We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, affordable, and centrally located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pedro's Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
Pedro's Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good, affordable, and centrally located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I (we are in our early and mid 40s) took our first trip to Belize/San Pedro/Ambergris Caye last week. While we could have spent more money on a fancier hotel, for our first time there, we wanted to try to keep our hotel costs low so we could have the flexibility to spend more on other things. That led us to Pedro’s.

We read a lot of the reviews and thought it could be a good place for us – though, were a tiny bit concerned that it could turn out to be too much of a party scene for us. After a few emails and phone calls with Peter though we decided to give it a whirl.

Overall, we had a great time there – but you definitely have to be open minded and prepared for what you are getting. If not, you might be a little alarmed when taken off the paved street and onto a dirt road in the middle of what looks like it could be a shady part of town (which it wasn’t – turns out it was quite safe). Plus, it is pretty close to the airstrip for Tropic and Maya Air which we actually enjoyed – but others may want to consider earplugs or something if you are the type who likes to sleep in a bit in the morning.

Then, if you think you may end up being a little picky about your room, try to get clear ahead of time about which room you will be staying in as well.

Our mistake may have been when we were booking and we asked that we stay in a more quiet area (away from the pool and bar party noise). We got in in the evening on Tuesday. The office was closed, so Alex, the bartender, gave us the keys to our room. It was in the building across the street from the main area where the bar and pools are – in keeping with our request.
We opened the door, and it was a pretty basic room, as we expected…. It was clean and looked okay enough… But after one night, decided to see about an upgraded room.

We went to see Felipe and without any issue, he showed us another option that cost just a bit more per night. The room was on the third floor and was a vast improvement over where we were when we first arrived. If you have a choice and again, if you care, we would recommend splurging for the rooms in the main area. And there really was no noise from the bar or pool to speak of.

Overall Pedro’s has a relaxed, come as you are, do as you please (respectfully and within reason, of course) atmosphere. It is also safe, clean, and full of resident doggies who are very friendly and just part of the whole experience as well.

The staff – while not really kiss assy or falling all over you -- was more than accommodating. If you want a fridge in your room, a bucket of ice, a wine glass (or several), if you want to take an excursion or a recommendation on things to do, all you have to do is ask the staff and they will take care of you. Nothing ever seemed to be a problem to them -- even though we may have felt like we were being pains in their tails on occasion.

The food from the sports bar is good and nice to have when you may not feel like venturing into town. The cooks often come out to deliver your order themselves and check to make sure you like what they’ve prepared for you.

The bottom line is that whether you are a young person traveling from hostel to hostel, a single out on an adventure, or a couple like us, Pedro’s is a great, affordable place to put down roots when in San Pedro. You just need to realize that it is not the lap of luxury – but it has everything you need to have a great stay in Belize.

When you leave, you will get a few hugs and will return home with a few new friends. Thanks to Peter, Alex, Felipe, and the rest of the crew there for helping to make our trip to Belize a great one.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main area, near pools and bar, upper level
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    91
    27
    6
    15
See reviews for
18
106
87
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We booked this hotel and then had to cancel giving them 2 days notice. We had planned on staying there three nights. We called them 3 times and email 2 times trying to see about a cancellation. Hoping we would be able to cancel one or two of the nights. They never even called back. Just ignored all attempts to contact. I have since talked to several folks that have had negative experiences. Really pathetic.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pedro101, Owner at Pedro's Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
As usual, a bad review on Trip Advisor by someone who didn’t even stay at Pedro’s Hotel - Our terms and conditions of booking are clearly stated on our website and every other booking engine we are listed on and we clearly state that there are no refunds if cancelled 30 days prior to arrival. The ‘flip-side’ to this story is just imagine if you had turned up and we told you that there was no room because we sold it already. We have, on many occasions refunded people money for medical emergencies and similar occasions, but we consider you booking Pedro’s Hotel as a backup plan in case your first choice didn’t work out is not one of those cases.

You say you talked to other people that had a bad experience… another common ‘complaint’ on Tripadvisor from people that haven’t stayed with us. You also claim that you attempted to contact us and that we didn’t respond. We answer our telephone 24 hours a day. Our reception opens at 7:00 am and closes at Midnight, and we respond to all emails that come in no matter the subject matter.

We hope you had a good holiday in San Pedro – as you obviously did stay here at your first choice of location, if you read all the Tripadvisor reports about Pedro’s you will find an overwhelming majority are positive – leading to our winning a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2013 (as we did in 2012).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Pedro's 2 different times during our stay in San Pedro. This is one of our favorite hotels. The rooms are clean, roomy, flat screen tv and air condtioning and exactly what we needed to keep us in comfort.
The owner Peter and his crew are the best and they do everything in their power to make sure your stay is enjoyable. They also have the coldest beer and best pizza on the island.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was our second time to stay at Pedro's Inn. This time we got to stay in the new rooms. Rooms are large, new flat screen TV, cable, new A/C and safes. The staff is great, anything we needed was taken care of immediately. Really like dealing with Peter...the entire procedure to rent a golf cart is a reminder from Peter to put gas in it before bringing it back. Paul handles your every need and Alex is a sweetheart bartender. The only food we ate there was the pizza, and it was very good. Will stay there next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is my fourth year staying at Pedro's. I could not imagine a better place to stay. The staff is amazing-they take of you like you are family. The new hotel rooms are wonderful! Lots of room with great details-safes in the room, tiled showers, AC, cable, Internet, balconies! Let the staff set up great dives and excursions for you-then sit back and relax. The bar is serving wonderful food and drinks. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

What a great place to stay!!! I had the privledge of staying at Pedro's Hotel for 4 weeks and not a single day was boring! There are two pools with big, comfy chairs to sunbathe in, a fun, friendly bar with events almost every night of the week (beer pong, karaoke, poker runs, trivia night, etc), and both the beach and town are only a short walk (or bike ride- you can rent bikes from Pedro's!) away. Pedro's can also hook you up with great prices on anything you might want to do while on the island- scuba diving, snorkeling, ziplining, cave tubing, and more! Plus, the staff is a hoot! Peter, the owner is an absolute riot! You will no doubt run into him at the bar and I encourage you to pull a chair up next to him and make him RING THE BELL! The rest of the staff is wonderful, too, especially the maids. The maid service is amazing- they make your bed and tidy up your room everyday. Pedro's also has a hostel, which attracts visitors from all over. One of my favorite things about Pedro's was meeting people from all over the world coming through the hostel.

I highly recommend this place for your stay in San Pedro. There are much nicer resorts on the island, but Pedro's is fun, reasonably priced, and you definitely get more BANG for your buck!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurinburg, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Pedro's Hotel provided a "home" for our entire group of 36! Peter and his group were helpful and made us laugh quite often. The rooms in the hotel are very clean and the coffee is great! Pedro's also has a restaraunt with wonderful meals! If you need a plane, bike or boat, just ask Peter! Pedro's provides the best lodging for the most fair rate!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pedro's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedro's Hotel

Also Known As:
Pedro's Hotel Belize/San Pedro
Address: Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pedro's Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheap Rooms, Priceless Adventure In Belize, and certainly in the town of San Pedro on Ambergris Caye, Pedro’s Hotel is the best price and value. Designed for the budget-minded traveler, Pedro’s affordable accommodations allow guests to enjoy all the excitement and adventure Belize has to offer, like Belize’s world-class scuba diving, snorkeling, spear fishing, kayaking, windsurfing, or sailing. Quite simply, at Pedro’s Hotel, even thrifty travelers can experience adventures of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Pedro's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pedro's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pedro's Hotel to your Saves list