We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Reef Villas Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER PACAKGE $1999
Ranked #4 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
“Amazing place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Pelican Reef was wonderful. Terri, Carlos, Ruth and the rest of the gang made us feel at home from the first rum punch. The accommodations are immaculate, the food is great. I can't recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    523
    35
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
188
222
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I spent a week at Pelican Reef Villas and to say it was hard to leave is a massive understatement.

When we arrived at Pelican Reef Villas we were greeted with the entire staff (seemingly) our bags were whisked away, we were given scented cold towels, and offered a rum punch. Not a bad way to start, but this was the level of service we received the entire stay. We quickly checked in, and were given the keys to the golf cart we requested prior to arriving.

First the island, if you have never been to Ambergris Caye/San Pedro, you need to go. The island is beautiful, the people are great, the food is delicious, and they have good rum (and lots of it).

Pelican Reef Villas is an amazing place; we stayed in unit #6 and had a magnificent view looking straight down the huge pier. The room was two stories, with the second story containing the master suite only. The lower floor had two bedrooms, and two baths. Everything was quality from the construction to the appliances to the furnishings. When we arrived we had fresh flowers throughout the entire place (and towel origami).

For our trip we wanted to get in some diving, and the staff was always on the spot about arranging trips, giving advice, and even had a deal for free gear rental with Ecologic Divers (great dive charter). We got to do 4 tanks worth of the best diving imaginable. For one of the dives we had to be at the dock at 5:15AM, and the staff prepared continental breakfasts for us, delivered them to our room the night before, and started the community coffee service at 4AM for us.

The dining area and poolside bar are amazing! Eating breakfast and lunch in the shade by the pool is a great time. The food was wonderful; the included breakfast is chosen from a full menu (I recommend the Belize eggs). For lunch you have a wide selection of US and BZ food styles, the ceviche was very amazing.

I mentioned the bar, well, it is a spectacular bar. It is kind of a cave with a window overlooking the infinity edged pool that melts into the Caribbean sea. The staff and the Traveller’s 5 Barrel Rum made me a frequent resident. The breeze off the water served to keep the temperature down, and keep the bugs at bay. Ruth and Cali took great care of everyone.

The staff was wonderful, I feel like I now have more friends. Cali (Carlos), Ruth, Terri and everyone that I forgot made our trip very special. The owners were also constantly around making sure everything was going well, and we were having a good time.

All in all, this place is perfect, or at least close enough to perfect. I will definitely be back.

It is hard to do this place justice in writing, so please look at my pictures.

Room Tip: I doubt they have any bad rooms. #6 was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Pelican Reef sounded so good when I read the reviews, I was sure they were bogus. We just returned from a 6 day stay and IT's ALL TRUE ! Terri and the rest of the staff were so friendly, helpful, they made you feel like you were at home with a family member taking care of your every need. I've been to many islands, including the once popular Club Meds, but have never experienced such a relaxing, pampered envoirnment.

Breakfast (included) was served whenever you felt like it between 7 and 11 (we were up by 6:30am each morning due to the Florida/Belize time change) and it was delicious! We rented a golf cart while there and that is a definite need as the Villas are located pretty far south of the main eating and shopping areas.

The beach is delighful, and the pool is very refreshing to cool off between sunbathing or fishing or snorkeling adventures. We were in #12, a 3-bedroom beach-front villa and all 6 of us were comfortable. The 3 flight walk up could be tough on someone with physical limitations, but all of the rooms looked appealing.

All of the other guests we met were friendly and wanted to share which adventures were the most rewarding. There may be more economical accomodations on the island, but I would go back to Pelican Reef at the drop of a hat! The staff made all the difference!

Room Tip: Beach-front rooms are great, but any room will be ok because you spend so much time outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

From the moment we were met at the airport by Carlos, greeted by name with cool refreshing towels & rum punch and escorted to our upgraded 3 bedroom ocean front suite we were amazed by this resort. The property is beautiful & looks just like the pictures. The staff & their hospitality is above & beyond. Terry was so helpful in planning excursions & making dinner reservations, Callie & my favorite bar tender Ruth were such fun to just hang out & talk with. Ruth makes a killer Margarita. We were traveling with our son & daughter in-law who we mentioned are honyemooners & they decorted their room with heart shaped towels, flowers & champagne while we were out on an excursion. This resort offers everything you could ever want in a hotel & then some. They squeese their own orange & watermelon juice for breakfast every day to go with their delicious breakfasts. They even supply suntan lotion & insect repellent. The atmosphere is very casual & relaxed while still having a feeling of luxury. The suites are clean, comfortable, well supplied and beautiful. They have complete kitchens with granite counters & stainless steel applicances, & large jacuzzi tubs. If you have any need they will go out of their way to meet it & always with a smile & good humor. When it's time to leave all the staff make a point of giving hugs & saying good bye just as if you were family. It really has a home like feel about. We will be returning again.

Room Tip: We stayed in suite 12 on the third floor. Air conditioner is a little loud & the beds could be s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

For our second trip to Pelican Reef we brought 2 other couples. Everyone had a great time. The first time I was at Pelican Reef the staff went above and beyond to make sure that our stay was excellent. My second time down they did not disappoint.

All of the staff is friendly and know you by name, very professional, and do an excellent job to accommodate you in anyway they can. From the cool towel and drink when you first arrive to booking top notch excursions to a big hug good bye they are all first rate.

Pelican Reef is very clean and I always felt like I was home away form home just better scenery.

No need to look at any other resorts just book it and know you will be taken care of and have a great time. We will be back!!

Room Tip: I prefer the first floor but you can't go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We just returned from a one week's stay at Pelican Reef. All I can say is WOW! The resort and the rooms are beautiful. Our condo was on the second floor and overlooked the beach and pier. What a view! Terry and Carlos and the entire staff were amazing. We've traveled a lot and this was just the best. Terry set us up on our two snorkeling trips and the Lamanai Ruins.. All were wonderful, but I agree with Terry and enjoyed Mexico Rocks the best - less crowded and ocean calmer, The fish and coral was beautiful & swan with sting rays. The restaurants recommended by the staff were really good. The staff made our trip just perfect. Belize should be on everyone's bucket list and Pelican Reef Villas is the place to stay!!!

Room Tip: Room number 4 was wonderful with a great view with two second floor balconies overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and it was perfect! It was quiet and relaxing with activities at your fingertips! The staff is so pleasant, anything you need they would provide for you! We cannot wait to go back!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pelican Reef Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Reef Villas Resort

Address: Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come Experience Luxury! Swaying Palms, sandy beaches, and warm ocean breezes welcome you to Pelican Reef Villas. Experience unparalleled luxury, and service that is raising the standards, in one of our 2 or 3 bedroom villas. Pelican Reef Villas blends deluxe amenities and breath-taking views with a discreet location 2.5 miles south of San Pedro to give your trip seclusion with real panache! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pelican Reef Villas Hotel San Pedro
Pelican Reef Hotel
Pelican Reef Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Reef Villas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pelican Reef Villas Resort to your Saves list