We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place; quiet; great pool and beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Caribbean Resort

Save Saved
You added Royal Caribbean Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Caribbean Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Seagrape Street | Ambergris Caye, Belize, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
Portland, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place; quiet; great pool and beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed for ten days in February. It is well South of the airport, etc., so it is quiet -- unlike many of the hotels/resorts on the main road....you just can't believe how noisy the damned golf carts can be. The snorkeling was great out at Hol Chan -- but, frankly, the snorkeling and lifestyle is much better on Caye Caulker. BTW, don't be a typical gross gringo and rent a golf cart -- the island is completely flat, so just bicycle around. 2nd traveler's tip: Many/most of the gringos get covered with bug bites. Hideously, in fact. The evening is when they get you...and it's not from sitting on the beach -- it's from sitting in the restaurants, most of which are indoor/outdoor. We saved a lot of $$ by cooking our own dinners, and we also avoided 99% of the bug bites.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    60
    14
    9
    5
See reviews for
21
67
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We were not expecting anything fabulous when we booked here, but they had a "ocean front casita" available on the beach, so we booked it.. We could not get into another resort that friends had bookeddue to the busy time at Easter. When we arrived it was night . The bed was hard as a rock . Place was very clean/spacious but not well taken care of (cracked tile, curtains holders falling apart, decoration pieces off of mirror in bath, etc.). The water in the shower trickled out. Went to sit on the beach and have coffee in AM. Realized there was no restaurant (used to have one and there is a cement pad where it existed) and no one cleans the beach to get up the seaweed and trash that comes in each night. We had booked our room for $180 + per night and that was really overpriced for what we got. The manager was receptive to our complaint and we were able to get a refund for the rest of our stay. We ended up staying at 2 separate resorts, each for a few days.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We had a very nice vacation here. Our casita was very clean and well kept. I would most definitely stay there again. A few things to know though: It is two miles from San Pedro, so you need to rent a bicycle or a golf cart if you want to go to town often. We did walk the beach to town a few times, it is a nice casual walk. Stock your fridge with Belikin beers for the evening hours, there is no bar open nearby after dark. We also bought some basic foods at a local market, fresh fruits, casava chips and salsa, and coffee.
If you want to be in a party plaza, this place is not for you, but if you want a peaceful hassle-free place to stay at a good price this is it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

The Royal Caribbean Resort is located about 1.5 miles south of the San Pedro airstrip in Ambergris Caye, Belize. On the plus side, the resort is composed of spacious and cute-looking "casitas" that include a small living area with television and kitchenette. The kitchenette includes a sink, small refrigerator, and microwave, and you can find plates and utensils in the cabinets. The room includes two beds; a queen size and a twin size. The beds were comfortable and supportive and did a good job of not transmitting any movement from my sleep partner. The bathroom has no bathtub, but includes a walk-in shower with a bench.

On the minus side, the maintenance of the property left a lot to be desired. The morning we arrived, we were really looking forward to spending some relaxing time by the pool because we had some scuba diving trips planned for the following two days. Unfortunately, we were unable to use the pool because the water was an opaque green due to the algae growing in it. Translation, not a safe pool to go swimming in. When we approached the front desk about it, they said it had just turned that way in the last day due to someone dunking their scuba gear in the pool. Over the next three days of our stay, not once did we see anyone treating the pool with chemicals or making any attempt to clean it up. When we talked to other guests of the property, they were given different stories as to why the pool water had turned green.

Next, we tried going for a swim in the beach area of the property, but the beach area had been littered with construction debris that appears to be left over from when the "casitas" had been built. Much of the debris included pieces of broken tile, which in our belief, pose a safety hazard.

Additionally, you couldn't enjoy a nice hot shower because the pressure of the hot water is restricted. However, if the faucets are turned to the cold water, the pressure of the water was just fine. Once again, when we approached the front desk about this issue, they passed the blame to someone else... in this case, the local water utility. However, guests at nearby hotels and resorts we spoke with were not experiencing this problem.

Furthermore, the front desk staff was not very hospitable and inviting. They must have been bothered by our concerns regarding the pool and the hot water pressure.

Finally, the resort has no additional amenities such as a restaurant for meals, so you have to go off-site to the neighboring resorts to eat. As a result, we walked 10 minutes north every day to have breakfast at El Divino Restaurant, located at the Banana Beach Resort. The breakfast there was excellent and very affordable. When they initially heard of our plight, they welcomed us to go swimming in their pools (they have two) at any time and the staff was very friendly. Had we not pre-paid our hotel stay at the Royal Caribbean Resort, this is the place we would have chosen to stay at.

At the end of the day, although the Royal Caribbean Resort was affordable, we didn't feel it was a good value and were hugely disappointed. We would have happily paid a bit more money for the convenience of an on-site restaurant, decent hot water pressure, and a clean pool and beach area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Our room was great and the location could not be beat. It was about 7 minutes to town by golf cart so it was very private and quiet around the hotel grounds. The beach and grounds are patrolled by security day and night so it is safe as well. AC worked well and although you had to turn it off in order to lock your door, it cooled down the room very quickly. Maria was our housekeeper who was very friendly and did a great job.
The rooms are a few steps from the beach, which is very quiet and not busy at all. We were normally the only ones on the beach besides the occasionally venders (whom were very nice and friendly and did not bug you too much) and others walking on the beach. Snorkeling was great just off the dock where we saw an eel, a lion fish, some shrimp, small ray-looking creatures, and lots of small fish. Overall, I had a great time and would stay here again in an instant.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

What a nice comfortable place to stay. I would recommend, and stay there again when I return. Out just a bit from town, but close enough to get to the action when you want to. Great beach,awesome pool.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

The property is well maintained but other than a pool there is nothing on site. The"Resort" is located about 2 miles out of San Pedro. It has no resturant or any recreation facilities other than a very basic pool. There is a small beach with a few lounge chairs but the sand seems to be infested with sand fleas, after an hour my lower legs were covered in bites despite using insect repellent.
If you are willing to rent a Golf Cart for $73 US per day and are planning on booking a lot of snorkelling or diving excursions and don't mind driving into town for every meal then this a place to sleep at night. If not you might be better to stay at one of the other full service resorts on the Caye.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Caribbean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Caribbean Resort

Address: 1 Seagrape Street | Ambergris Caye, Belize, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#23 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#24 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Caribbean Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach with a view of the Caribbean, largest pool in Ambergris Caye, one bedroom cabana suites, great value and service, easy access to diving, fishing, jungle and Mayan ruin trips. A tropical, romantic and tranquil getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Royal Caribbean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Caribbean Hotel San Pedro
Royal Caribbean San Pedro
Royal Caribbean Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Caribbean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.