We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xanadu Island Resort Belize

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Xanadu Island Resort Belize to your Saves list
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Sea Grape Drive | P.O. Box 109, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Fabulous Fall Special
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Waterford, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

I have nothing but good things to say about Xanadu. They went out of their way to ensure our stay was peaceful and enjoyable. It is a great property and just a bit out of downtown. I think the distance is a good thing. We did rent a golf cart to help us with that extra mobility.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    85
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
196
408
15
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
poole,
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

what a lovely place, great people and wonderful accommodation, we were lucky enough to be upgraded to the largest suite, sheer luxury in a fantastic setting very near to San Pedro. the finest accommodation on Ambergris - thanks

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This place is great. Just returned from my stay there Oct 11-20.The rooms are very well kept, clean, affordable with beautiful views of the ocean or the tropical jungal gardens. The staff are friendly, courteous, prompt and prefessional. Every morning I woke up to freshly raked sand paths and swept decks. Returning from a great day of outdoor activities I found the room spotless and ready for a good nights sleep. Jamil, Franz and everyone that works there did a wonderful job of taking care of everything.

It's an easy walk to town for dining and shopping. The resort has easy access to bars, restaraunts and stores next door if you don't want to go into town. They also have access to about every tour and activity available in Belize and they do a great job of making all the arrangements. I did some scuba diving, trip to the Mayan ruins at Lamanai, fishing, snorkeling and lots of walking on the beach to town.

I also rented a golf cart and bounced my way south to the ruins of a Mayan fishing village and as far north, past the Palapa bar, as you can go.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed 5 nights in October with my 2 besties. From the initial email correspondence, to check in, through check out, the staff at Xanadu exceeded our expectations. Friendly, accommodating staff, clean rooms, beautiful grounds, Xanadu definitely raised the bar. A pleasant surprise for my first Groupon Getaway purchase. The 24 hour security helps create a safe and crime free environment. We had no issues whatsoever and truly had a vacation of a lifetime. Thank you to all the fabulous staff at Xanadu. We can't wait to return. Cissy, Jeanne & Lisa.

Room Tip: The spiral staircase in the 2 bedroom suites, may be difficult for the elderly or physically impaire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have to echo most of the compliments about this place. It isn't luxury, but it's great. Having a market within walking distance and a kitchen made breakfast super easy, and they washed our dishes for us every day. The office was fantastic and everyone is exceedingly friendly. Booking tours was effortless, and there are many options. Ask for El Gato if you do the Hol Chan/Shark Ray Alley catamaran tour! There is a very small area roped off for swimming at the end of the dock, so if you're looking for a walk out beach, this is not the place for you.The pool was not big either, but pleasant and quiet and plenty roomy for the small number of guest rooms. Plenty of places to eat within walking distance, but definitely get a golf cart one day to head up north and explore the island-especially the Palapa Bar!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I can't say enough about this place. Located close to downtown, the rooms were amazing, affordabel for what you get and the staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. We ended up getting upgragraded to a 2 story 2 master bedroom 2.5 bath condo suite. Absolutly beautiful. So close to town but privte, safe and quiet. Free bike, snorkle & kyake rentals, nice pool, room and ground immaculate. I would def stay there again and recommend this place to anyone wanting a great value for your $.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

By far the best place on the island. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and oh so nice. The place is a perfect place to relax and have fun. The hotel will set up what ever tour you would like and the tour company will pick you up at the hotel's dock! We did some scuba diving and it was awesome and so easy to do. The hotel is within walking distance to great restaurants, or just grab a golf cart and tour the island. I can't say enough about the staff, we felt like we were family. This place is a must, we will be back!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xanadu Island Resort Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort Belize

Address: Sea Grape Drive | P.O. Box 109, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort Belize 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIQUE, BOUTIQUE, TRANQUIL & ROMANTIC Eco-friendly Xanadu Resort lies nestled in the natural vegetation, on the beach overlooking the 2nd largest barrier reef and the Caribbean Sea. Located a mile south of San Pedro, Xanadu is close enough to enjoy the activities of the town yet far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. Green Globe certified, Xanadu takes care of their guests, their staff, their community and their environment. Service excellence combined with the beautiful natural grounds and unique buildings draw guests to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort Belize reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xanadu Island Resort Belize, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.