We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More focus on luxury and quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xanadu Island Resort Belize

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Xanadu Island Resort Belize to your Saves list
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Sea Grape Drive | P.O. Box 109, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Cool, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“More focus on luxury and quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

In a place where there are a lot of cutting corners, Xandu stands heads above the rest. From their furnishings to the plantings around the pool and grounds you can tell they want to set themselves apart. All of the service workers in the town are friendly and helpful, but Xandu's helps make your experience special, like the grounds man will lop off the top of a fallen coconut and provide a straw as you sit by the pool, rum optional. Swimming off of their pier allows you to avoid the mushy sea grass area and you can also enjoy the use of their Kayaks and bikes, making getting to town or out to fish a great past time. Some resorts charge or don't even offer these things. There is no restuarant, however they are most helpful in recommending the best quality and prices. Overall this does feel like a pampered resort instead of a noisey motel.

Room Tip: #18 is a 3 bedroom 2 bath suite with an elevated patio. Great for a group, the stairs for the up be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    87
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
198
414
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is my third time visiting Belize. Staying at Xanadu Resort was like being in Paradise. The resort was gorgeous for Eco-green place, staff was very helpful, nice, respectful, and knowledgeable of everything to do and see in San Pedro, BZ. We stayed in suite 11, the view was exceptional from there, and it had all the comforts of home but in a tropical paradise! Would definitely come back again with my wife!!!

Room Tip: The staff at Xanadu, especially Orlando, Franz, Ingrid, and Blanca are the very resourceful and have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at Xanadu at the end of our Belize trip, which was mostly inland. After all the adventure in the interior, we were ready to veg out around the pool. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, making us feel immediately welcome. The resort is located at the south end of the village, not quite as bustling as it might be in the centre, but still an easy walk along the beach to the stores and restaurants. There's no restaurant on site, but the staff was ready with a binder full of menus and recommendations for each meal of the day, based on our preference for food type and atmosphere. Each one checked out exactly as billed - all excellent. The grounds are kept up immaculately and the rooms are very clean. The interiors are slightly dated, but just fine and the bed comfortable. There's a fully equipped kitchen, not that we used it other than for breakfast and to chill some champagne. By the way, there is an abundance of local fruits in the markets and locally-made yoghurt, and chocolate, so snacking is no problem. All in all, I'd highly recommend Xanadu.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahahual, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We loved Xanadu. From the moment we arrived, we had excellent service. Our rooms were beautiful, clean, and comfortable. The staff had great recommendations for eating out and things to do and went above and beyond to schedule our dives, activities, and transportation. We will definitely stay here if we come back to San Pedro.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London ON
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

So glad we didn't stay in town!!!!! Very clean place, constantly raking the grounds. There is a small beach out front. The pool is heated a bit - which is great as it is shaded a bit by the nice trees all around it. The staff are all very helpful and friendly. A nice short walk to grocery stores. Take a little longer one to the sausage factory and get lots of great meat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just got back from a week at Xanadu. We stayed in suite #1 and we couldn't have been more pleased with the time we spent there. The view from #1 is like something out of a movie...it really was amazing! The staff at Xanadu were top notch as far as being friendly and providing outstanding service. Every night, we would walk along the beach and try different restaurants that were recommended by the Xanadu staff and each night, we weren't disappointed.

While at the resort, there was a grocery store right at the end of Xanadu's driveway which made it easy to stock up on groceries for our place. The Xanadu property also has a bird sanctuary that was really neat to check out. Xanadu provides free bike usage during the daylight hours, so if you want to zip in town to check out the shops of San Pedro, you can do so very easily.

I hope ot get back to San Pedro again and when I do? I know I will stay at Xanadu! Thanks for a memorable trip!

Room Tip: Go to the Xanadu website and check out the view from room #1. It's all you'll need to help y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent a week at the Xanadu resort and have not a single complaint. Clean, neat, grounds groomed daily. All the amenities of a large resort with the small feel of 'going to grandmas'. Any request was granted and any minor imperfection was resolved. Free bicycles, kayaks, smooth trips booked for us daily, even at a last minute request. Walkable distance into town and made the trek more than once daily. Quiet, peaceful atmosphere but close enough to town activities to find entertainment. Would definitely stay here again if we return to Belize. Booked great, quality outfitters. THANKS XANADU.

Room Tip: Book a larger suite and bring friends! Private outdoor seating and a private hammock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Xanadu Island Resort Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort Belize

Address: Sea Grape Drive | P.O. Box 109, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort Belize 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIQUE, BOUTIQUE, TRANQUIL & ROMANTIC Eco-friendly Xanadu Resort lies nestled in the natural vegetation, on the beach overlooking the 2nd largest barrier reef and the Caribbean Sea. Located a mile south of San Pedro, Xanadu is close enough to enjoy the activities of the town yet far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. Green Globe certified, Xanadu takes care of their guests, their staff, their community and their environment. Service excellence combined with the beautiful natural grounds and unique buildings draw guests to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort Belize reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xanadu Island Resort Belize, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.