We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious jungle bungalows on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xanadu Island Resort Belize

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Xanadu Island Resort Belize to your Saves list
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Sea Grape Drive | P.O. Box 109, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Luxurious jungle bungalows on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My partner and I booked a 6 night stay at Xanadu Island in late May '13. The staff was extremely helpful and quick to respond to e-mail inquiries about activities around the island. It was so easy to arrange for the entire week of activities without having to speak to a bunch of different vendors. I especially appreciated that each and every one of the vendors they selected for us ended up being courteous, professional and great!

I also liked that the resort staff treated us - a gay couple - like any other couple on a romantic getaway. On the bed at our arrival, they arranged towel-swans arrayed with flowers with some petals reading - "I love you". And throughout the stay, the maid recreated the scene with towels of different sizes. It was very sweet.

The resort has a nice sized saline pool. It's comfortably shaded by lots of trees with plenty of space to lay out and enjoy shade or sun. The lining of the pool is rough, so you can not do much rough-housing in the pool and you will need to carefully watch little kids at play. The pool is not the only option for swimming. Like most resorts in Ambergris Caye, the area around the pier at the resort's property is set aside for swimmers. The only drawback is that there is not a sandy beach to enjoy, but that is the case with all resorts in Ambergris Caye; it's not a vacation spot for those that need to wiggle their feet under the sand.

Ambergris Caye is much more expensive than you will expect. My partner and I went to a local grocery store and bought foods for breakfast and lunch. Although the groceries were fairly expensive as well, I think we saved a ton by cooking eggs, bacon, french toast, etc. and we could do that because we had a great set up at the resort - a full kitchen with everything we needed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A, General Manager at Xanadu Island Resort Belize, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt well cared for by our staff. Because we have the privilege of the barrier reef so close to us, it means that the beaches on the island have sea grass which is the reason so many resorts have long piers and cordoned off areas to swim. On the other hand many people prefer to look at the ocean while they swim in the fresh water swimming pools, so we are happy to provide both. Thank you for your review and kind words and come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    87
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
198
414
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Had a wonderful if too short stay at Xanadu Island Resort. Stayed for 5 days, booked a 1 bedroom, was put into Unit #8 which is a huge 2 bedroom upstairs unit. Very clean, well appointed condo. Very impressed with the service @ Xanadu including the the towel art on our bed the first and last nights we were there.

I was impressed with the lack of bugs inside(common issue in tropical locations). Office staff was very helpful and accommodating in arranging a sunset cruise and golf cart rental.

Location is very quiet(away from the hustle & bustle of San Pedro), but close enough to walk to town for dining etc. Will definitely consider staying here again when we return to Belize.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A, General Manager at Xanadu Island Resort Belize, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your upgrade to the two bedroom suite on the second level. It certainly does have a lovely view and is a spacious suite. All the staff try hard to provide a service that will make our guests happy and we are glad that you found them all friendly and helpful. When you come back to Belize we will be happy to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a small family reunion at Xanadu with five adults and two small children. It was the perfect location for our kids... the pool has a large shallow area that is perfect for them to play. The resort is small and intimate, so even from the farthest suites you can be out on the beach in about 1 minute. There is only a small beach area and the sand is coarse, but our kids preferred the pool anyway. The staff is phenomenal and really go out of their way to make your stay fun and comfortable. Ingrid, Cathy and Orlando really took the extra time and effort to make our trip incredible. Our kids loves the sit-on-top kayaks that are provided at the resort, and we had a fun afternoon biking around San Pedro with the provided bicycles. There were black and green iguanas, hermit crabs and blue land crabs right out side our deck and our front door every day. It was amazing!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A, General Manager at Xanadu Island Resort Belize, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Visiting Xanadu can be so exciting for children and adults who love to look for the little crabs, lizards and bigger iguanas. The bicycles and kayaks are also a lot of fun. We are happy your children enjoyed the pool and that you all had fun with us. Thank you for your review and do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platte City, Missouri, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This place is wonderful, we love it. Everything and everyone is excellent. The resort is very jungle-like. They make you feel like you are not at a resort but really are on a secluded tropical retreat. Everyone is really nice too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A, General Manager at Xanadu Island Resort Belize, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
It is wonderful that you enjoyed the natural beauty of Xanadu and felt as if you were on a secluded tropical retreat. Thank you for taking the time to review us. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This place is incredible! We can not say enough wonderful things about Xanadu. We stayed at Xanadu for our honeymoon, and I could not envision a more perfect place. We stayed in the beach front loft (unit #2), which I highly recommend because sitting on the wrap around porch overlooking the sea was priceless and really completed the accommodation. The loft itself was very clean, modern, and comfortable. The pool was fantastic and offered both areas shaded by palm trees and areas exposed to the sun. We also started every morning by jumping off the pier into the Caribbean Ocean! We only went on official excursions 2 of the 8 days we were there, including Discovery SCUBA and snorkeling and a trip to the mainland for ziplining and touring Xunantunich. The Xanadu staff set all of this up for us and both excursions were amazing! The bikes at Xanadu were also great, and we spent a couple days biking all around the island (which is very safe and everyone is incredibly friendly) and stopping at little restaurants and beach bars throughout the day. Most importantly, the Xanadu staff are so friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back and highly recommend Xanadu for your Belize vacation!

Room Tip: Loft Unit 2, with the ocean view, is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A, General Manager at Xanadu Island Resort Belize, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
A honeymoon in paradise - what a lovely way to describe your time with us. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed yourselves. Thank you for your very positive review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The staff was so very helpful, kind and knowledgeable. Orlando answered all my nature questions and offered tidbits of information on his own, which I really appreciated. The indoor staff also were excellent. Kudos to the builders who built around the trees instead of tearing them down. The domes are a great idea.

I will be telling everyone I hear of impending San Pedro travel that Xanadu is the ONLY place to stay. Such luxury. And the wood for the cupboards, etc., is marvelous.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A, General Manager at Xanadu Island Resort Belize, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We are so happy you found Xanadu and our staff 'awesome' and that you will tell your friends about us. Thank you for your review and we hope to host you again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had a great stay at Xanadu Island Resort. We were most impressed by the genuinely friendly staff. Everyone from the front desk to the maids to the grounds people were so helpful. Our room, a studio suite, was delightful. The kitchen was well equipped with anything we needed for food preparation, and the refrigerator was even stocked with a gallon jug for purified water. The dining table was already set when we arrived which gave the room a very welcoming feel. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was quite large. The sitting area was very comfortable for relaxing in the evening and the air-conditioning was much appreciated after six nights in the jungle. Every tour we took was staffed by an excellent guide. I would definitely recommend reef fishing and snorkeling with the sharks a rays; both were wonderful experiences. The pool was quite relaxing and even swimming from the long dock was fun and refreshing. Everything was arranged so seamlessly for us that it was truly a worry-free stay. Within a very short walk we found a lovely bakery and a convenient grocery store. this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A, General Manager at Xanadu Island Resort Belize, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff fulfilled their responsibilities and your needs well. The tour operators we use are those that consistently provide safe and enjoyable tours for our guests. Thank you for your positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xanadu Island Resort Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort Belize

Address: Sea Grape Drive | P.O. Box 109, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort Belize 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIQUE, BOUTIQUE, TRANQUIL & ROMANTIC Eco-friendly Xanadu Resort lies nestled in the natural vegetation, on the beach overlooking the 2nd largest barrier reef and the Caribbean Sea. Located a mile south of San Pedro, Xanadu is close enough to enjoy the activities of the town yet far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. Green Globe certified, Xanadu takes care of their guests, their staff, their community and their environment. Service excellence combined with the beautiful natural grounds and unique buildings draw guests to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort Belize reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xanadu Island Resort Belize, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.