We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, superb service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xanadu Island Resort Belize

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Xanadu Island Resort Belize to your Saves list
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Sea Grape Drive | P.O. Box 109, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, superb service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We did a Mother-Daughter 3 night getaway before heading to the interior and found Xanadu via Trip Advisor and so glad we did. Stayed in the honeymoon suite #2 (last unit left) and it has the best location being ocean front second floor. Room very clean with living room, eating area, kitchen, and full bath on main and bedroom loft and bath with shower via circular staircase up. Nice balcony area with table and 4 chairs and hammock. Views and breezes are incredible from this unit. Wonderful tropical setting with nice pool area and landscaping keeping the balance with nature. Staff here is the best ever so genuinely friendly and willing to do anything to make your stay perfect. We took their recommendation and did the tour pkg although they were more than willing to let us upgrade to the Blue Hole Snorkel all day tour instead of a half day tour. You must do the Blue Hole! Three different snorkel spots each very different and my Mom has snorkeled all over and said this was like everything else rolled into one spot with so many different fish all here. Xanadu only works with reputable tour companies and Lil Alfonse for Hol Chan/Shark Ray Alley was the best guide ever! The Amigos Del Mar for the Blue Hole was also fantastic and a great large boat. Xanadu recommended Waraguma downtown for their lobster burritos-don't miss this place! Incredible local food. El Divino short walk S of Xanadu-the best ceviche ever and the medium size comes out on a platter-we had this twice it was so great! Elvies was ok recommended by one of the guides but not our favorite. Rent a golf car if staying is great way to get around we only did it for 8 hours our half day off the water and had a ball touring around- like $45. Free bikes here to tour around are great, too. Highly recommend Xanadu and will definitely come back here again. Thank you Franz, Orlando (especially for picking my Mom up off the ground when she fell off her bike parking it-split a gut laughing all of us) and Ingrid for all of your wonderful service and recommendations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A, General Manager at Xanadu Island Resort Belize, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We are overjoyed that you had such a wonderful stay and thank you so much for your very positive review. Our staff and the tour operators we use strive to provide the best service possible. We hope to host you again someday soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    99
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
234
456
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Xanadu Resort, and were thrilled with our experience in late June of 2013.
We really enjoyed the natural flora, which was not bulldozed like so many of the resorts. this is Belize-we wanted it to look like Belize!
we liked the amenities and the location the best, and we liked the bugs the least. There are sand fleas and mosquitos everywhere in Belize so we were not surprised by this.
We really liked the easy 15 minute walk along the beach into San Pedro. it is much cooler than the road, and quieter, but both routes will get you there in short time. There are lots of interesting sights as you walk along the water by other hotels and condos and piers and lots of boats, wind surfers, and kite surfers.
Out on the main road, which is 1 block down a dirt road, we stopped every morning at The Baker. This is a nice little bakery with fresh cinnamon rolls and coffee, cookies and other treats.
There are also 2 grocery stores within that block, so it is easy to make use of your well appointed kitchen.
There are many restaurants within easy walking distance, and we especially loved that beach walk after a good meal.
We also took advantage of the free bicycles. We rode up the beach, and rode back on the road. The road was a little noisy for a calm peddle, but it was fun as well.
For snorkelers, the front desk can arrange for Ivor and the Alphonse 1 to pick you up right at the pier on the property, and for $35 you can see the Hol Chan Marine Reserve and Shark Ray Alley both in a couple hours. These are very good snorkeling sights, and shouldnt be missed. Ivor took a non-swimmer in our party and she got to enjoy all the sights while floating and being towed.
Someone at Xanadu has done a good job of hiring service providers. Everyone we encountered was cheerful and smiling over 4 days. This is hard to fake. This is apparently happy people enjoying their jobs in a beautiful jungle setting.
They also have golf carts for rent at the resort, and free rides to and from the airport.
There are possibly nicer and more expensive hotels in San Pedro, but it would be hard to find much fault in how they are running this very friendly wonderful place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A, General Manager at Xanadu Island Resort Belize, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We are excited to hear that you were 'thrilled' with your experience here at Xanadu. We love our resort and are very happy when our guests have a great time. Thank you for your positive and detailed review and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Beautiful well kept grounds, spacious suite with large veranda. Nice pool, beach and dock with swimming area. Staff was super friendly and very accommodating on rescheduling activities when we had some bad weather at the beginning of our trip. Would recommend for families or couples.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A, General Manager at Xanadu Island Resort Belize, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your very positive response. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and had fun on your tours. It would be great if we could arrange the weather as well! Thank you for recommending us. We hope you will visit us again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Don't let the throwback name deter you, this little condo resort is great! Four girls ranging from 35-70 years old stayed in a 2 bedroom condo, complete with a kitchen and living room. The thatched roof condo was cool and clean. The kitchen had everything! The heated pool, small beach and snorkel rental was perfect. There was a dock for easy tour pick up! Dont misd rhe conch ceviche at Ricos about 1/4 mile up the beach. Nice happy hour too, as the resort does not have a bar or restaurant. Everything was fairly close, including a grocery store across the street! Be sure to take one of the bicycles into town it is an inexpensive and easy way to get around.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A, General Manager at Xanadu Island Resort Belize, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We appreciate your review and are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes the bicycles are a fun way to explore and we are glad you used them. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Xanadu from June 20-24 and overall enjoyed our stay there.
This was my 3rd trip to the island, and I have stayed at different resorts each time, and would probably stay somewhere new again next time, as I wasn't totally "WOW'ed" with my experience at Xanadu.

We stayed in the Honeymoon ocean view suite #3, and the interior of the unit is pretty dated. The shower pressure left much to be desired, and we had major issues with the sheets and towels not being clean. One day after the maid came and changed linens, a pillow case was put on one of the pillows that had large brown stains all over it. Pretty gross. Same thing with the sheets, lots of stains/spots and I am a stickler for clean sheets at hotels, so it rubbed me the wrong way.... Also, the stairwell to get up to the loft bedroom is very narrow and hard to navigate - if you are tall, be prepared to duck a lot, as the ceilings are very low in the bedroom and bathroom and you can smack your head pretty easily!

Being low season, the resort was pretty quiet. The pool is very small, with 20 or so beach chairs and a hammock nearby, but it's a nice pool. Franz and Jamil were super helpful booking us a private catamaran tour to Caye Caulker for only $100 US per person for the entire day on a private sailboat with 2 guides. It was worth every penny, and we stopped at Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley to snorkel... Franz also booked us a Crocodile Tour with ACES which was $40 US, and a great experience.

We had Xanadu book our return flights on the puddle jumper for us, which turned out to be a little bit of a nightmare. They booked us at noon but told us our flight was at 1 and to be at the airport by 12:30. Upon arrival, Tropic Air told us we had missed our flight and would have to pay for 2 more flights to get on board at 1. They ended up contacting Ingrid (manager at Xanadu) and she took care of it quickly and covered the cost for us, since it was the hotel's error. We appreciated how quickly it was handled, as we almost got stuck on the island and missed our flight home!

The pros : location is terrific, view from the unit was lovely, friendly staff, nice pool area, great at helping with tours, BBQ grill on beach for guests to use, kitchen in rooms, A/C and fans kept temperature nice and chilly, bird watching bridge on site is pretty cool/unique, loved all the trees/natural environment...

The cons : linens could have been much cleaner, beach area is not very pretty/swimmable, rooms are semi dated, ceilings too low in rooms, closet space was lacking, no restaurant or bar on site, bill was incorrect first time and had to request adjustment, the safe in our room was broken...

Bottomline - I'd consider staying at Xanadu again in a different unit - but I'd likely lean toward staying at the Victoria House, Ramon's Village, or Banyan Bay instead...

Room Tip: The ocean front lofts have very low ceilings upstairs - so tall people beware!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A, General Manager at Xanadu Island Resort Belize, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that we were unable to 'wow' you. We have taken note of your comments and spoken to the housekeeper responsible for your suite. The buildings are monolithic domes which creates the interesting architectural style. Beaches on Ambergris Caye are small and because of the proximity to the reef the beaches also have a lot of sea grass. Most resorts have seawalls to preserve the beaches. We are pleased you enjoyed our location and friendly staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverdale, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel was SO clean, authentic, and beautiful. The staff was very available and helpful, and the adventure tours that they offer are competitively priced compared to the tour companies along the beach, which usually isn't the case. My husband and I spent our honeymoon there, and we would definitely stay there again... those white, fluffy beds were so inviting and the air conditioning was sublime. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A, General Manager at Xanadu Island Resort Belize, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your review and positive comments about Xanadu. We are happy you chose us for your honeymoon and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your visit and look forward to the next one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our group of 8 adults stayed at Xanadu in two different units. This was a return visit for 5 in our group to Xanadu. The resort is superb and the owners built the units around the natural setting preserving paradise. You feel part of the area staying there rather than viewing a postcard scene out a window. The staff are very willing to assist you. Orlando will share his love of nature with you around the resort. Jamil and Franz in the office will assist you with tours, golf carts, and reservations for taxis or restaurants. Maria was a pleasant housekeeper and professional with the guests. You can view a unit's interior on their website. While there you see other guests from time to time (especially at the pool) however you feel like you are away from it all. The lack of a restaurant at the resort is not a problem since many restaurants/grocery stores are nearby. We feel this omission helps Xanadu from being over run with guests enhancing our stay. Would love to return and stay at Xanadu again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A, General Manager at Xanadu Island Resort Belize, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. Our setting amongst the trees certainly creates a tranquil feeling and without a restaurant and bar we are able to keep that tranquility for our guests. This way our guests can enjoy the quiet when they want to and also enjoy the vibrancy of the town just a short distance away. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.7 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 840 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.9 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#24 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
8.2 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
6.2 mi away
Matachica Beach Resort
Matachica Beach Resort
#15 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort Belize

Address: Sea Grape Drive | P.O. Box 109, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort Belize 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIQUE, BOUTIQUE, TRANQUIL & ROMANTIC Eco-friendly Xanadu Resort lies nestled in the natural vegetation, on the beach overlooking the 2nd largest barrier reef and the Caribbean Sea. Located a mile south of San Pedro, Xanadu is close enough to enjoy the activities of the town yet far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. Green Globe certified, Xanadu takes care of their guests, their staff, their community and their environment. Service excellence combined with the beautiful natural grounds and unique buildings draw guests to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort Belize reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xanadu Island Resort Belize, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.