We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, Private, Great View, and Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Oceanfront Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Palms Oceanfront Suites to your Saves list
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coconut drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 000000, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Boise, Id
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romantic, Private, Great View, and Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2008

We stayed at the Plams for our honeymoon and we were very pleased. Awesome view and great location. You can walk downtown easily. It does have small pool, but the palm trees and other flora surrounding it give it a great private feeling. The condos have kitchens with a full fridge and the set up of it all is just perfect. Did I mention the view? Wow loved having a huge covered patio to enjoy all to ourselves. Because it is sucha small place it makes it a nice private experience.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — ?
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    32
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
88
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2008

what a great spot. two adult couples rented a two bedroon suite the first week in march, 2008 and had a wonderful stay. the palms is in the perfect location as far as i'm concerned. it's easy walking distance to everything in san pedro, both on the beach and in the town yet it feels as though it is not directly in town. the palms is located next to ramon's which has the best beach in AC and a top notch water sports center. we used their dive shop and fishing and snorkle charters. the small pool behind the building is in a quaint landscaped courtyard suitable for quiet reading or lounging out of the sun. we had a second floor unit. the kitchen/dining room/living room was very user friendly with comfortable furniture (the suites do vary). the view was "to die for". our bed was really comfortable. the entire building is clean and well kept. the staff was very friendly and accomodating. AC does not have a surplus of fancy accomodations especially within walking distance to town. the so-called nicer propoerties further north and south of town are not readily accessible to town. overall i'd highly recommend the palms.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, MT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2008

Our stay at The Palms was fabulous! We also had our wedding right there on the beach. Ana was great to work with! She handled everything from the flowers, recommending a great photographer, having the beach set up, arranging for the minister, everything! Also, she and the other staff were so helpful and lined up golf cart rental, massages, outings, ect... We would just ask and they would take care of it all. No stress or worries! The "condo" was like a small 2 bedroom apartment with a georgous view of the ocean. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook, blend mixed drinks, make coffee, etc.. which really worked out very well, especially for making a quick breakfast in the morning. The housekeeping service did a great job every day of timing it just right to come clean while we were out, which varied from day to day. The air conditioning worked perfect. The grounds were imaculate and beautiful and the sand was raked of any debris regularily. The pool is smaller and is in a shadier area, but in a setting surrounded by beautiful foliage. The beach is small, but clean. (The majority of beaches were covered with excess sea grass and a lot of litter and garbage). For more beach room and lounge chairs to lay on right next to the water, Ramon's beach is the largest and is also clean and is right next door... just a few steps away. Compared to the other places we saw to stay, in our opinion, The Palms is definetly the best and is money well spent!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Location, Great Staff
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

We stayed in a 2bdrm, 2 bath condo. The place was immaculate, both inside & out. The beds were decent & the kitchen adequately furnished. The sofas were comfortable & appeared clean. The condo was very large & airy. The balcony had a beautiful ocean view. The chairs were not the most comfortable, though. The property has 12 condos (1bdrm. & 2bdrm) - all facing the sea. The grounds were full of great flowering plants, with a small pool and numerous lounge chairs facing the ocean. The property adjoins Ramon's Village & has one of the nicest beaches on Ambergris Caye. It's right at the south edge of San Pedro, no more than 5-10 stroll to all restaurants & shops. It's not cheap, but it gives very good value for the money. The staff is very responsive to the guest's needs.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — balcony charis quite uncomfortable
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

My family and I (husband & 2 kids, 13 &10) just came back from a fabulous stay at The Palms. We were there for 2 weeks (end of Jan.- beginning of Feb) and everything was just perfect. I did a great deal of research before deciding on The Palms. It paid off. We were close enough to town to walk in when we wanted, and the beach front is the best this close to town. The condo was clean and spacious. It's true that the pool is a little shady, but I found this refreshing after sunning. Generally, you cannot just walk-in and snorkel on AC, you need to go on a snorkel trip to Hol Chan, but we snorkeled off the beach at The Palms and swam to the end of Ramon's pier and it was just fine for a diversion during the day.

Prior to our trip, Ana in the front office responded quickly to my e-mails and was very helpful. We stayed in a 2 bedroom on the 2nd floor. The first floor does have large front patios, but privacy can be an issue. Also, you would need to lock your sliders. We kept our screen sliders closed and left the glass doors open all the time. We had no bug issues at all. The Palms is not a luxury resort, so if that's what you are looking for there are other places to stay on AC. If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, convenient condo that is reasonably priced, The Palms is the place!!!!

AC is a great place to vacation the following are some things we learned during our stay:
We liked SEAduced for snorkeling tours as well as a guy named Brady Ewen-Smith. He is located on the Belize Yacht Club pier.
Brady hooked us up with Carlo Gonzalez for an amazing mainland tour. Carlo is cheaper than other tours we looked at, and really customizes your trip. He's incredibly knowledgeable!
When booking tours, always go directly to the source, rather than booking through the front desk. It's a cheaper route, also, many tours places give you a 10% discount if you pay in cash.
The Bayside Bar is a new place owned by ex-pats from Florida. From The Palms (road side, not beach), you make a right and then a left and keep going straight. It's tucked away at what appears like a dead end. Tell Samantha the bartender that the Patriot's fans from Massachusetts sent you!
I could go on & on about AC. Suffice it to say that we loved Ambergris Caye and we are already planning our next trip. Of course we'll be staying at The Palms!!!

  • Liked — cleanliness, location, price
  • Disliked — no negatives
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2008

This was our first time in San Pedro and we were staying for 10 days, so we stayed 5 days at The Palms and 5 days at Banyan Bay Villas. We really like The Palms for the price and location. We stayed at in the 2 bedroom/2 bath executive oceanfront suite. Upon arriving, they checked us in immediately and our room was ready. There was a hammock on the patio that looked right out to the water. The kitchen was a little small, but it wasn't that important to us. If you are looking for a pool overlooking the ocean, this is not the hotel for you. The pool is pretty hidden and small and not that warm since there were a lot of greenery shadowing the pool. Again, this wasn't important to us either since the beach had white sand, which was beautiful, to lay out or go into the water.
We are coming back to San Pedro in April and staying for 10 days and it will be all The Palms this time. If this is your first time in San Pedro, you will not be disappointed. If you like getting a tan, laying on the beach, getting around and exploring the island on a golf cart, and fishing. This is the place for you. We liked Banyan Bay, too, but there were too many kids at the pool.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — pool
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2007

The palms was an OK place to stay. These were the pros and cons we encountered. Please bear in mind I am comparing this location to another hotel in which we stayed in Belize and I do have really high standards.

CONS:
The french windows in our appartment didn't close properly (so there was a gap of a couple of inches left open), so insects (mosquitos and
cockroaches) stayed with us nightly in the apartment and there isn't any mosi nets in the bedroom.

The bedroom was located next to the walkway, This means if you don't want everyone looking in the bedroom you have to keep the blinds drawn, so the room is always gloomy.

When you sit out on the porch or garden area vendors come into the private beach area to sell you stuff.

Other palms guests can sit outside your apartment patio, if you're on
the ground floor, so it's not very private.

The friendly atmosphere we experienced at other hotels, wasn't here, but the maids were lovely. For example, we weren't shown around the property and how to use things, other than how to lock the door.

The beach outside the palms area has alot of litter, so watch out when walking in barefeet.

PROS:
Maid service is really good.

The apartment is large, nicely decorated and has good air
conditioning.

As well as insects, there's a few geckos which live behind the pictures and eat the insects.

The front part of the porch is nice, as is the view.

Kitchen is well equipped

Sofas and bed is comfortable

Shower is really good.

The pool is small, but is private and open until 11pm.

The beach nearby is fine to swim in, but it's not completely clear of sea grass, so if you don't like this use the pool.

Location is close to airport (within walking distance) and close to town (a bit too close for me).


Overall, it was an OK place to stay, but I for me i wouldn't return, as I value privacy and peace too much.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms Oceanfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Oceanfront Suites

Address: Coconut drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 000000, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#14 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palms Oceanfront Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms is ideally located on the beach a minutes walk south of San Pedro Town. The property features 12 oceanfront 1 and 2 bedroom fully furnished suites and a poolside Casita. All the units are individually decorated, have a/c, full kitchens and have unmatched ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Palms Oceanfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel San Pedro
The Palms Oceanfront Suites Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Oceanfront Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.