We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to go back!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xanadu Island Resort Belize

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Xanadu Island Resort Belize to your Saves list
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Sea Grape Drive | P.O. Box 109, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Richmond, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I want to go back!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I can't believe that I never wrote a review for this little piece of heaven! It's been almost a year since our visit, so I am reminiscing about our wonderful 5-night honeymoon experience at Xanadu. I can't say enough about how wonderful the staff was. Ingrid, Blanca, and Orlando were all very helpful (Orlando even lent his personal fishing pole to my husband for a few days!). We stayed in 7b, a one-bedroom suite. It was always very clean and quiet. The pool was fantastic as was Xanadu's pier. They were helpful with recommending restaurants and with booking excursions. We booked a snorkeling trip through them, and it was fantastic. I highly recommend the trip to Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley with Alphonse. Xanadu is located perfectly for privacy and yet, you're close enough to walk to a lot of places. Overall, I would definitely go back if I had the chance!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    94
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
214
433
17
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Friendly and welcoming staff cannot makeup for major construction at the resort during our stay. Xanadu management made the decision to schedule major construction in our building without notifying us prior to arrival. The noise was continuous from 9 AM to 6PM the last three days of our stay. We literally could not be in our room due to the noise, debris and commotion. Three complaints later, a note was taped to our door advising that the palapa needed replacement due to earlier rains. However, this does not make up for the construction at the property entrance, the construction to lay additional security lines and the construction to enhance a garden area. Xanadu made no effort to compensate us for this disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Very little beach front, so try to get close to shoreline
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Charles, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

After eight days at Lamani and Pook's Hill this was a great place to unwind and prepare to return home. The staff is incredible. Blanca seems to know everything and really cares about the visitors. When she couldn't make change for American paper currency she gave my husband a $1 so we could buy three eggs for breakfast. My husband's back was very sore after bouncing around on mainland "roads" visiting ruins and caves. The staff was most helpful in our attempts to locate a massage therapist. We are recommending the resort to my brother-and-sister-in-law as they are avid divers.

The full-sized kitchen allowed us to buy food and prepare most of our meals during our stay.

Having a laundry facility on-site made unpacking at home a delight. It was great putting clothes away clean rather than dumping everything into the dirty clothes basket.

Room Tip: Room 7-A is on a corner and the path to the back units goes by the porch. We had some folks use the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We are finishing a 3 day stay here, a family of 4. We booked a 2 bedroom suite but they upgraded us to a 3 bedroom two story penthouse, very nice . The best part is the HUGE private deck overlooking the beach. Service has been wonderful, everyone has been friendly and helpful.

The location is great, away from the busy town center but within walking distance to a grocery store, bakery, produce stand, restaurants, even a spa! Takes about 25 minutes to walk the beach to the center of San Pedro

My only dislike is the dark gray microfiber couches, sorry but they distract from the island ambience of the apartment.

Room tip: ask for a second story unit on the the north or south edge of the property, very private. We had #11.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Back for a second stay and it felt like home. Same friendly staff at a great location. Very nice accommodations with no crowd. We have already booked for next year. The kitchens are fully equipped. Anything you want or need is but a request to the staff away. Grounds are spotless. Pool is relaxing. Kayaks available free to use. My wife and I travel the world and never go back to the same place....except Xanadau Island Resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon back in January. The rooms were more like apartment style than hotel rooms which we loved. Kitchens were really nice, having a private porch and hammock was amazing. The views were great, the staff was helpful and friendly, the tours were easy to book and went perfectly. Really couldnt have been happier with our stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We just returned from a very relaxing 7 day stay at Xanadu. This resort came recommended to us and we can certainly pass along the same very positive review. For starters, the entire staff are extremely curteous and professional. Orlando, Jamil, Ingrid and Bianca all provided top-notch customer service. The resort itself is nestled amongst gorgeous mature palms and foliage - which help provide fantastic shade around the pool. The grounds are extremely well maintained and landscaped- the sand raked every morning. There are complimentary bikes and kayaks for use. Snorkel gear is available for a small rental fee if you are going out on an excursion. As others have mentioned, there is no walkout "beach", and to be honest, this is something I did miss. You can swim off the dock end and there are lounge chairs where you can relax and enjoy the sunsets. Our room (#4) had a view of the pool and was clean and well stocked. We bought food/ fruit at a nearby grocery and bakery, enjoying breakfast and lunch on our patio. There is also a small health and wellness store nearbycalled "Go Nature" where you can purchase gluten-free products and other health food supplies if you need. Each night we tried a different restaurant in and around the town of San Pedro. We did rent a golf cart as each restaurant varies in distance from Xanadu, and we weren't keen on walking back to the resort after dark. Our favorite places were - Hidden Treasures (delicious cocunut shrimp appetizer and pineapple chicken), Elvi's Kitchen (awesome fish tacos), El Fogon and Caroline's for authentic Belizean dishes. The Xanadu staff will look after any trips/excursions you want to make (very helpful) and the companies will pick you up at the Xanadu dock. We enjoyed snorkeling with Lil' Alphonse (go out in the morning - less people and more reef activity). Alphonse's enthusiasm for the reef and it's inhabitants was awesome. There is so much to see including spotted eagle rays, sting rays, nurse sharks and too many fish to remember! We also did a full day trip with a tour company called"SEArious" that included looking for (and hopefully spotting) manatee, snorkeling off a small island known as Geoff's Caye,and a quick stop at Caye Caulker on the return home. We also took a water taxi (departs from in-town) to spend more time exploring Caye Caulker which has a much different feel than the hustle and bustle of San Pedro (no noisy golf carts!).
Overall we had a very nice vacation to Ambergris Caye. Xanadu is a fantastic resort and a "must stay" if you are travelling to San Pedro.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xanadu Island Resort Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort Belize

Address: Sea Grape Drive | P.O. Box 109, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort Belize 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIQUE, BOUTIQUE, TRANQUIL & ROMANTIC Eco-friendly Xanadu Resort lies nestled in the natural vegetation, on the beach overlooking the 2nd largest barrier reef and the Caribbean Sea. Located a mile south of San Pedro, Xanadu is close enough to enjoy the activities of the town yet far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. Green Globe certified, Xanadu takes care of their guests, their staff, their community and their environment. Service excellence combined with the beautiful natural grounds and unique buildings draw guests to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort Belize reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xanadu Island Resort Belize, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.