We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Reef Villas Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Save
You added Pelican Reef Villas Resort to your Saves list
2.5 Miles South, Mosquito Coast Rd, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Season Rates in April
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our family of five stayed at the Pelican Reef for a week in February. From the moment we arrived in San Pedro, we were spoiled by the resort. Carlos was waiting on us at the airport and Teri greeted us with a smile as soon as we pulled up at the Resort. Ruth made refreshing punches and Carol showed us our amazing condo for the week. These three ladies took very good care of us and it was hard to say goodbye. The resort was all we expected and more. Our view was incredible and all we had to do was step out the back patio and we were on the beach. Teri booked our snorkeling and diving adventures and we were picked up right on the resort pier. Breakfast was delicious every morning and lunch was great as well...we could dine by the pool or have food delivered to our room. Everything about our stay was excellent...we will be back!

Room Tip: We had a two-bedroom suite on the beach...Room 1. Highly recommend it!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    39
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
194
245
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Pelican Reef was awesome.. Just got back from 8 days and absolutely one of the best places I have ever stayed at... The Staff: 2nd to none, Terri, Carol, Ruth, Carlos all 1st class all the way... We were in unit 9 with our best friends and had a week of nothing but great hospitality. Any question we had, they went out of the way to ensure we had an answer that was perfect. Nothing at all could of been better. We have found our new home away from Missouri...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Pelican Reef in January and easily rate it as one of top place we have ever stayed. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable, spacious, and clean. The grounds are a slice of paradise with a location that offers tranquiltiy and convenience. More than anything though, I would be remiss to not mention the staff. They make Pelican Reef the joy that it is. I could have spent the entire vacation pool side at the bar talking with Ruth. She is the perfect blend of courteous and funny. On one hand, we could go to her for anything (from a drink, to reservations, to local information), and she would exceed expectations. On the other hand, we could just sit and enjoy a few drinks with her, laughing and feeling like we were talking to a friend. We also want to mention Terry, who had a constant smile, and helped us effortlessly in every way possible. While we spent more time with Ruth and Terry than anyone, the entire staff was warm, courteous, and professional, with just the right amount of casual. Pelican Reef is doing something right to attract and retain top personnel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We really enjoyed this wonderful villa. Lovely accomodations but even better staff! The property was beatiful, the beaches were lovely, the food was great and the staff was superlative. The fresh water pool was a nice change from the ocean. Our room had a lovely suite, along with two other very nice bedrooms. Terri, Carol and Ruth were very helpful and so friendly and accomodating.

Room Tip: No fitness center or spa, but who cares?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I've never written a review before but I felt that I needed to after staying at the Pelican Reef Villas in Ambergis Caye. We had a great time there and the service is truly impeccable. The entire staff is amazing and they really treat you like family. Ruth, the bartender, was always so happy and made the the best drinks. Santos would retrieve coconuts from the trees on the property, cut an opening into it and hand you fresh coconut water for you to drink. The resort is beautiful and so relaxing. The beach was pretty and not overrun by people. We tried out the kayaks and had a blast. We didn't get to try out the bicycles but chose instead to walk along the beach into town one afternoon which was beautiful. I think the location is perfect - just far enough from the main section of town so you have privacy but close enough to be easily accessible. I'm so glad we stayed here and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Highly recommend this great condo resort located south of town. It's not in the busy section of town and we liked being a little off the main path. we love our riding bikes and taking the golf cart into town for groceries, wine and restaurants. We went out on the boat almost every day and Pelican Reef has a very nice dock. We caught our dinner 4 out of 7 nights and enjoyed cooking in our condo which was well supplied and had everything we needed to cook. The condos are RIGHT on the beach and Pelican Reef has a small but excellent beach (better than most beaches on the island). We like having a pool to hang out around and this is a great one for kids and adults - lovely pool deck, can even do some laps, stop and gaze at the ocean and do a few more. The little cabana bar is great. The breakfasts were included - very delicious but a little slow - who's in a hurry anyway? You can get lunch as well which we did a few days but we also made our own lunch or went to town for a change of scenery. Condos are comfortable and clean with everything you need to cookm do laundry, etc. Mostly I found Pelican Reef to be in a pretty and very relaxing surroundings with a friendly staff, wonderful beach and a beautiful view of the ocean. It was perfect for us. We did find that groceries in town were expensive and we have teenage boys so the 2nd year, we brought a suitcase full of dry goods like cereal, pasta, peanut butter, SPICES, mustard, canned tomotoes, etc. We enjoyed buying local produce and crazy delicious salsas from the fruit and veggie stands along the road. We had a case of beer delivered to our room - ask the staff and they will arrange. We went to Wine de Vine for wine and cheese. We used the local dive shop for scuba and snorkeling - they picked us up on the dock and our friends found local fisherman to take them fishing. We ate our catch for 50% of our lunch and dinners which was definitley part of the experience. We stayed at Pelican Reef two years in a row and would go back without a second thought. Again, highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for beach front. If you have kids, ask for beach level/bottom floor so you aren't up and dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Family of four adults spent Christmas week at the Pelican Reef (based on TripAdvisor ratings). It exceeded all of our expectations: location/atmosphere, décor/quality of condo, free wi-fi, breakfast and lunch poolside, resort services, etc. Manager Greg, office assistant Glori, and most especially concierge Terri met our every need: transportation, snorkeling and fishing reservations, restaurant recommendations/reservations, etc. Key points about Pelican Reef: it is a 24-condo unit (almost all San Pedro resorts are condo-units) about 3 miles south of San Pedro. Quiet, private resort with resort pier for swimming and snorkeling in the Caribbean, small pool and poolside bar. We used resort –contracted shuttle service (Carlos) to/from San Pedro ($10 each way) vice taxi or expensive golf carts. Used Pelican Reef feee bicyles to explore San Pedro and environs during daylight hours. This is NOT your Spring Break bar-hopping, loud-music scene (that scene is easily accessible in San Pedro by taxi or golf cart). It is upscale and quiet and best suited for adults or families w/ young children. Would be a great spot for a wedding or family gathering.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelican Reef Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Reef Villas Resort

Address: 2.5 Miles South, Mosquito Coast Rd, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come Experience Luxury! Swaying Palms, sandy beaches, and warm ocean breezes welcome you to Pelican Reef Villas. Experience unparalleled luxury, and service that is raising the standards, in one of our 2 or 3 bedroom villas. Pelican Reef Villas blends deluxe amenities and breath-taking views with a discreet location 2.5 Miles south of San Pedro to give your trip seclusion with real panache! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pelican Reef Villas Hotel San Pedro
Pelican Reef Hotel
Pelican Reef Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Reef Villas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.