We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable beach front hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conch Shell Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Conch Shell Inn
Save
You added Conch Shell Inn to your Saves list
11 Foreshore Street | Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Affordable beach front hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I chose the Conch Shell Inn because of it's good value for a place right on the water in San Pedro, Belize. Little did I know that the location would be it's best selling point.

As soon as we got off the Caye Calker Water Taxi, the hotel was steps away. This was my first visit to San Pedro, and I had no idea what to expect.

The hotel is newly renovated and easy to spot with a fresh coat of bright Caribean Pink and White paint. We checked in with the office, and after a few minutes, was in our room.

The room is good size with a double and twin bed. The furnishings are vintage, as is the decor. The bathroom is equipped with a shower and toilet, and the sink is outside of the bathroom. There is also a TV with many channels. I was delighted to see my favs, i.e. FoodNetwork TV and HGTV. I was surprised to see that there was even a feed for a local newstation in my home town. This is a ceiling fan. There is no A/C, and none if needed with the three large windows that ushers ocean breezes into the room.

The large veranda is furnished with two chairs and a table to enjoy the views. However, the lounge chairs in front of the hotel affords better views of the ocean.

The hotel is located right in front of a dive shop and boat dock for fishing and other excursions, as well as the water taxi departure area.

On the downside, the area was a bit noisy on that Friday night, as some of the locals that worked in the area hung out talking and drinking until the wee hours of the night.

Nevertheless, we enjoyed our brief stay at the Conch Shell Inn.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    40
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
19
61
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My friend and I found this place on TripAdvisor prior to arriving in San Pedro, and decided to check it out. We got a room with no reservation, for a very reasonable price, and It ended up being the highlight of our whole trip! Perfect location on the beach, extremely clean, and close to everything in town.

I've traveled quite a bit in my life, and the Conch is on my very short "going back to" list! The Manager, Eleanor was great as well. She was always on the move, and great to chat with. There was a hurricane coming, and she actually went out of her way on her off time, to come to our room to let us know that our boat off the island the next day was cancelled. She then helped us make backup arrangement's to get off the island.

I can't say enough great things about this place..I'll see you all again soon!

Thank You for a GREAT experience!

Room Tip: Tempurpedic beds people!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I had a great time during my stay at the Conch Shell. The location was a great central meeting point for everyone in my group and is right on the beach! As a Chiropractor, I really appreciated the Tempurpedic beds and always had a great nights sleep. The staff at the Conch Shell were awesome and also set me up with a great scuba diving adventure! I highly recommend the Conch Shell and can't wait to come back:) You can't beat the price for a clean hotel on the ocean in the heart of San Pedro!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

This place gives you the perfect atmosphere to enjoy the relaxed attitude on this island. -Lay down with a book and a drink in the hammock on the balcony while looking at the sea. Awesome! The location and the outside area is what makes this place perfect. However even though the rooms are fine and clean the toilet might create some problems for the more shy couples. The toilets in the rooms are built with see-trough pricks and is not built all the way to the ceiling so if your stomach doesn't appreciate the belizean food you might have to ask your room mate to go outside while you use the facilities..;)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmopan, Belize
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I returned to conch shell inn after many years and found pleasant changes. My children and I spent many wonderful summers and Easters at the Inn so we were happy to return. Well we found out it had new owners and there was no room at the inn for locals. Most locally run hotels have a 'Belizean rate' which this proprietor doesn't seem to care about and for the ridiculous rate there is no AC, the refrigerator doesn't close and the bathroom door doesn't close. Not to mention that even though there were work men making noise with the cement mixer, we were still charged full price. My other issue definitely has to include a questions: Does everyone that goes to Conch Shell Inn sign a form in case of hotel damages? Inquiry minds certainly hope this is not a form of discrimination. My daughters are well mannered and sophisticated enough to know how to behave since they don't live in the rain forest in Belize. Belizeans travel too and we don't expect anything for free but surely we can enjoy our country too without the competition of the obviously higher valued and more favored American dollar.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConchShellInn, Owner at Conch Shell Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Dear Appreciated Conch Shell Guest,
When renovating the Conch Shell in 2008, our goal was to keep it affordable for tourists,
but most importantly for Belizeans to enjoy their holiday on the beach!
Please review our website as upper veranda is 84/night in low season, you were charged
60 for your one night stay, plus an additional 20 as there were 4 "adults" in your party,(10/pp)
our rates reflect double occupancy.

We appreciate your advice as the doorknob "tongue" was indeed stuck and the refrigerator
door did need to be adjusted and both are now is working order, thank you.
We have always offered locals a 20% discount and also a better rate when season allows.
It is standard practice to retain credit card information or take a deposit and we are sorry
as it was not our intent to have you feel any discrimenation during your one night stay.
FYI, we do offer AC.
Warm regards,
joan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I booked several rooms here as part of a long weekend getaway for myself and a bunch of overworked (and enthusiastic!) archaeologists. Joan was amazing, considering I was coordinating 12 people in one place :p She was extremely helpful through the whole process, even recommending things to do and great restaurants in town. The accommodations themselves were wonderful, clean eco-friendly rooms, wonderful views, hammocks to relax in, beach chairs for lounging, etc. Our experience here was exceptional! The price cannot be beat for the quality of the rooms and outstanding service! I can bet that I will be staying there again on my next visit! Thank you, Conch Shell!!!

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are worth the small price difference :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the Conch Shell two out of out four trips to Belize. It is by far our favorite place to stay. The owners and caretakers are lovely. The location in town is very convenient. I am simply waiting for cheap(er) flights and my next trip in on!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conch Shell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conch Shell Inn

Address: 11 Foreshore Street | Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#27 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Conch Shell hotel awaits you. We are located in the heart of San Pedro Town and are surrounded by the best dive shops, restaurants, bars and tour operators. Enjoy one of our 10 Reef watching renovated rooms. Choose from upstairs rooms with mini-kitchenette and TV or Our Downstairs rooms with mini-fridge. We also have wireless internet available to our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Conch Shell Hotel San Pedro
Conch Shell San Pedro
Conch Shell Inn Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conch Shell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.