We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Reef Villas Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Save
You added Pelican Reef Villas Resort to your Saves list
2.5 Miles South, Mosquito Coast Rd, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% OFF + 5th night FREE
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had an incredible 9-day vacation at PRV in mid-January. The accommodations, staff and location were fabulous and this was definitely the best vacation we have ever had. Special thanks to Teri and Ruth for organizing fabulous day trips, recommending great restaurants, and doing everything possible to help us relax and enjoy our stay. We snorkeled a lot, fished, went cave tubing, visited the zoo (including a special up-close encounter with a jaguar), and toured the Lamanai ruins. If possible, I suggest you fly from San Pedro instead of taking the boat for all of the mainland activities. It is worth the extra expense to save time, beat the crowds, and avoid potentially rough seas. We also rented a golf cart for most of our stay, which also added to the “adventure”.

The only minor negatives at PRV were, as a few others have pointed out, a relatively noisy A/C system (we mostly turned it off at night and relied on the ceiling fans but you can also turn the fan from Auto to On to keep the noise level constant) and intermittent and/or weak Wi-Fi (although Greg had someone fixing it as we left). However, these minor issues did not detract from an incredible vacation. The high ratings PRV gets on TripAdvisor are well-deserved. We can’t wait to go back!

Room Tip: We loved the beachfront view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    41
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
212
254
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I can't say enough about this place...it's paradise!! After vacationing all over Belize we ended our stay at Pelican Reef Villas. It was the best way to say goodbye - though we never wanted to leave! The staff - never received such excellent service - props to Terri, Carol and Ruth...you ladies MADE our stay.

The infinity pool is gorgeous and the swim up bar - perfect! Loved laying on the beach chairs and swimming off the pier too. The grounds are immaculate and the atmosphere so friendly. The rooms were huge and each had their own private bath.

I couldn't recommend this place any higher!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a fabulous 5 night stay at Pelican Reef Villas. I can't think of one negative thing to say. The resort is just beautiful...the beach and the bar were my favorite spots. I was thankful for the free wi-fi so I could facetime my kids back home. Our condo was perfect! It had everything one could need, and the layout was great for 3 couples to have plenty of privacy. Breakfast every day was wonderful, and we had lunch here most days, too. One of the lunches was the fish our guys had caught that morning that the cook then prepared for us...amazing!!
The best part of all, though, is the staff. I have never felt more pampered in my life. They arranged our Tropic Air flights, had our golf carts ready at the resort for us, brought our drinks and food to our beach chairs, and made our dinner reservations every night. Ruth and Carlos are great bartenders, Terri a great concierge, and Karol did whatever she could to make us happy. They are what put this resort over the top for us, all because of their warmth and caring. They made us feel truly special, and we cannot wait to go back. From the bottom of our hearts, Thank you!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our family of five stayed at the Pelican Reef for a week in February. From the moment we arrived in San Pedro, we were spoiled by the resort. Carlos was waiting on us at the airport and Teri greeted us with a smile as soon as we pulled up at the Resort. Ruth made refreshing punches and Carol showed us our amazing condo for the week. These three ladies took very good care of us and it was hard to say goodbye. The resort was all we expected and more. Our view was incredible and all we had to do was step out the back patio and we were on the beach. Teri booked our snorkeling and diving adventures and we were picked up right on the resort pier. Breakfast was delicious every morning and lunch was great as well...we could dine by the pool or have food delivered to our room. Everything about our stay was excellent...we will be back!

Room Tip: We had a two-bedroom suite on the beach...Room 1. Highly recommend it!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Pelican Reef was awesome.. Just got back from 8 days and absolutely one of the best places I have ever stayed at... The Staff: 2nd to none, Terri, Carol, Ruth, Carlos all 1st class all the way... We were in unit 9 with our best friends and had a week of nothing but great hospitality. Any question we had, they went out of the way to ensure we had an answer that was perfect. Nothing at all could of been better. We have found our new home away from Missouri...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Pelican Reef in January and easily rate it as one of top place we have ever stayed. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable, spacious, and clean. The grounds are a slice of paradise with a location that offers tranquiltiy and convenience. More than anything though, I would be remiss to not mention the staff. They make Pelican Reef the joy that it is. I could have spent the entire vacation pool side at the bar talking with Ruth. She is the perfect blend of courteous and funny. On one hand, we could go to her for anything (from a drink, to reservations, to local information), and she would exceed expectations. On the other hand, we could just sit and enjoy a few drinks with her, laughing and feeling like we were talking to a friend. We also want to mention Terry, who had a constant smile, and helped us effortlessly in every way possible. While we spent more time with Ruth and Terry than anyone, the entire staff was warm, courteous, and professional, with just the right amount of casual. Pelican Reef is doing something right to attract and retain top personnel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We really enjoyed this wonderful villa. Lovely accomodations but even better staff! The property was beatiful, the beaches were lovely, the food was great and the staff was superlative. The fresh water pool was a nice change from the ocean. Our room had a lovely suite, along with two other very nice bedrooms. Terri, Carol and Ruth were very helpful and so friendly and accomodating.

Room Tip: No fitness center or spa, but who cares?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.0 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
0.2 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#4 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
6.0 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
9.8 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Reef Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Reef Villas Resort

Address: 2.5 Miles South, Mosquito Coast Rd, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come Experience Luxury! Swaying Palms, sandy beaches, and warm ocean breezes welcome you to Pelican Reef Villas. Experience unparalleled luxury, and service that is raising the standards, in one of our 2 or 3 bedroom villas. Pelican Reef Villas blends deluxe amenities and breath-taking views with a discreet location 2.5 Miles south of San Pedro to give your trip seclusion with real panache! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pelican Reef Villas Hotel San Pedro
Pelican Reef Hotel
Pelican Reef Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Reef Villas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.