We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Vacation Spot, We'll be back soon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Reef Villas Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER PACAKGE $1999
Ranked #4 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
St. Albert, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Vacation Spot, We'll be back soon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Pelican Reef is perhaps the best vacation spot we've ever had the pleasure of traveling to. From the personal welcome (Teri knew our names and greeted us at the cab) to the infinity pool, large palm trees, picture prefect dock and spacious, clean accommodations, we can find nothing but outstanding things to say about Pelican Reef and its fabulous staff.

The resort is located 2.5 miles south of San Pedro, which we found to be an ideal location. It was quiet, peaceful, and there was hardly any traffic on our beach from passersby as there is with resorts closer to town. There are 2 restaurants just a short walk away (Lone Star was fantastic but that's for a separate review, and Black Orchid which was also very good and more of a fine dining experience.) Pelican Reef also provides a complimentary breakfast every morning that was very good, but can't even begin to compare with the spectacular view you have from the tables overlooking the beach and pool as you eat every morning. They also serve lunch, and there are a few restaurants that offer free shuttle service in the area. Victoria House, Casa Picasso and Hidden Treasure (awesome chicken served in a pineapple!) will all come pick you up for dinner and drop you back off after your meal.

The complimentary kayaks were very clean and looked nearly brand new. The beach chairs were very comfortable and clean with thick cushions, and there were plenty of large palm trees and umbrellas if you wanted some shade. The pool area had a great swim up bar, and looked just as impressive and clean in person as it does in the pictures. There is a huge selection of DVD's for movie nights (free to borrow) and each bedroom in the villas had its own TV as well as a larger flat screen in the living room. We were in Villa #1 on the ground floor overlooking the ocean, so we could literally walk out our patio and to the beach.

Everything was better than we ever could have expected, but the amazing staff top the list. They are incredibly helpful, personable and hard working. They provide a true one-stop-shop at the resort, renting golf carts on-site (which we didn't realize was such a luxury until we stayed at another resort who did not provide this service and found out there were $15-$30 USD fees for having a cart dropped off at your resort), making excursion bookings, recommending restaurants and even providing complimentary sunscreen and mosquito spray. Teri even called the airline and tracked down my bag which was lost in Houston, and got it to the resort for us the next afternoon after we arrived, and helped us find the essential toiletries we needed for the first night we were without the bag.

Overall we can't say enough great things about Pelican Reef and its staff. We booked out trip last minute so we could only stay 5 nights and then had to move to another resort for the weekend as PR was booked solid. The last 2 nights we stayed at the opposite end of the island (2.5 miles North of San Pedro) and it gave us an even deeper appreciation for PR's location and its staff. We will definitely be back and will book our dates around PR's room availability this time!

Room Tip: Get a ground floor villa overlooking the ocean. You can walk from your patio to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    522
    35
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
188
221
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmette, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We just returned from a week a Pelican Reef Villas. It is difficult to imagine a better place to spend a week. All of the staff is cordial, helpful and friendly. Terry, acting as concierge, helped make arrangements for dinner as well as other attractions (fishing, diving, etc.) A beautiful beach. The accomodations themselves were clean and roomy. We would consider no other place to stay nn our next trip to Ambergis Caye,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickerington, OH
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We spent a week here and loved it. Our villa was #8 - ground floor right on the beach. It was a very large, tastefully decorated 2 BR villa with an incredibly well-stocked kitchen and 2 bathrooms. The master bath was very large, and the two sinks were appreciated. Lots of towels were supplied, and the washer/dryer was good quality.

When we checked in to the room, there was coffee, coffee filters, salt, pepper and hot sauce waiting on us. Breakfast is included, and we went to the pool/bar area to eat every morning. Breakfast is ordered off the menu, and most things involve eggs (which I am allergic to). However, they were very accommodating in making substitutions for me. Service was excellent at every meal. We ate lunch here a few times, and the fish tacos are outstanding. Unfortunately, they do not serve dinner at the resort, so you have to either go out (which involves a short ride) or cook in your room (which we didn't mind, and it was easy to do since the kitchen was so well stocked with dishes, appliances, etc.)

The pool was small but never crowded - probably because the water was so cold! It has an infinity edge and overlooks the ocean.

The beach is not wide, but the sand is white and the ocean water is beautiful. I could just sit and stare at the view for hours! The beach is long - you could walk for miles.

Terri did a great job helping us plan day trips and recommending local restaurants. She lined up a fishing/snorkeling/picnic on the beach day for us and it was the highlight of the trip. Ruth the bartender was very friendly and also provided great service.

Town is too far to walk, and the road between the resort and town is not great, but it is worth the trip. You can rent a golf cart, but driving and parking appeared to be a nightmare. We stuck to cabs - $10 each way, which added up, but was still less than the cost of a golf cart.

Be sure to bring bug spray. You will need it in the evenings!

There are phones in the room and you can buy minutes minutes rather inexpensively to call home. However, you cannot call the front desk or for service from the phones because there is no front desk, lobby, etc. This was a little frustrating, but really not that big of a deal. The free wi-fi was much appreciated and worked well.

I would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was our first visit to Belize. We went straight to Ambergris after landing in Belize City. The Caye was exactly what we needed...laid back and charming. The people of the Island were warm and welcoming from the moment we landed. Our bright smiled Cab driver took us to Pelican Reef which was about 10 minutes from downtown Sen Pedro. When we arrived at PRV we were treated like we had been there before. Greg and his great staff were always smiling and helpful anytime of the day. Terri, Karol and Ruth helped us with Dinner plans and excursions and never steared us wrong. Our favorite adventure was snorkeling and fishing on the reef where we caught that night's dinner which a local restaurant gladly prepared for us 3 different ways.
PRV and Ambergris was the perfect vacation for our family.....free from commercialization and full of charm..we hope to get back there soon.
Next time we would stay a couple of nights on the mainland which would allow us to check out the historic ruins and neat spots there before we went back to PRV.

Room Tip: Small remote "resort" with 24 high end condos. Restaurant/bar served great breakfast and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massena,ny
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent a week in Feb. at Pelican Reef Villas. The staff went out of their way to make us feel like we were special to them everyday including the manager Greg. The villa was very clean and nice. We just cannot say enough about our stay. We will be back next year. There is so much to do.


Tom & Joan Simpson
Massena, NY

Room Tip: They all have an ocean front view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My girlfriend and I visited Pelican Reef at the end of September 2012. This was by far the most beautiful, relaxing and amazing vacation we've ever been on with help of Pelican Reef. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a welcome sign at the entrance and a delicious island beverage from Ruth (Belikin is the best!). Our room was more than we could've imagined. As Carol gave us a tour of our villas, the full kitchen, dining room and spacious rooms was a pleasant surprise. We were on the first floor with a walk out to the beach and breathtaking view of the ocean!

Adventures were superb! Highly recommend snorkeling! Went to Shark Ray Alley and Mexican Rocks - was the best! Played with sand sharks and held sting rays. We also did zip lining and cave tubing via Charlie Chan's excursions (the man, the myth, the legend). Charlie Jr was our guide and had a great afternoon getting to known the country and its history.

Rented a golf cart which is a must! Driving to and from town for an evening out was awesome. There were sand crabs crawling up and down the roads and locals greeting you at the restaurants. Very welcoming! We ate dinner at Victoria House, Treasure Island and many others (I can't remember then rest!). Just ask Ruth or Carol, they'll steer you in the right direction.

Hanging around the pool with the swim up bar was very relaxing. Adrian even cut down some coconuts for us - mix em with some gin and you have a great cocktail! Also, make sure you try the salsa, best we've ever had! Homemade breakfast each morning was a great perk! Spending the morning beach and pool side with pancakes and breakfast burritos doesn't get much better than that.

Overall, this trip was the best vacation we've ever had. Carol, Ruth and Charlie Chan's definitely helped make this trip one for the books. If you want to have the perfect Belize vacation, come to Pelican Reef Villas.

See you again soon!

Josh and Alisa

Room Tip: First floor walk out to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Our trip was amazing! Terry, Carol and Ruth (Dora) seem to have lived at Pelican and they never tired of our questions. The resort is amazingly beautiful and well kept. The rooms are gorgous and serve as a home base which was really nice to have after all the snorkeling, fishing, diving and golf cart trips into San Pedro. Pelican really feels like home and I can't believe I am now back fighting with the snow. Thank you for all you do. We'll be back next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pelican Reef Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Reef Villas Resort

Address: Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come Experience Luxury! Swaying Palms, sandy beaches, and warm ocean breezes welcome you to Pelican Reef Villas. Experience unparalleled luxury, and service that is raising the standards, in one of our 2 or 3 bedroom villas. Pelican Reef Villas blends deluxe amenities and breath-taking views with a discreet location 2.5 miles south of San Pedro to give your trip seclusion with real panache! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pelican Reef Villas Hotel San Pedro
Pelican Reef Hotel
Pelican Reef Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Reef Villas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pelican Reef Villas Resort to your Saves list