We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xanadu Island Resort Belize

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Xanadu Island Resort Belize to your Saves list
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Sea Grape Drive | P.O. Box 109, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The Xanadu Island Resort is terrific. We stayed on a third floor walk up suite which I cannot praise enough. It was open, airy and full of light. It had a huge porch with a dining table, hammock and lounge chairs overlooking the pool and the ocean. The pool was large, clean and comfortable. I don’t think I have ever encountered such helpful staff when making our plans leading up to our visit, changing our plans in mid-stream and then paying our bill and checking out. The Xandu is adjacent to a bakery that provides some of the best offerings I have ever sampled. It rivals a walk to a local bakery in Paris or Barcelona each morning for fresh bread and treats. And this is in an island in paradise. The Bakery owner became my go to person for advice and insights about Ambergris Caye and Belize. Marina’s grocery store and other markets nearby enabled us to meet all of our dining needs and on the next block there is a health food store that even had GLUTEN FREE options which are hard to find even in the continental United States. The health food store was adjacent to an internet café that provided video games and cell phone access at a discount. What more could you ask for.

Room Tip: If you don't mind walking up and down stairs, we like it for a little exercise, the third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    94
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
215
434
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

You will not be dissapointed if you stay here. The staff, location, and rooms are all incredible. It's def a help that you get free bike rentals and kayaks as well - cant say enough about this place. Our stay was super and we would have liked to stay a lot longer!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband and I purchased a groupon to stay at Xanadu; we spent 8 nights there this August. It was amazing; we loved our time at Xanadu. As other people have mentioned you arrive and are greeted warmly and with a rum punch. We arrived and our room wasn’t quite ready (we were early) they held our luggage and told us where to grab lunch while we waited. When we returned we found our garden view suite to be amazing! It literally had everything and more you could ask for. The little dome not only had a view of the garden and the pool but there was an ocean view as well. It has a full kitchen with all you could need to prepare any meal. There is a little grocery store on the corner with just about anything you could need. The suite was great for my husband and I, it even felt a little big. On our last night we switched rooms (which was our choice to have an ocean view room) and the view was worth it. All the rooms have hammocks and a table and chairs to sit in, so nice.
The staff at Xanadu are mentioned time and time again in the posts and everything that is mentioned is completely true. The staff is so friendly. Jamil, Franz and Ingrid were amazing. They recommended excellent restaurants, activities and set them all up for us. We stayed while hurricane Ernesto was passing through and what might have been a stressful time for someone traveling in another country was made pleasant and stress free by the amazing staff that went above and beyond to make sure that their guests were taken care off. They acted quickly in making sure the property was safe from wind and water and made sure that they communicated with us (they posted flyers on all the doors on updates from weather centers as well as what they were doing to ensure we were safe). After the storm passed the place was cleaned up in no time and restored to the paradise that it is. The grounds are so pretty and well kept. I will say that some people selling different things, carved animals, woven backpacks and some other things walk across the beach, but they are not very pushy and didn’t bother if you didn’t want to be bothered. Another amazing plus, is that all activities using water as mode of travel pick you up at the dock, how easy is that? Also, we had never snorkled before, so we got our gear from the desk and went to the end of the dock, they have a manmade reef area and you can practice snorkeling or just swim in the water, this area is cleared of the seagrass so you can swim with ease. Also, the dock area is quite romantic at sunset.
During our stay we did many different activities all set up through the front desk. We went to Lamanai and loved it! Our favorite part of the entire trip. We went snorkeling with lil’ Alphonse – amazing. We rented a golf cart and rode around town, this is made so easy because the golf cart facility is right next door to Xanadu and the cart was ready to go when we were. We went reef fishing and caught a barracuda. All of these adventures were made easy by the fact that the front desk set it up, gave us a voucher to give to the guide or whomever, and it was added to our bill when we checked out, so much easier than going through separate places and carrying around cash.
There are so many great places to eat a short walk from Xanadu as well, from Caroline’s Kitchen, which you really must go to it was amazing, to Rico’s grill which has the most amazing ceviche (they even made it while they were closed and the storm surge from the hurricane was coming up).
Overall, this is a fantastic place to stay; by the end of our trip we were hugging our gracious hosts as we left. IThe staff at Xanadu goes above and beyond to make your stay worthwhile, relaxing, and memorable. It was so quiet and peaceful. We had an amazing time in Belize and staying at Xanadu. If you go say hello to our friends at the front desk.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend an ocean view suite 2, or the garden view suite 6. If you are traveling wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Va.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This was our second stay at Xanadu. Our first stay was in 2008, and when I called the resort to book our vacation, this summer, Blanca and Ingrid quickly remembered us. That really speaks volumes about the staff at Xanadu. They really go that extra mile to make sure your vacation is the best it can be, even remembering past guests. It makes returning feel special.

The suites are immaculate, and have all the comforts of home. We had #12, the Starfish Suite, which is a 2 bedroom suite, with a pool and ocean view. The living room and both bedrooms have televisions, which is a big plus when traveling with family. The kitchen was the best equipped kitchen, I have ever seen at a resort. You name it, it was there. You even had a blender! All of the utensils, pots, and pans were like new. Just wonderful!!!!

The white sand all around the resort was immaculate. They had the cleanest beach on the island.

We were there during Hurricane Ernesto. If you get caught in a hurricane, while vacationing in Belize, this is the place to be. The monolithic domes are hurricane proof, and can with stand high winds. They have their own electricity, and water, so you will not be inconvenienced, during the storm. The day after the storm, everything was cleaned up and running smoothly, like it never happened.

The staff will book the tours of your desire, snorkeling, diving, fishing, and inland tours.

Although Xanadu has many weddings and honeymooners at the resort, this place is fantastic for families. In fact, if you are traveling with family or friends, this is the only place to stay. The place has all the comforts of home, including an outside grill by the pool, to grill your meals. There is also an air of friendliness among the guests, that you rarely see at other resorts. As I mentioned previously, we were there during the hurricane, and the guests that were leaving were nice enough to bring us their unused groceries, and water. THANK YOU, AGAIN, TO THE WONDERFUL PEOPLE FROM TEXAS!!!!

Thanks Ingrid, Blanca, and all the Xanadu staff for an amazing stay!

P.S. While we were there, the resort was building an amazing new water feature, which should be ready soon. It will be truly amazing, built from rock formations and materials indigenous to Belize.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

To all who are interested in going to visit - i visited my family there - the atmosphere was amazing and relaxing. i loved it worth the 2 days flight to get there from south africa. the grounds are well kept and neat and all the rooms are well kept. the staff are very helpful with activities that can be done and go beyond the call of duty. a wonderful holiday and a wonderful place to visit. A brilliant place to get married cant be more romantic then there.

Room Tip: there is a gorgeos honeymoon sweet that will make any couple happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The only reason I'm not giving this resort 5 stars is because it's not luxurious however it's VERY nice and more than met our needs - honestly I'm on the fence about dropping it to 4 stars. Anyway, the resort is in a perfect location just south of downtown San Pedro, certainly a long walk or a good bike ride and we did it a few times during our 5 night stay. (Bikes included) This eco friendly resort is the perfect size, with a small staff who were always helpful and friendly. We stayed in a 1 bedroom loft style condo (unit 15), located on the second & 3rd floors of one of the domes. The condo's are nicely furnished with comfortable beds and fully equipped kitchens. My only concerns (really didn't concern me all that much because everything else was soooo enjoyable) were ants in the kitchen and low water pressure in the showers. Beware of a steep spiral staircase in the loft units. We were up and down that thing many many times over our 5 nights and it's not that bad but we did learn quickly that items can be tossed easily from the 1st floor to the 2nd floor ha ha . These units would suffice for a family or 2 couples easily(queen downstairs / king upstairs) however because it's a loft there is NO privacy for sound. It's really interesting because my boyfriend would be on the couch watching TV downstairs and I would be in bed upstairs reading and we could talk to each other as if we were on the couch together - freaked me out a few times.

As others have stated, the pool is beautiful and we also enjoyed using the BBQ grill - it's a huge beautiful grill with a bar and stools around - would be fun for couples! They also have a really nice dock. We snorkeled from the dock one afternoon although not a lot to see.

I highly recommend Xanadu and would stay there again. A couple last tips - there is a store right at the entrance to the property and they are good to shop at for anything they have, prices are just fine! There is also a fruit stand just a few doors down too. Xanadu provide water however we learned that they charge for water, it's convenient.

Room Tip: This is a small resort, I'm sure all of the condos are equally in a great location however some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We chose Xanadu after reading the tripadvisor reviews for the Ambergris Caye area. Our experience was exceptional and exceeded our expectations. Before we even left home, our email communication with Ingrid and Blanca was very responsive and helpful. We had envisioned staying in a loft on the second floor, but Blanca “upgraded” us to a first floor suite which was just beautiful. We enjoyed everything about it. We had brought all kinds of bug repellent but never saw a bug in our suite - perhaps the time of year (July) made a difference? The staff was so responsive meeting our needs; specifically we really appreciated being able to have the water containers and dispensers in our kitchen (filled up our small bottles to take with us daily); the housekeeping staff kept our suite spotless and everything was in order when we would get back from our daily treks. We liked that there wasn’t a restaurant or bar on the property as it was so peaceful and quiet. It is very easy to get to bars/restaurants down the beach - either walking or riding one of the Xanadu bikes. Being in town is also such a convenience - everyday we walked to get fresh baked bread, fresh fruit, and other groceries.

We had read that pick-ups for adventures was done at the end of the Xanadu dock which is true, convenient, and very fun. Of special note is how much help Ingrid was with our tours. We were always talking with her about where to go and then she set us with the BEST tour guides/groups. We would highly recommend trusting her suggestions. We went to Hol Chan and shark ray alley twice as the first trip was amazing and the second was even better (Ingrid set us up with Lil Alphonse). Our visit to the ruins was to Lamanai and we just had such an incredible experience seeing the Maya structures and culture. Our tour guide had grown up on the river; he was so knowledgeable that the vision of the Mayans came alive for us. To top it off, his mother had prepared our lunch which was the best chicken I have ever eaten along with rice and beans. AND we got to see spider and howler monkeys in the wild. I could only dream of spending weeks sitting amongst the ruins and learning more of the Maya people. Many Kudos to Ingrid for her tour connections.

Room Tip: Communicate with Xanadu staff and they will match you up with the best suite for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xanadu Island Resort Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort Belize

Address: Sea Grape Drive | P.O. Box 109, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort Belize 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIQUE, BOUTIQUE, TRANQUIL & ROMANTIC Eco-friendly Xanadu Resort lies nestled in the natural vegetation, on the beach overlooking the 2nd largest barrier reef and the Caribbean Sea. Located a mile south of San Pedro, Xanadu is close enough to enjoy the activities of the town yet far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. Green Globe certified, Xanadu takes care of their guests, their staff, their community and their environment. Service excellence combined with the beautiful natural grounds and unique buildings draw guests to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort Belize reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xanadu Island Resort Belize, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.