only small negative point was that one of the guides attempted to clean kids' snorkel gear so vigorously that he scratched it so much that we cannot use it anymore. Thanks god the hotel provides also snorkeling gear and therefore kids were still able to see what was under the sea.

The hotel is quite far from San Pedro but you can rent a golf cart or go by taxi.

All in all we enjoyed our time in hotel and in San Pedro but we would not come back. We travel a lot and when at the sea side, we like to swim and snorkel without a need to "travel" to the reef for almost 180 USD per tour. This island is therefore not the place for us;)

Room Tip: We recommend the ocean front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights during our honeymoon. The 5-star treatment began at the reservation phase. The booking staff made flight arrangements to the island for us, took care of golf cart reservations and a few other special requests. Upon arrival, we were greeted by name and immediately handed a rum punch to enjoy while getting to know the staff. Didn't even have to touch our luggage. PRV staff made sure it made it from the airport to our room.
The staff at Pelican Reef is TOP NOTCH. They learn your names from the first day and treat you as if they've known you for years. Greg, the owner, made it a point to introduce himself to us and make sure we were well taken care of. Ruth, Carlos, Karol and the rest of the gang is what sets this place apart.
Ambergris Caye is a wonderful place to visit...staying at PRV makes it even better. The amenities, service, and overall beauty of the resort are astounding. I can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pelican Reef Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Reef Villas Resort

Address: Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come Experience Luxury! Swaying Palms, sandy beaches, and warm ocean breezes welcome you to Pelican Reef Villas. Experience unparalleled luxury, and service that is raising the standards, in one of our 2 or 3 bedroom villas. Pelican Reef Villas blends deluxe amenities and breath-taking views with a discreet location 2.5 miles south of San Pedro to give your trip seclusion with real panache! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pelican Reef Villas Hotel San Pedro
Pelican Reef Hotel
Pelican Reef Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Reef Villas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pelican Reef Villas Resort to your Saves list