We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, peaceful vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Caribbean Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Caribbean Resort to your Saves list
Royal Caribbean Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Seagrape Street | Ambergris Caye, Belize, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Stevens Point Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very nice, peaceful vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We had a very nice vacation here. Our casita was very clean and well kept. I would most definitely stay there again. A few things to know though: It is two miles from San Pedro, so you need to rent a bicycle or a golf cart if you want to go to town often. We did walk the beach to town a few times, it is a nice casual walk. Stock your fridge with Belikin beers for the evening hours, there is no bar open nearby after dark. We also bought some basic foods at a local market, fresh fruits, casava chips and salsa, and coffee.
If you want to be in a party plaza, this place is not for you, but if you want a peaceful hassle-free place to stay at a good price this is it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    66
    15
    9
    6
See reviews for
24
71
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

The Royal Caribbean Resort is located about 1.5 miles south of the San Pedro airstrip in Ambergris Caye, Belize. On the plus side, the resort is composed of spacious and cute-looking "casitas" that include a small living area with television and kitchenette. The kitchenette includes a sink, small refrigerator, and microwave, and you can find plates and utensils in the cabinets. The room includes two beds; a queen size and a twin size. The beds were comfortable and supportive and did a good job of not transmitting any movement from my sleep partner. The bathroom has no bathtub, but includes a walk-in shower with a bench.

On the minus side, the maintenance of the property left a lot to be desired. The morning we arrived, we were really looking forward to spending some relaxing time by the pool because we had some scuba diving trips planned for the following two days. Unfortunately, we were unable to use the pool because the water was an opaque green due to the algae growing in it. Translation, not a safe pool to go swimming in. When we approached the front desk about it, they said it had just turned that way in the last day due to someone dunking their scuba gear in the pool. Over the next three days of our stay, not once did we see anyone treating the pool with chemicals or making any attempt to clean it up. When we talked to other guests of the property, they were given different stories as to why the pool water had turned green.

Next, we tried going for a swim in the beach area of the property, but the beach area had been littered with construction debris that appears to be left over from when the "casitas" had been built. Much of the debris included pieces of broken tile, which in our belief, pose a safety hazard.

Additionally, you couldn't enjoy a nice hot shower because the pressure of the hot water is restricted. However, if the faucets are turned to the cold water, the pressure of the water was just fine. Once again, when we approached the front desk about this issue, they passed the blame to someone else... in this case, the local water utility. However, guests at nearby hotels and resorts we spoke with were not experiencing this problem.

Furthermore, the front desk staff was not very hospitable and inviting. They must have been bothered by our concerns regarding the pool and the hot water pressure.

Finally, the resort has no additional amenities such as a restaurant for meals, so you have to go off-site to the neighboring resorts to eat. As a result, we walked 10 minutes north every day to have breakfast at El Divino Restaurant, located at the Banana Beach Resort. The breakfast there was excellent and very affordable. When they initially heard of our plight, they welcomed us to go swimming in their pools (they have two) at any time and the staff was very friendly. Had we not pre-paid our hotel stay at the Royal Caribbean Resort, this is the place we would have chosen to stay at.

At the end of the day, although the Royal Caribbean Resort was affordable, we didn't feel it was a good value and were hugely disappointed. We would have happily paid a bit more money for the convenience of an on-site restaurant, decent hot water pressure, and a clean pool and beach area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Our room was great and the location could not be beat. It was about 7 minutes to town by golf cart so it was very private and quiet around the hotel grounds. The beach and grounds are patrolled by security day and night so it is safe as well. AC worked well and although you had to turn it off in order to lock your door, it cooled down the room very quickly. Maria was our housekeeper who was very friendly and did a great job.
The rooms are a few steps from the beach, which is very quiet and not busy at all. We were normally the only ones on the beach besides the occasionally venders (whom were very nice and friendly and did not bug you too much) and others walking on the beach. Snorkeling was great just off the dock where we saw an eel, a lion fish, some shrimp, small ray-looking creatures, and lots of small fish. Overall, I had a great time and would stay here again in an instant.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

What a nice comfortable place to stay. I would recommend, and stay there again when I return. Out just a bit from town, but close enough to get to the action when you want to. Great beach,awesome pool.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

The property is well maintained but other than a pool there is nothing on site. The"Resort" is located about 2 miles out of San Pedro. It has no resturant or any recreation facilities other than a very basic pool. There is a small beach with a few lounge chairs but the sand seems to be infested with sand fleas, after an hour my lower legs were covered in bites despite using insect repellent.
If you are willing to rent a Golf Cart for $73 US per day and are planning on booking a lot of snorkelling or diving excursions and don't mind driving into town for every meal then this a place to sleep at night. If not you might be better to stay at one of the other full service resorts on the Caye.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I read the reviews of RCR and, for their sake and happiness, am happy these travelers liked the place so much. But it doesn't appear to get out much. If you read my reviews you will see very few fours and fives and I give this place a three max. Most of it is not their fault. The most daunting thing is the condition of the beach. They have a huge seaweed problem as most of the beach front places have on Ambergris. However this one stunk to the high heaven. It could have been because there was this poor soul worker out there all day every day trying to clean up the beach with a rake and a wheel barrel. But somehow I felt if he just left it alone he would not have been stirring up the odor so much. And the poor chap was getting no where. But like I said that is not the resort's fault. Even if you put that aside its is no four or five. The casitas are ok. None face the beach. You get a kitchenette, which means a microwave and a fridge. The pool is large and nice. They have a bar on site but if the bartender(?) decided to show up, which was about half the time, she had the whole family or some other group of friends there taking over the place. The fact the place is out of town was no bother for us. You could walk along the beach and make it to the center in 35 to 40 minutes, which we personally like to do. But if you don't dig that, just walk along the road and within a few minutes a cab will take you in for $5 US or someone in a golf cart will come by, feel sorry for you and offer you a ride. The tour the lady at the front desk booked was good. But all places on Ambergris will do the same so nothing special there. We did only pay $ 112 per night so the price was ok. The day we left we needed to pay bar charge before we left for town to catch our puddle jumper to Belize City. I went to the office and no one was there and when I asked one of the poor workers who was raking up leaves what time they came in, he said 8:00 AM. I didn't have the heart to tell the guy is was 9:15.

Heres the bottom line. For $30-50 more per day you can have more of a resort feel a little closer to town with a slightly cleaner beach, a more punctual staff and a more contact with other vacationers. But it wasn't a disaster and, well, a 5 star for those from New York City. But not for this seasoned traveler. I recommend Caye Caulker.

Room Tip: All are the same. No rooms face the beach of the sea. Rooms 1 and 15 are closer to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Stayed here for 4 days in Feb of 2011. Comfortable and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Caribbean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Caribbean Resort

Address: 1 Seagrape Street | Ambergris Caye, Belize, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#24 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#29 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Caribbean Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach with a view of the Caribbean, largest pool in Ambergris Caye, one bedroom cabana suites, great value and service, easy access to diving, fishing, jungle and Mayan ruin trips. A tropical, romantic and tranquil getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Caribbean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Caribbean Hotel San Pedro
Royal Caribbean San Pedro
Royal Caribbean Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Caribbean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.