We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DC & Szana's Country Cabana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
DC & Szana's Country Cabana
Save
You added DC & Szana's Country Cabana to your Saves list
Beachfront, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 San Pedro B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed for two nights, is very affordable and clean place, with an amazing view, everything nearby, it has a great veranda where you can sit have dinner, have a beer, meet the other guests, just loved it. Our airline messed up our flight and we got there a day late, since they where able to sell the room, we didn't get charged, very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiopils, Owner at DC & Szana's Country Cabana, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
We couldn't be happier to hear that you enjoyed staying with us MaggyM. We do try our very best to ensure our guests are kept happy throughout their stay by making sure that our rooms are clean and comfortable. :) Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. Safe traveling and we hope to see you soon!

-Dora
Owner/Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    27
    7
    7
    10
See reviews for
10
33
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

Excellent managements and staff. Dora and her-other-half works well together to make sure your stay at Tio's is comfortable! They were very helpful with car rentals, golf cart rentals, storing our belongings after check out and many more! Such wonderful people.
The house keeper is super nice and keeps the place spotless clean! (tip her well...she truely deserves her hard work). There is complimentary water in the hotel! Which is a total plus. The hotel has free wi-fi, hot and cold water, hangers in the closets, and a refrigerator in your room.

There is no hidden charges like any other hotels that we stayed at! I wish we could have stayed at this hotel our entire visit. Book your room ASAP they are super book.

Next time, we will defintly stay here. will highly recommend this to my friends and family and everyone! The location is great! The water taxi to Belize city is right outside the hotel.

HOME away from HOME!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiopils, Owner at DC & Szana's Country Cabana, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
turtl6, we are happy to hear that you would recommend us to your friends and family. :) We enjoy what we do and are glad you had a great time with us. Come back soon! - Dora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I arrived a few days before my friends and enjoyed relaxing on the veranda, the view, the cool breeze, walking down the beach to nearby restaurants and bars. My friends hadn't been to Belize before, but are now big fans of Tio Pil's and San Pedro! The guys went fishing with Island Divers, who filleted all the fish they caught, and the people at Lily's, the restaurant downstairs, cooked up the fish and side dishes, then delivered it to the veranda with a bucket of Belikin! Dora, Philipa, and the rest of the staff at Tio Pil's are amazing! It's like visiting family. Only better! Very clean and affordable. I won't stay anywhere else on the island!

Room Tip: Get a room on the veranda...unless you're a light sleeper, then get a room on the inside. You c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiopils, Owner at DC & Szana's Country Cabana, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Jane H. we enjoyed having you here! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We really do appreciate it. -Dora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

My wife and I (and dog) stayed here on our first trip to San Pedro in Jan. and Feb./2012 and were very impressed with this little hotel. When looking for a budget hotel in San Pedro, they don't get any better than Tio Pils. The rooms were very clean, working A/C, comfortable beds, and Dora, Gus and the staff were absolutely stellar. A very well managed and maintained small hotel. Dora will help with anything you need at anytime. Awesome!!! We love you Dora and we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiopils, Owner at DC & Szana's Country Cabana, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Bob and Sharon! We miss you both! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We really do appreciate it. We loved having you here and are very glad you enjoyed your stay. We cannot wait until you get back. :) We hope it's very soon! -Dora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredericton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

This spot was a good central location. nice big balcony with a few hammocks overlooking the ocean. Nice, clean and very affordable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiopils, Owner at DC & Szana's Country Cabana, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thanks Lucie L for writing us a review. We really do aim to provide value for your money with our central location, basic amenities, cleanliness and personalized service. :) We hope you'll come back soon! Safe traveling- Dora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

A few of my friends and I stayed here on a recent trip. The location was great, along with the price. The rooms were just ok, probably pretty standard for the area. The best part was the help and service from the management. We loved Dora! She was a great help. She helped us book a couple trips and gave great recommendations. The people were probably the best part. If I come to Belize again, which hopefully I will, I"ll be sure to stay at Tio Pil's again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiopils, Owner at DC & Szana's Country Cabana, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thank you Rachael A for taking the time to write us a review! We are very pleased that you and your friends enjoyed staying with us. Although our rooms are basic, it is always our pleasure to assist our guests in any way possible. I personally enjoy it wholeheartedly. Glad to hear you'll be back! We'll be waiting for you. :) -Dora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We were looking for a lower cost hotel that was clean, and near the beach. Few amenities, and only 7 rooms, this was a quaint hotel that fulfilled our needs. It was clean (no bugs!!!), and the desk staff was VERY helpful in assisting us. The beds were very comfortable.

I would not hesitate to return there.

Room Tip: Rooms are adequate, and really - how much time do you spend in your room on San Pedro? I did not fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiopils, Owner at DC & Szana's Country Cabana, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
diverbe49, thanks for writing us a review! We're really glad to hear that you wouldn't hesitate to return. Yes, our rooms are basic ( no frills) but we do have a great location and we try really hard to make sure that every one of our guests have a great time.Thanks for staying with us! - Dora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.0 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#18 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#35 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Blue Tang Inn
Blue Tang Inn
#2 of 16 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cocotal Inn & Cabanas
Cocotal Inn & Cabanas
#2 of 26 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DC & Szana's Country Cabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DC & Szana's Country Cabana

Address: Beachfront, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a quaint, classic, beachfront inn with air conditioned rooms, cable, internet, and a beautiful ocean view patio. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
DC & Szana's Country Cabana Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DC & Szana's Country Cabana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.