We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has it all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belizean Reef Suites

Belizean Reef Suites
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belizean Reef Suites
Save
You added Belizean Reef Suites to your Saves list
Cocounut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 78028, Belize (Formerly Belizean Reef Luxury Beachfront Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Has it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great condos with plenty of room and full kitchens. The location is perfectly on the south edge of town, so you're away from the late night bar goers. Walking distance from the air strip. The planes start running around 6:40am every morning, but if you're up to do excursions, then this shouldn't be a problem.
There is a place to park your rented golf cart and/or bikes overnight. Very safe and relaxing. I will stay again without question.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leduc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with the location, view, size and amenities of our Suite! We were on the second floor and had a spectacular view to sit on our balcony and have our morning coffee or nightcap! The gates get locked at night that only people staying there have access too for security.
The housekeeper, Angela, is not only good at what she does, but also very helpful and knowledgeable with any questions you have. As mentioned in other posts, we went snorkeling for a day with her son, Stephen and his crew, on his 35 ft Catamaran. We had a great meal on a beach. They dove for Conch and made an awesome Ceviche, and then we got to take a shell!!
We walked everywhere in San Pedro, as it is close to both downtown to the north and markets and other bars to the south as well.
If you want to have a fully equipped spacious place to stay on the beach, this is the place. The wifi worked great in the kitchen, living room and deck!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The location is fantastic !! very nice and clean condo with a great view. the staff is wonderful Angela does a great job ! walking distance to everything ! good fishing off the dock to the right of condo. next to Romons beach which is nice and clean ! the only thing it needs more cooking utensil's,pots ect. have stayed there four times and will go back. It's all about the LOCATION !!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: rooms on the south side # 2 is quieter. higher rooms better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

As others have said, you cannot beat the location. We were in #2 on the first floor. Walk-out right to the beach. Power went out overnight and it wreaked havoc on the internet we needed to do some work (I know, but whatcha gonna do?) Ana, despite being laid-up with the flu, jumped right on our need and ensured we were all set. Being on the firstfloor and close to town, secuirty can be a concern, but we felt very safe with multiple locks at both the front and back entrance as well as tasteful bars on the windows beachside that didn't hamper our view or airflow. Safe in the kitchen cabinet was electronic and large. Speaking of airflow, the air conditioning unit in the bedroom was amazingly quiet. February Belize trips don't frquently require air conditioning, but this spacious suite had the bedroom all the way in the back -- limiting natural airflow. We needed the unit, and found it amazingly quiet and efficient. As we are familiar with san pedro, we didn't require any assistance with excusrions or air travel so we cannot speak to this. However, offers with assistance were generous and frequent. Buy coffee, bagels, and other basic necessities in a closeby grocery store and you are set for a reasonably priced vacation. I would highly recommend Belizean Reef. Most pictures at the link below were taken from atop, below and surrounding Belizean Reef. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WO0j-DfHoeU

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just returned from 1 week in San Pedro, staying at Belizean Reef Suites. Located right on the beach, only steps away from downtown and the San Pedro airport (don't make the mistake of taking a taxi from the airport -- it's basically right across the street).

The beach in San Pedro is basically a pedestrian-only road - so walking from these condos to stores and cafes and into downtown is enchanting. You can't really swim off the beach in San Pedro -- the sea-grass is far too extensive to get around -- but you can swim off the end of the pier at Ramones a couple doors down; they have steps into the water and a cleared are with artificial reef. There are thousands of fish around this pier and 'reef' so make sure to bring your mask and snorkel.

The suites are cleaned daily, and everything kept tidy. The housekeeper, Angela, is around all day so anytime we had a question she was very helpful, and whenever there was a minor problem she called in the manager to fix it promptly. Erik and Ana were always quick to respond to emails if we had an issue or question.

Definitely recommend Belizean Suites -- perfect location, being just outside the towndown core, but still only steps from cafes, restaurants, shops etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have stayed at Belizean Reef multiple times and will definitely be going back. The property is ideally located at the southern edge of San Pedro (yes, it's near the airport, but the planes are 12-seaters and don't fly much after dark) where you can walk to anything you want but are not staying right in the middle of business district.

There are several docks right out front where local dive shops and tour operators can pick you up (The Palms is easiest), a small grocery only a few blocks away (Save-On, near the airport), and Ramon's dock (2 properties away) has some great fish under it if you are looking for a local place to swim around with your snorkel. We've regularly seen rays, lobsters, eels, and plenty of fish under there. It's not reef snorkeling, but it's a pleasant afternoon activity. Beaches in San Pedro are pretty poor, but Ramon's is as good as any around.

All of the units have fantastic views of the sea and reef and though there is AC throughout the condo, even in August you can sleep in the main room with the windows open. Glorious fresh breezes keep the place comfortable in all but summery noons. Even with one bedroom, the units can easily sleep 4.

There are a few superficial things that need work. I'm not sure how old the condos are, but a bit of sprucing is needed. The utensils are rusty (we wound up using plasticware from take-out food), for instance. The shower drain in one unit was sharp and could easily cut your feet (we have stayed in multiple units). Someone has painted around the wall decorations rather than taking them down to paint the walls. The rooms and beds were always full of sand as there weren't any small rugs to wipe it off on and the housekeeper can't keep up with the constant influx of sand (who could?). Little things, but they bother some travelers.

A good choice in San Pedro.

Room Tip: Unit 6 has a fantastic balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here 2 years ago. We loved the central location of the hotel. We could walk everywhere including the airport! There is no onsite pool or restaurant, but who needs it! The ocean is steps away and the downtown San Pedro area is right outside the front door. There were great dining options just down the beach. I liked this place because it was very quiet and relaxing. You are left to your own devices which I enjoy. This island is one of the greatest places I have ever visited. I highly recommend everyone check it out.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belizean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belizean Reef Suites

Address: Cocounut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 78028, Belize (Formerly Belizean Reef Luxury Beachfront Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These affordable, spacious and luxurious beachfront condos are in a prime location on the south edge of town close to all the shops, restaurants and palapa bars. There is a private sandy beach area overlooking the reef for sunning or for relaxing in a hammock. The roof top veranda can provide beautiful and memorable photos of the reef and azul waters complete with sailboats or sunsets. Great packages available for any adventure or special event. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Belizean Reef Luxury Beachfront Hotel San Pedro
Belizean Reef Suites Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belizean Reef Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.