We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Reef Villas Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER PACAKGE $1999
Ranked #3 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The staff at the Pelican Reef are phenomenal. They made us feel like we were part of the family starting from day 1. From the time we arrived in San Pedro and greeted by our already set up taxi "Carlos" to our first Rum Punch drink made by the famous Ruth. Terri is amazing, she made sure all our accommodation were met by preparing our excursion to making sure we had sunscreen. Terri, Ruben, Carol and Ruth went out of their way to make sure our trip was a memorable one. The "angels" had the time of their lives and will always remember their new found friends. We will be back and looking forward to seeing each one of you again. Miss you all bunches..... Julie

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    517
    34
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
187
217
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The team at Pelican Reef is unBELIZEable!!! I go on an annual trip with my High School best friends and we definitely picked a great spot this year. From the time we arrived at the airport to the time we left, we were given 'first class' treatment. They are SO FUN! They really know how to pinpoint what we would like to do and send us in the right direction. It was if they were reading our minds and telling us what is available before we could tell them what we wanted. HUGE HUGS to Terry, Ruth, Rueben, Carol, Carlos, and Santos.... you guys are INCREDIBLE!!! I've already recommended you to others (including a travel agent friend of mine) and although "the angels" like to visit new places.... I think we'll be back!!! (just a forewarning) HAHA It's rare that I get tears in my eyes saying goodbye to the employees at a resort....much less, they tear up too! We all miss you so much and THANK YOU for a fabulous week!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

The management team has done an excellent job in hiring & retaining such a fabulous team. They go out of their way to ensure that all of your needs are met! Very friendly & welcoming team. The site is beautifully maintained. Lori, Greg, Teri, Ruben, & Ruth - you guys rock!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We loved the Pelican Reef Villas. The staff was marvelous. They were very helpful in arranging excursions, and suggesting restaurants. Terri is a shining star and Ruth, Rueben and Manuel were accommodating. We cannot wait to go back to PRV!!!! Snorkeling was great, highly recommend Lil Alphonse as a snorkeling guide.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at the pelican reef in August 2012 for four nights. The hotel is very clean, comfortable, and inviting. The service is exceptional. We were greeted with a cool towel and a rum punch drink as we walked up to check in. Our room was spacious, private and very comfortable. They serve breakfast and lunch at the resort, then you go out for dinner. Lots of local places to try. We paid to have dinner on the beach one night - and they brought in fresh lobsters and steaks and veggies. They decorated our table beautifully, provided excellent service, and put us next to the water before sunset. The is a pier, so during the day the staff arranges all kinds of activities you can choose to take advantage of - including scuba diving, booze cruise, sunset sail, snorkeling, etc. one night we took a boat to dinner up the island.
There is an infinity pool, and a swim up bar, and a semi private beach area. It was close enough to town to be able to quickly get there if you wanted more to do - but far enough away to have it quiet and leading at night. It was our first time staying on the island and could not have been happier with carol and ruth and the team. The chef, bartenders, drivers (Carlos and Alberto), and staff were simply wonderful. They were ahead of every accommodation we requested - exceeding expectations. I highly recommend this place and had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was a wonderful hotel. We stayed here on a couple's trip, but because the accomidations are 2/3 bedroom and bathroom, this would be a good place for a family or group of friends to stay. There is also a full kitchen and washer/dryer in the rooms, which is very convienient. If nothing else, the free breakfast and the ability to make drinks and sandwiches in the room will off-set any extra costs from staying at this property.
The accomidations are very clean and comfortable. Breakfast outside at the pool is somewhat slow service, but it is free, and the food and juice are very good.
There is a very nice pool with great drink service. There is also a nice dock and swimming area at the end, as well as a selection of snorkels and floating toys at the pool area.
This hotel is not within walking distance of downtown San Pedro. If you plan on going on for dinner/drinks, etc. I would recommend renting a golf cart. It is easy to rent one and fill it up with gas yourself, which is much more economical than letting the hotel fill it back up.
Overall, we really enjoyed staying here, and this was a fantastic hotel experience and hotel value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aweed125
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at PRV for our 3rd anniversary trip. This place and the people who run it are just awesome. We were so glad we chose PRV. - we will definitely go back!!! The staff and managers at PRV - Terri, Ruth, Ruben, Greg, Manuel, everybody - were so great and made every effort to make sure we had everything we needed - from planning excursions to recommendations for dinner to making sure we had sunscreen - they went over and beyond what we expected. We truly felt like we were staying with friends. The grounds were beautiful, the pool was great (we loved looking over the infinity edge to the Caribbean), the beach was quiet and clean, breakfast was awesome each day... I already wish we were back there now and I am jealous of all of you who are about to go there!

We stayed in Unit 9 - second floor beachfront. It was a great unit - granite countertops, full kitchen, nice jacuzzi tub in the master bath and bed was comfy. We didn't take pictures of the room because we weren't in it very much! We did buy some liquor duty free at the airport to keep in our room and got juice and mixers on the way from San Pedro to PRV. It was nice to make our own drinks - but we also loved hanging with Ruth at the bar!!! She was great.

Food - our favorite restaurant was Hidden Treasure. I was surprised at how much we loved it! We loved it so much we went back again for our last night. The chicken curry was great. Breakfast at PRV was great each day - we loved the banana pancakes and fresh watermelon and orange juices. We ate lunch at PRV one day and it was great too. We heard the fish tacos were the best but did not get those. We ate at Lick's Cafe for lunch one day and the Palapa Bar (great bar food) and Blue Water Grill and Victoria House for dinner. Food was great everywhere we went but Blue Water Grill was just not our favorite. We loved the fact that the folks from Hidden Treasure sent a cab to PRV to pick you up and take you home free of charge, and Victoria House also sent a golf cart to pick us up from PRV as well. We did not rent a golf cart but we did take bikes into town one day and rode around. The bikes were fine, but we didn't want to use them at night. Cabfare is only $10 US one way.

Bugs - I am a bug magnet. However, I think I only got one mosquito bite and we went during the "rainy season". We did spray with off before going out at night, and used baby oil on our legs for the "no see 'ums" and that worked perfectly.

Weather - it was beautiful and sunny every day we were there. Just perfect. Water temperature was perfect - not too warm and not cool. Great breezes - but with no breeze it did get warm. But that was the point for this trip - warm and sunny

Activities - Terri and Ruth helped us so much with planning and organizing our excursions. All we had to tell them is what we were looking for and they planned everything for us - just told us when to show up! We went on a sunset cruise with Searious Adventures and our snorkeling trip was with Lil' Alfonse. He was the BEST GUIDE ever. I really really recommend him if you want to snorkel.

Water Taxi vs. Plane: we traveled from Belize City and back on the water taxi. It was a great value and kind of a fun little adventure, but we would probably take a plane to San Pedro next time just so we could get to PRV quicker!!!

All in all I just highly highly recommend PRV. I don't know why it wouldn't get #1 in San Pedro. We saw the Phoenix, which had the #1 TripAdvisor ranking when we went, and it was so close to town (and the town docks) that I would not have liked to stay there at all. Also, there was a seawall in front of the resort - no beach. Quiet, seclusion at a beautiful place is what we were looking for - and we found it at PRV!

Room Tip: I'd recommend asking for a beachfront condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pelican Reef Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Reef Villas Resort

Address: Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come Experience Luxury! Swaying Palms, sandy beaches, and warm ocean breezes welcome you to Pelican Reef Villas. Experience unparalleled luxury, and service that is raising the standards, in one of our 2 or 3 bedroom villas. Pelican Reef Villas blends deluxe amenities and breath-taking views with a discreet location 2.5 miles south of San Pedro to give your trip seclusion with real panache! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pelican Reef Villas Hotel San Pedro
Pelican Reef Hotel
Pelican Reef Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Reef Villas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pelican Reef Villas Resort to your Saves list