We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xanadu = Paradise for Canadians!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xanadu Island Resort Belize

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Xanadu Island Resort Belize to your Saves list
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Sea Grape Drive | P.O. Box 109, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Fabulous Fall Special
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Hope, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Xanadu = Paradise for Canadians!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Best place to stay in San Pedro! We were welcomed "home" by all of the wonderful staff. We appreciated the fact that we could have a very quiet and isolated vacation (cook our own meals, our own private patio, excellent maps, wonderful suites, complimentary bicycles, kayaks,and snorkel gear) or we could access tours and adventures through the staff. Within walking/cycling/cart distance to downtown, airport, shops but far enough away that you feel like you are still in your own piece of paradise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    85
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
192
401
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Overall our experience here was superb, with only a few minor hiccups for which I detracted a star (or dot). The resort was in a great location just far enough from town that if you wanted to walk could get there in 20 minutes or so, but we only attempted that via the beach during the day (they suggest streets at night). However, they do have a good number of bicycles available, which was a great way to leisurely ride around town, and they have baskets on the front of most if you happen to pick something up on your way. We also rented a golf cart for a day, which isn't quite as adventurous as bicycles, but serves its purpose if your wanting to go to the north end or aren't so inclined to exercise. The rooms were comfortable (we had an ocean front suite), but haven't been updated in quite some time. However, we had everything we needed in the full kitchen, the bed was comfortable, and it had a newer flat-screen TV on both floors. The customer service there is second to none and they quickly took care of any requests we had. I would personally like to thank Blanca and Jamil for making our experience better than we could have hoped. The convenience/grocery stores right outside the entrance had everything we needed. The resort is tucked away in vegatation, which makes it seem even more secluded and quiet. The pool is warm and has a great view of the ocean. Their private pier and swimming area were convenient for both swimming and being picked up for excursions/diving. There are no hours for either the pool or pier, so we used them at all hours of the day and night.

My only complaints: Our housekeeper didn't replace the blanket on our bed one day, but we didn't notice until we were going to bed and the office was already closed, so had to go without. We asked for a replacement at the front desk the next day, but still hadn't received it by the next evening, so had to go back and wait for them to give us one. We went on the onsite nature walk, but were confused when we went down the far side of the ramp because the path looked like it hadn't been cleared in a while, so had to turn around and go back up and over the bird-watching platform. On a side note, we heard birds, but didn't see any. My only other complaint were the vendors that set up shop on the resort's lounge chairs under the palapa on the beach. Several ladies would camp here for hours on end, were loud, and tried to sell to anyone within earshot. I understand that the beach is public, but these vendors prevented anyone who paid to stay at the resort from using this area on the beach for a majority of the day. *I did bring this up to management before we left, and they were very apologetic, stating their usual security guards would have asked them to move.

Despite my complaints and because of the overall service we received, we would be entirely happy to stay here on our next visit to San Pedro, which will be as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Ocean front suites are worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

I have nothing but good things to say about Xanadu. They went out of their way to ensure our stay was peaceful and enjoyable. It is a great property and just a bit out of downtown. I think the distance is a good thing. We did rent a golf cart to help us with that extra mobility.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole,
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

what a lovely place, great people and wonderful accommodation, we were lucky enough to be upgraded to the largest suite, sheer luxury in a fantastic setting very near to San Pedro. the finest accommodation on Ambergris - thanks

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This place is great. Just returned from my stay there Oct 11-20.The rooms are very well kept, clean, affordable with beautiful views of the ocean or the tropical jungal gardens. The staff are friendly, courteous, prompt and prefessional. Every morning I woke up to freshly raked sand paths and swept decks. Returning from a great day of outdoor activities I found the room spotless and ready for a good nights sleep. Jamil, Franz and everyone that works there did a wonderful job of taking care of everything.

It's an easy walk to town for dining and shopping. The resort has easy access to bars, restaraunts and stores next door if you don't want to go into town. They also have access to about every tour and activity available in Belize and they do a great job of making all the arrangements. I did some scuba diving, trip to the Mayan ruins at Lamanai, fishing, snorkeling and lots of walking on the beach to town.

I also rented a golf cart and bounced my way south to the ruins of a Mayan fishing village and as far north, past the Palapa bar, as you can go.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed 5 nights in October with my 2 besties. From the initial email correspondence, to check in, through check out, the staff at Xanadu exceeded our expectations. Friendly, accommodating staff, clean rooms, beautiful grounds, Xanadu definitely raised the bar. A pleasant surprise for my first Groupon Getaway purchase. The 24 hour security helps create a safe and crime free environment. We had no issues whatsoever and truly had a vacation of a lifetime. Thank you to all the fabulous staff at Xanadu. We can't wait to return. Cissy, Jeanne & Lisa.

Room Tip: The spiral staircase in the 2 bedroom suites, may be difficult for the elderly or physically impaire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have to echo most of the compliments about this place. It isn't luxury, but it's great. Having a market within walking distance and a kitchen made breakfast super easy, and they washed our dishes for us every day. The office was fantastic and everyone is exceedingly friendly. Booking tours was effortless, and there are many options. Ask for El Gato if you do the Hol Chan/Shark Ray Alley catamaran tour! There is a very small area roped off for swimming at the end of the dock, so if you're looking for a walk out beach, this is not the place for you.The pool was not big either, but pleasant and quiet and plenty roomy for the small number of guest rooms. Plenty of places to eat within walking distance, but definitely get a golf cart one day to head up north and explore the island-especially the Palapa Bar!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xanadu Island Resort Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort Belize

Address: Sea Grape Drive | P.O. Box 109, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort Belize 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIQUE, BOUTIQUE, TRANQUIL & ROMANTIC Eco-friendly Xanadu Resort lies nestled in the natural vegetation, on the beach overlooking the 2nd largest barrier reef and the Caribbean Sea. Located a mile south of San Pedro, Xanadu is close enough to enjoy the activities of the town yet far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. Green Globe certified, Xanadu takes care of their guests, their staff, their community and their environment. Service excellence combined with the beautiful natural grounds and unique buildings draw guests to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort Belize reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xanadu Island Resort Belize, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.