We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really bad experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pedro's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pedro's Hotel to your Saves list
Pedro's Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Really bad experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We booked this hotel and then had to cancel giving them 2 days notice. We had planned on staying there three nights. We called them 3 times and email 2 times trying to see about a cancellation. Hoping we would be able to cancel one or two of the nights. They never even called back. Just ignored all attempts to contact. I have since talked to several folks that have had negative experiences. Really pathetic.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pedro101, Owner at Pedro's Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
As usual, a bad review on Trip Advisor by someone who didn’t even stay at Pedro’s Hotel - Our terms and conditions of booking are clearly stated on our website and every other booking engine we are listed on and we clearly state that there are no refunds if cancelled 30 days prior to arrival. The ‘flip-side’ to this story is just imagine if you had turned up and we told you that there was no room because we sold it already. We have, on many occasions refunded people money for medical emergencies and similar occasions, but we consider you booking Pedro’s Hotel as a backup plan in case your first choice didn’t work out is not one of those cases.

You say you talked to other people that had a bad experience… another common ‘complaint’ on Tripadvisor from people that haven’t stayed with us. You also claim that you attempted to contact us and that we didn’t respond. We answer our telephone 24 hours a day. Our reception opens at 7:00 am and closes at Midnight, and we respond to all emails that come in no matter the subject matter.

We hope you had a good holiday in San Pedro – as you obviously did stay here at your first choice of location, if you read all the Tripadvisor reports about Pedro’s you will find an overwhelming majority are positive – leading to our winning a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2013 (as we did in 2012).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    106
    33
    7
    17
See reviews for
22
122
94
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Pedro's 2 different times during our stay in San Pedro. This is one of our favorite hotels. The rooms are clean, roomy, flat screen tv and air condtioning and exactly what we needed to keep us in comfort.
The owner Peter and his crew are the best and they do everything in their power to make sure your stay is enjoyable. They also have the coldest beer and best pizza on the island.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was our second time to stay at Pedro's Inn. This time we got to stay in the new rooms. Rooms are large, new flat screen TV, cable, new A/C and safes. The staff is great, anything we needed was taken care of immediately. Really like dealing with Peter...the entire procedure to rent a golf cart is a reminder from Peter to put gas in it before bringing it back. Paul handles your every need and Alex is a sweetheart bartender. The only food we ate there was the pizza, and it was very good. Will stay there next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is my fourth year staying at Pedro's. I could not imagine a better place to stay. The staff is amazing-they take of you like you are family. The new hotel rooms are wonderful! Lots of room with great details-safes in the room, tiled showers, AC, cable, Internet, balconies! Let the staff set up great dives and excursions for you-then sit back and relax. The bar is serving wonderful food and drinks. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

What a great place to stay!!! I had the privledge of staying at Pedro's Hotel for 4 weeks and not a single day was boring! There are two pools with big, comfy chairs to sunbathe in, a fun, friendly bar with events almost every night of the week (beer pong, karaoke, poker runs, trivia night, etc), and both the beach and town are only a short walk (or bike ride- you can rent bikes from Pedro's!) away. Pedro's can also hook you up with great prices on anything you might want to do while on the island- scuba diving, snorkeling, ziplining, cave tubing, and more! Plus, the staff is a hoot! Peter, the owner is an absolute riot! You will no doubt run into him at the bar and I encourage you to pull a chair up next to him and make him RING THE BELL! The rest of the staff is wonderful, too, especially the maids. The maid service is amazing- they make your bed and tidy up your room everyday. Pedro's also has a hostel, which attracts visitors from all over. One of my favorite things about Pedro's was meeting people from all over the world coming through the hostel.

I highly recommend this place for your stay in San Pedro. There are much nicer resorts on the island, but Pedro's is fun, reasonably priced, and you definitely get more BANG for your buck!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurinburg, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Pedro's Hotel provided a "home" for our entire group of 36! Peter and his group were helpful and made us laugh quite often. The rooms in the hotel are very clean and the coffee is great! Pedro's also has a restaraunt with wonderful meals! If you need a plane, bike or boat, just ask Peter! Pedro's provides the best lodging for the most fair rate!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I came with a group of 23 student teachers from UNCW in Wilmington, NC, USA. We stayed at Pedro's for 5 weeks while we taught at different schools around the island. We stayed in the hotel side of Pedro's and absolutely loved it. We quickly felt at home in our rooms, at the hotel, and at the island. The staff is great! Extremely friendly and welcoming! If something ever went wrong, we could just go to the office and tell someone and it would be fixed almost immeadiately. The bar and pizzeria was fantastic! Pedro's has quality entertainment every night of the week. Some of our favorites were karaoke, trivia, and Poker Runs! Occassionally, they would offer homecooked meals like lasgna or Mayan chicken that gave us all the feeling of being home. It was so nice to be able to come back from school, change and either layout at either of the 2 pools, or go on a quick walk to the beach! Pedro's is located in wondeful place. It is just far enough from town that it is not too busy, but close enough that you could easily get there in a few minutes on a bike.

I loved staying at Pedro's Inn and would definitely reccommend it to anyone and everyone traveling to San Pedro!!! Just be sure not to ring the bell ;)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pedro's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedro's Hotel

Address: Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#22 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pedro's Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheap Rooms, Priceless Adventure In Belize, and certainly in the town of San Pedro on Ambergris Caye, Pedro’s Hotel is the best price and value. Designed for the budget-minded traveler, Pedro’s affordable accommodations allow guests to enjoy all the excitement and adventure Belize has to offer, like Belize’s world-class scuba diving, snorkeling, spear fishing, kayaking, windsurfing, or sailing. Quite simply, at Pedro’s Hotel, even thrifty travelers can experience adventures of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pedro's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedro's Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pedro's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.