We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience vs ammenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conch Shell Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Conch Shell Inn
Save
You added Conch Shell Inn to your Saves list
11 Foreshore Street | Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Tenino, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Experience vs ammenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Conch Shell has a wonderful location, rooms are fantastic (CLEAN) and just the right size. The view is beautiful HOWEVER the staff and ownership could stand to revamp how they conduct buisness. We were given a GREAT deal on our room (we recommend staying upstairs by the way both for privacy and the view) BUT.... what we weren't told about why we were given such a killer deal on our room is: the laundry facilities are broken (the manager thought that was funny and didn't make any effort to help us find somewhere else to wash our clothes; a 15 day stay will invoke the need to wash clothes) and worst of all our ENTIRE stay was wrought with the sound of hammering and sawing ALLLL day because the hotel is undergoing renovations (you can count out any hope of taking a nap in your room mid day.) Our first night there we had no toilet paper and when we ran out house keeping didn't feel the need to provide it- we had to ask for it. House keeping only comes at about noon, if you're in your room then you will have to specify YES I would like my room cleaned/sheets changed etc. However, in stark contrast to this downfall, the management was more than helpful and friendly in helping us make wedding arrangements and the JP was more than perfect to us and for our ceremony. So the ammenities and location are FANTASTIC, and the rooms are clean and beautiful BUT the experience of being a guest at this hotel is a little rough around the edges when you can't even get toilet paper without waking up housekeeping at 6am to make a point that it should have been provided the night before. Neither the owner nor the management are very knowledgable about the surrounding area either; the laundry facility is broke and won't be fixed any time soon yet they can't tell you where to find a place to make up for this short coming (the place they pointed us to has been closed for some time.) Given we both come from a military background we can easily make up for these little hiccups and would be willing to consider staying here again but definitely NOT for the price advertised and not without asking some questions first.
Wifi is provided, but it can be PAINFULLY slow and goes down just about every morning. If you're on vacation this shouldn't be a big deal, but it's nice to know ahead of time. Skype is also blocked in Belize, so if you need to phone home for any reason have an alternate plan or just use email from your room.
The rooms have mosquito netting on the windows (though ours has some holes in it which didn't seem to be a real big problem- but its the little things) and two perfect fans to keep you comfortable. The porch set up is lovely and the hammocs provided are a GREAT way to end the day... just make sure to ask questions before you book.
If we had it to do over again, we wouldn't neccessarily change the location of our stay or the beauty we see from our porch, but we would have insisted on a lower price for the gross inconvenience of the construction on the other side of our wall. We feel the owner lied to us/kept the information from us in order to guarentee revenue in the slow season when we should have been told all the facts about our pending stay with the hotel.

Room Tip: Upstairs porch has a more picturesque view for sunrise/set
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConchShellInn, Owner at Conch Shell Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Appreciated Conch Shell Guest,
Thank you for staying with us. I arrived the day before your report was posted.
Our policy has always been two new bathroom rolls in each room and am truly sorry for the oversight as that would be annoying. Our washing machine was actually new, but a lemon and
they had to send a technician from Belize City.he must have taken the wrong boat because after two days of waiting we did buy another new one..this time with less electronics to go awry! We then did your laundry before departure, complimentary and you were very gracious, thank you. Both my manager and myself directed you to the same laundry facility unbeknown to both of us it was closed during the "slow season", that again, would be annoying. We hopefully have no need to know the whereabouts of laundry facilities as we now have two new washing machines!!!
The construction was to be completed in my absence in late September, we had all necessary permits in order but were stopped. After lost weeks of trying to figure this out it was corrected by the gift of two i-phones...we had no idea it would be initiated during your stay as we explained before your departure! We are just adding thatch over the office and we will be set for "season". All is now quiet to the back!
We are happy your wedding was fabulous and would love to host your stay on a return visit...as we would love to offer a "killer deal" with no "surprises"!!!
Thanks again for staying with us!
Joan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    41
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
20
69
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed just for two nights as were vacationing in mexico for few weeks and came down for some snorkeling. Conch shell was perfect, clean, affordable and close to everything. For the little amount of time we were there the location was perfect, being able to walk the whole town. Lovely large veranda with big chairs and tables on the beach front and loungers right on the beach. The early noise did not bother us nor did the late night/all night noise. Oct is not the time to visit as many of the recommended places we wanted to visit were not open. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Best location in downtown San Pedro. Just a few blocks from the plaza and both Ecological divers and Amigos del Mar within sight.
Beds were comfortable, no bugs, cleaning every day, very friendly staff who were more than helpful with everything. Quiet at night and with mosquito nets for all windows!
Would definitely recommend this place and would love to come back!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

wow this is a must stay little treasure... has awesome view of the ocean, awesome staff and is very affordable. i recommend the upper veranda as it is less noisy and cooler and has the best view. will stay here anytime i go back to belize.

Room Tip: rooms to the north are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

What a lovely little hotel. It's right on the beach in the center of town with the best ocean breezes in all of San Pedro. The interior has recently been redone and is very stylish and well equipped. The best part is the very reasonable price - a real bang for your bucks in a very expensive area.I would recommend this little jewel to everyone!!!

Room Tip: We loved room #5!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Being our second trip to San Pedro, we wanted to be in town to check out the local life experience instead of being out of town. The Conch Shell was perfect. Right in the mix of all the action. No need for a golf cart or bicycle to get around and right on the beach steps away from the local diving shops and water taxi. Very clean , no bugs, and what a view. A MUST check out for any one returning or for the first time. GREAT staff always wanting to help with your stay! Check it out!!!!!!

We will be back again.
Thanks Conch Shell Inn

Room Tip: The upper rooms are the best view to sit and people watch .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConchShellInn, Owner at Conch Shell Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for the nice review. It was a real pleasure to host your stay on the island!!
Warm regards,
joan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libby, Montana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This cute hotel was just like the pictures on their web site. It is right on the beach so there is a lot to watch from your balcony. Things get bustling early in the morning since the ferries and dive boats are right out front. Everything I needed was within walking distance so no need for a golf cart. Most people walk, bike, or rent a golf cart. Next door is a friendly local's bar with cold beer including Heiniken (hard to find elsewhere). My room had everything I needed including a ceiling fan and a floor fan. The room had windows in the front and rear so at night the cross breeze was enough to keep me cool. This was in April so in the summer I imagine some people spring the extra $ for an A/C. I recommend a room on the second floor for the best breeze and people-watching. The rooms next to the side street leading to the water might be a bit noisy in the mornings. The staff was friendly and helpful. Fresh water for pitcher in your room is available in the office. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms catch the ocean breezes best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.0 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#37 of 53 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
San Pedrano Hotel
#40 of 53 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
9.2 mi away
Spindrift Resort Hotel
Spindrift Resort Hotel
#43 of 53 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Blue Tang Inn
Blue Tang Inn
#2 of 16 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
0.7 mi away
Isla Bonita Yacht Club
Isla Bonita Yacht Club
#5 of 26 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conch Shell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conch Shell Inn

Address: 11 Foreshore Street | Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#26 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Conch Shell hotel awaits you. We are located in the heart of San Pedro Town and are surrounded by the best dive shops, restaurants, bars and tour operators. Enjoy one of our 10 Reef watching renovated rooms. Choose from upstairs rooms with mini-kitchenette and TV or Our Downstairs rooms with mini-fridge. We also have wireless internet available to our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Conch Shell Hotel San Pedro
Conch Shell San Pedro
Conch Shell Inn Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conch Shell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.