We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Un pequeño pink palace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conch Shell Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Conch Shell Inn
Save Saved
You added Conch Shell Inn to your Saves list
11 Foreshore Street | Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Un pequeño pink palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a great few days staying at the Conch Shell Inn, we booked very last minute as we decided to take the trip over from Mexico for a couple of days. The owners were really helpful with advice on hiring a golf cart, diving etc. The hotel is simple but clean and charming with it's pink theme, even the most macho of guests can't deny that the shade of rose looks great against the cloudless blue skies of Belize!

For anyone wanting to visit Ambergris Caye from Mexico it's really easy. You need to head to Chetumal, you can leave your hire car in the car park by the port and take the San Pedro Water taxi at 3pm, this stops at Ambergris Caye first and takes about 1hr 30mins before going on to Caye Caulker. If you're staying at the Conch Shell you can walk from the pier in San Pedro straight there, couldn't be more facil!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    40
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
19
59
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This "hidden little gem" was a wonderful surprize for myself. After visiting a few other places in Belize, I feel I want to go back here first. I needed some rest and this was definately the place to get it. The mattresses are wonderful, better than my own at home (well worth the money, Joan!!)

This is the best place for total relaxation!! Just sitting on the porch, or laying in a hammock with the warm tropical breeze blowing.

There is plenty to do with this perfect location, restruants and bars aplenty, or just around the corner to an ice cream parlor, it was great. Even room for your rental "golf cart".

There are "scuba / snorkel" trips right at your front door. Water taxi is just a few "blocks" away, if that is the correct way to mention it when it is right down the beach. The "locals" had brought in some fish and were cleaning it on the dock right out front, which brough the HUGE seagulls and sting rays......how cool is that for "free" entertainment!!

When you find yourself looking for someplace to go scuba or snorkeling....this is the place to stay.......or to just relax!!

Room Tip: Listen to all other reviews before me, try for the upstairs rooms if available. If not, you will su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

*** Hotel reviews are based on the category of the hotel, I do not compare small B&B's to massive hotels as both can be excellent in their respective categories.

We have stayed at this place a couple times before and reviewed it then as well. Happy to report that this place is still a great place to stay.

It's a simple, clean, and affordable place to stay on the beach, and in the middle of everything. Rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff are friendly, and the view is quite nice as well:)

I recommend staying on the second floor as the veranda is nicer to relax on.

Only negative is it can be a bit louder outside at night on the weekends due to it's proximity to some bars, we however slept very well every night.

Room Tip: Second floor and north rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenino, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Conch Shell has a wonderful location, rooms are fantastic (CLEAN) and just the right size. The view is beautiful HOWEVER the staff and ownership could stand to revamp how they conduct buisness. We were given a GREAT deal on our room (we recommend staying upstairs by the way both for privacy and the view) BUT.... what we weren't told about why we were given such a killer deal on our room is: the laundry facilities are broken (the manager thought that was funny and didn't make any effort to help us find somewhere else to wash our clothes; a 15 day stay will invoke the need to wash clothes) and worst of all our ENTIRE stay was wrought with the sound of hammering and sawing ALLLL day because the hotel is undergoing renovations (you can count out any hope of taking a nap in your room mid day.) Our first night there we had no toilet paper and when we ran out house keeping didn't feel the need to provide it- we had to ask for it. House keeping only comes at about noon, if you're in your room then you will have to specify YES I would like my room cleaned/sheets changed etc. However, in stark contrast to this downfall, the management was more than helpful and friendly in helping us make wedding arrangements and the JP was more than perfect to us and for our ceremony. So the ammenities and location are FANTASTIC, and the rooms are clean and beautiful BUT the experience of being a guest at this hotel is a little rough around the edges when you can't even get toilet paper without waking up housekeeping at 6am to make a point that it should have been provided the night before. Neither the owner nor the management are very knowledgable about the surrounding area either; the laundry facility is broke and won't be fixed any time soon yet they can't tell you where to find a place to make up for this short coming (the place they pointed us to has been closed for some time.) Given we both come from a military background we can easily make up for these little hiccups and would be willing to consider staying here again but definitely NOT for the price advertised and not without asking some questions first.
Wifi is provided, but it can be PAINFULLY slow and goes down just about every morning. If you're on vacation this shouldn't be a big deal, but it's nice to know ahead of time. Skype is also blocked in Belize, so if you need to phone home for any reason have an alternate plan or just use email from your room.
The rooms have mosquito netting on the windows (though ours has some holes in it which didn't seem to be a real big problem- but its the little things) and two perfect fans to keep you comfortable. The porch set up is lovely and the hammocs provided are a GREAT way to end the day... just make sure to ask questions before you book.
If we had it to do over again, we wouldn't neccessarily change the location of our stay or the beauty we see from our porch, but we would have insisted on a lower price for the gross inconvenience of the construction on the other side of our wall. We feel the owner lied to us/kept the information from us in order to guarentee revenue in the slow season when we should have been told all the facts about our pending stay with the hotel.

Room Tip: Upstairs porch has a more picturesque view for sunrise/set
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConchShellInn, Owner at Conch Shell Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Appreciated Conch Shell Guest,
Thank you for staying with us. I arrived the day before your report was posted.
Our policy has always been two new bathroom rolls in each room and am truly sorry for the oversight as that would be annoying. Our washing machine was actually new, but a lemon and
they had to send a technician from Belize City.he must have taken the wrong boat because after two days of waiting we did buy another new one..this time with less electronics to go awry! We then did your laundry before departure, complimentary and you were very gracious, thank you. Both my manager and myself directed you to the same laundry facility unbeknown to both of us it was closed during the "slow season", that again, would be annoying. We hopefully have no need to know the whereabouts of laundry facilities as we now have two new washing machines!!!
The construction was to be completed in my absence in late September, we had all necessary permits in order but were stopped. After lost weeks of trying to figure this out it was corrected by the gift of two i-phones...we had no idea it would be initiated during your stay as we explained before your departure! We are just adding thatch over the office and we will be set for "season". All is now quiet to the back!
We are happy your wedding was fabulous and would love to host your stay on a return visit...as we would love to offer a "killer deal" with no "surprises"!!!
Thanks again for staying with us!
Joan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed just for two nights as were vacationing in mexico for few weeks and came down for some snorkeling. Conch shell was perfect, clean, affordable and close to everything. For the little amount of time we were there the location was perfect, being able to walk the whole town. Lovely large veranda with big chairs and tables on the beach front and loungers right on the beach. The early noise did not bother us nor did the late night/all night noise. Oct is not the time to visit as many of the recommended places we wanted to visit were not open. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Best location in downtown San Pedro. Just a few blocks from the plaza and both Ecological divers and Amigos del Mar within sight.
Beds were comfortable, no bugs, cleaning every day, very friendly staff who were more than helpful with everything. Quiet at night and with mosquito nets for all windows!
Would definitely recommend this place and would love to come back!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

wow this is a must stay little treasure... has awesome view of the ocean, awesome staff and is very affordable. i recommend the upper veranda as it is less noisy and cooler and has the best view. will stay here anytime i go back to belize.

Room Tip: rooms to the north are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conch Shell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conch Shell Inn

Address: 11 Foreshore Street | Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#26 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Conch Shell hotel awaits you. We are located in the heart of San Pedro Town and are surrounded by the best dive shops, restaurants, bars and tour operators. Enjoy one of our 10 Reef watching renovated rooms. Choose from upstairs rooms with mini-kitchenette and TV or Our Downstairs rooms with mini-fridge. We also have wireless internet available to our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Conch Shell Hotel San Pedro
Conch Shell San Pedro
Conch Shell Inn Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conch Shell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.