We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOSPITALITY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conch Shell Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Conch Shell Inn
Save
You added Conch Shell Inn to your Saves list
11 Foreshore Street | Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“HOSPITALITY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just returned from an eight day stay in san pedro, staying @ the conch shell inn.
If you are looking to be in the heart of everything and within walking distance to dive shops, restaurants, stores, banks, ect. than the conch shell is what you are looking for.
What stood out for us was the hospitality of the owner JOAN from answering questions to giving reference's to things to do on the island, Having a locale resident help with questions can save a lot of time. Also the girls done a good job keeping the rooms clean.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    41
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
20
66
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I can't speak highly enough of the establishment and the people running and working there. We only stayed one night, last room available but the owners were extremely welcoming and hospitable. Location is incredible, right on the ocean and in the heart of San Pedro.
We left our kindle and sweater there by a mistake and were on Caye Caulker for a few days so emailed to see if they had them. The owner had been calling around looking for us to tell us that we had left it. They kept it safe for a few days and I picked them up when I came back through. They had even offered to send it on the water taxi over. Shows that hospitality doesn't end when you leave and we are very appreciative of that!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConchShellInn, Owner at Conch Shell Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear "Kind" Conch Shell Guest,
Thank you so much for the kind review! It was a sincere
pleasure to host your stay in San Pedro!
Warm regards,
joan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The best thing about this hotel was that it was right by the Sea.
The room was clean and fairly spacious.
The room had an en-suite but I would have preferred it if it was in a separate room rather than part of the room.
Satellite TV with good range of channels came handy when we were rained in two days of our holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for three nights and it was good. The rooms look out onto the ocean and the location is key. You are literally around the corner from shops, restaurants and pubs.
The rooms are fair sized. We have a double bed and a single in our room (not sure if that's the same for all). There is tv with a hundred channels, free wifi, microwave, mini fridge and some dishes
Overall good place for a bargain while maintaining quality.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a great few days staying at the Conch Shell Inn, we booked very last minute as we decided to take the trip over from Mexico for a couple of days. The owners were really helpful with advice on hiring a golf cart, diving etc. The hotel is simple but clean and charming with it's pink theme, even the most macho of guests can't deny that the shade of rose looks great against the cloudless blue skies of Belize!

For anyone wanting to visit Ambergris Caye from Mexico it's really easy. You need to head to Chetumal, you can leave your hire car in the car park by the port and take the San Pedro Water taxi at 3pm, this stops at Ambergris Caye first and takes about 1hr 30mins before going on to Caye Caulker. If you're staying at the Conch Shell you can walk from the pier in San Pedro straight there, couldn't be more facil!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This "hidden little gem" was a wonderful surprize for myself. After visiting a few other places in Belize, I feel I want to go back here first. I needed some rest and this was definately the place to get it. The mattresses are wonderful, better than my own at home (well worth the money, Joan!!)

This is the best place for total relaxation!! Just sitting on the porch, or laying in a hammock with the warm tropical breeze blowing.

There is plenty to do with this perfect location, restruants and bars aplenty, or just around the corner to an ice cream parlor, it was great. Even room for your rental "golf cart".

There are "scuba / snorkel" trips right at your front door. Water taxi is just a few "blocks" away, if that is the correct way to mention it when it is right down the beach. The "locals" had brought in some fish and were cleaning it on the dock right out front, which brough the HUGE seagulls and sting rays......how cool is that for "free" entertainment!!

When you find yourself looking for someplace to go scuba or snorkeling....this is the place to stay.......or to just relax!!

Room Tip: Listen to all other reviews before me, try for the upstairs rooms if available. If not, you will su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

*** Hotel reviews are based on the category of the hotel, I do not compare small B&B's to massive hotels as both can be excellent in their respective categories.

We have stayed at this place a couple times before and reviewed it then as well. Happy to report that this place is still a great place to stay.

It's a simple, clean, and affordable place to stay on the beach, and in the middle of everything. Rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff are friendly, and the view is quite nice as well:)

I recommend staying on the second floor as the veranda is nicer to relax on.

Only negative is it can be a bit louder outside at night on the weekends due to it's proximity to some bars, we however slept very well every night.

Room Tip: Second floor and north rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Conch Shell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conch Shell Inn

Address: 11 Foreshore Street | Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#25 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Conch Shell hotel awaits you. We are located in the heart of San Pedro Town and are surrounded by the best dive shops, restaurants, bars and tour operators. Enjoy one of our 10 Reef watching renovated rooms. Choose from upstairs rooms with mini-kitchenette and TV or Our Downstairs rooms with mini-fridge. We also have wireless internet available to our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Conch Shell Hotel San Pedro
Conch Shell San Pedro
Conch Shell Inn Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conch Shell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.