We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, relaxing spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xanadu Island Resort Belize

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Xanadu Island Resort Belize to your Saves list
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Sea Grape Drive | P.O. Box 109, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Rooms: Spacious and comfortable. Clean with very functional and well equipped kitchens. Nice patio with hammock. Also--they have their own electricity generator which was a big bonus when most of the island lost power for almost 24 hours during our visit. Other hotels were without electricity and some also without running water (due to electric pumps)! So we were very thankful for this.

Location: A good spot along the beach--close enough to other restaurants to walk, but a little away from the bustling center of town. Convenient grocery store just 1 short block down that has most necessities. A dinner at the Victoria House is a lovely treat, and they will send a golf cart to pick you up and bring you back.

Grounds: Beautiful with lots of palm trees. The swimming pool is incredibly warm--truly like a bath tub. Swimming off the dock is also great. A lovely spot to dive in. There is very good snorkeling around and beneath the dock. We saw tons of colorful fish, a ray, and an eel right in the resort swim area.

Excursions: We did 2 excellent snorkel trips: Shark Ray Alley and the Tres Cocos trips. Both were great. We saw beautiful coral and sea life, sharks, rays, dolphins, and a sea turtle.

Staff: Friendly, attentive, and professional.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    99
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
231
455
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

OVERALL:
Xanadu is a well maintained, comfortable place to stay, just a little over a mile south of the center of San Pedro. It's not far from things, but still feels secluded. The staff are great, the units are well equipped, the pool area is gorgeous, and their pier is very convenient for excursions.

LOCATION:
Xanadu is located 1.1 miles south of the center of San Pedro. This is about a 25 minute walk along the beach, or a 10 minute golf-cart ride along the paved street. The area between Xanadu and town is fully developed, though, so you do not need to walk all the way to the town center to find a restaurant, bar, or store. I stayed 7 nights and only had a golf-cart one day. This is in contrast to the north side of the island, which is less developed and the spaces between establishments are more stretched out. North of town, a golf-cart would be mandatory.

Arguably the cheapest grocery store on the island (though they are all pretty expensive) is Marina's, which is located right next door to Xanadu.

ROOMS:
The units are built as thick, concrete "dome" structures to withstand hurricanes. This makes for an interesting, curved interior space. Most of the units have plenty of windows, though unless you have a beach facing unit, the amount of light coming in will be limited by the canopy of trees and the other units.

The unit I stayed in was very clean and spacious. The kitchen was fully equipped, the showers always had hot water, the central air conditioning worked well enough to cool the entire place, and the LCD TV had lots of (standard def) satellite channels. There was a hammock and a table/chairs on the porch.

There is daily maid service, which includes washing your dishes.

The only problem was the lack of wi-fi in the room. Despite being told that wi-fi was available in all of the rooms, this was not the case (I was in unit 16). Fortunately, there was a hardwired internet cable to hook up my laptop next to the couch. This worked great. The wi-fi worked fine by the pool or even (weakly) at the beach. Maybe my room was unique or maybe one of the many routers was down, but if in-room wi-fi is important to you, you might want to call and double check.

RESTAURANT/BAR:
Xanadu does not have a bar or restaurant. Some would say that this means that they are not technically a full "resort," but with a full kitchen in the room and restaurants and bars within walking distance, I did not mind at all.

GROUNDS:
The Xanadu resort was built in such a way as to leave the trees in-place. This makes for a very shaded, forest feel to the resort. The resort is also far enough back from the street to make it very secluded and quiet. There is a bird sanctuary on site, which involves a short elevated walk into the tree canopy, about 15 feet above the ground.

The only downside to all of the greenery is the presence of mosquitoes and no-see-ums. Though bugs are almost everywhere on the island, the Xanadu environment is probably a little worse than average due to the shade and the wind break. The pool area seemed more clear of bugs in the middle of the day, but sitting in the porch hammock was an invitation to become lunch.

POOL:
The resort is fairly small, so the pool, front desk, or beach are only steps away from any of the units. The pool is gorgeous, heated, and is surrounded by plenty of comfortable lounge chairs.

BEACH:
The beachfront is, like most of the places on the island, a seawall with sand behind it. Ambergris Caye is not Miami Beach. If you want to swim, you are better off going to the end of the pier, past the sea grass. Still, the ocean view is great. Sitting on a beach chair in the sand or at the palapa at the end of the pier, you will not be left wanting.

There is also a small, roped-off area for swimming/snorkeling at the end of the pier. However, there is not much to see at this spot. You really need to get out to the reef to experience decent snorkeling.

SERVICES:
The Xanadu staff will arrange excursions, provide golf cart rentals (expensive), and snorkel equipment rental. They also provide purified water for about $1US/gallon. Beach towels, kayaks, and bicycles (daytime only) are free to guests.

The staff were always helpful and friendly.

SECURITY:
San Pedro did not strike me as a dangerous place. Still, the number of police and security guards on the island indicate that they want to keep it that way. I always saw a couple of guys patroling the grounds at Xanadu day and night.

VALUE:
I stayed during the off-season, so the rates on Ambergris were lower. After comparing with many other resorts, Xanadu seemed to be appropriately priced for what they offered.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We stayed at Xanadu for 5 days at the beginning of December, and were married on the beach on the third day.

The day of travel from Canada was quite long and tiring, so next time I would definitely fly to the island rather than taking the water taxi. We just managed to catch the last water taxi, too, due to a delayed connecting flight in Houston. Once we arrived, Brian was most helpful in getting us settled into our rooms and trying to help us find a nearby restaurant that was still open (without going into town). In the end, we ended up having baloney sandwiches, so I would also recommend using the hotel's service of stocking the fridge before arrival.

The pool is lovely and heated and my 4-year-old son spent many hours in it learning to swim with water wings and use a mask and snorkel that we got from the activity window. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

The wedding itself was everything I had hoped it would be. Blanca has a real eye for detail, including slipping my mother-in-law a tissue during the ceremony. The flowers and arch were gorgeous. Blanca and Ingrid also arranged dinner for us at Victoria House, which included being picked up and brought back to Xanadu.

It was very hard to leave Xanadu and San Pedro. Next time, we will probably stay longer and take excursions from the island rather than transferring to the mainland.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Xanadu Island Resort, Ambergris Caye, Belize.
Having read so many reviews of Xanadu, ours I know may be superfluous....

We chose to try Xanadu after watching Samantha Brown's TV show, and loved it! The setting and location are terrific, with views of the reef, and a lovely walk to San Pedro. The pleasant, well-equipped suites surround an inviting, heated pool nestled in an oceanside garden setting. The owners are working to keep the units current with a program of updates.

The staff is an excellent team of friendly men and women who do their best to make your stay a great one. Orlando and his team keep the grounds looking great. He is always ready to help with kayaks and local info--and your stupidly over-packed bags! Ingrid and Blanca keep the office organized, and do a great job booking anything from reef tours to Tropic Air tickets to anniversary dinners at Victoria House. Last visit we met Jamil, who organized the sporting outings, but will no doubt be helping in the office by now. Eerily, Samantha has been given a permanent position in the office as well! Under Martin's supervision, the place has run well, and with purpose. We congratulate them on their Green status, and encourage others to follow their lead.

When we had flight delay problems last winter, and arrived 2 days late, the staff tried their best to adjust our dates. Although we were very upset when a problem with data-processing trashed those plans, Martin made it up to us. It is important to feel valued as clients, and we do.

We always enjoy the reef tours--go with the guide staff recommends--he is an excellent source of information. Lil' ALfonso takes you to great sea life. Guaranteed. The night snorkeling was worth the cost, but I suggest a light/short wetsuit.

If you are looking for a quiet getaway on the ocean away from the bustle of town and lots of kids and partying folk, Xanadu is a great option. We have returned twice since our first visit and have booked yet another visit. Often when things at home get hectic or seem a tad overwhelming, it is to Xanadu we daydream about escaping.

Room Tip: All rooms can see the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

My husband and I vacations at Xanadu for the week of December 3rd through the 9th. We really were impressed with all the little details as well as the overwhelming natural beauty of the resort. They have gone to great lengths to keep the nature preserved with still providing a luxury experience. The kitchen was set up with every amenity that you can imagine and the apartment itself also had everything you could possibly want and need. The robes were a very nice touch. The pool was heated which was also a nice difference. So many places advertise “heated pool” but it never is, this was. These are all wonderful things, but you can receive these things from most 4 star accommodations but what really sets this place apart is the staff. Everyone that works here is so very nice and helpful and interactive. Our stay was so enhanced by the people. There was never a time in which when we were walking around that there was not a “hello how is everything”. The housekeepers were so attentive and did a great job and the office staff made sure that all the side-trips we wanted to take were set up with meticulous timing and we had a great time. The trip packages were professional and very reasonably prices and were so enjoyed. We do have to single out a few of our favorite employees that were of a especially great help to us. First Ingrid was so great and put up with our continuous barrage of questions; she was always there with helpful suggestions and made sure our time on the island was spent well and then there is Orlando. Well he was there with a helping hand and gave us suggestion on some great eateries and also allowed us to have fresh coconuts and just was always so friendly. We also met the on-site property manager which was very refreshing and as a property manager myself I can tell you that the facility maintenance was kept up and there were always some improvements that were taking place. It can be a daunting task to up recreational facilities, but they have done so and more. We could not recommend this resort any higher and we did go and look a couple other properties while we were on the island, and we can only say we think we made the best decision for our vacation and would stay there again. Thank you Xanadu for our week in paradise.

Room Tip: second floor #6 has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

we stayed at xanadu at the beginning of december. Excellent stay overall ! only bad thing we need to leave the place to come back home ! Resort is really clean and well maintain. The staff very helpfull and friendly will fill all your need. Buy tours at the front desk you will have no problem at all, dont buy outside resort even if it's cheaper not worth it ! Pool is really nice and always warm. You have also a nice dock.we book room number 2 excellent choice ! will come back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

The people here at this resort are genuinely good people. They aren't trying to sell you anything, or put on airs with you. They welcome you as if you were family, and the feeling continues throughout your stay. Everyone deserves a medal, but honorable mention goes out to Blanca, Ingrid, and Jamil (just for starters). It doesn't matter which room you get, you will be impressed. full kitchen with full range stove and oven. 2 bedrooms with bathrooms in each room. you could split this room with another couple and still enjoy your privacy.

Room Tip: You must go to Estele's for breakfast at least once. Have a Bloody Mary or Mimosa with your mea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.7 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 838 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.9 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#24 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#12 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 970 reviews
8.2 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
6.2 mi away
Matachica Beach Resort
Matachica Beach Resort
#15 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort Belize

Address: Sea Grape Drive | P.O. Box 109, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort Belize 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIQUE, BOUTIQUE, TRANQUIL & ROMANTIC Eco-friendly Xanadu Resort lies nestled in the natural vegetation, on the beach overlooking the 2nd largest barrier reef and the Caribbean Sea. Located a mile south of San Pedro, Xanadu is close enough to enjoy the activities of the town yet far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. Green Globe certified, Xanadu takes care of their guests, their staff, their community and their environment. Service excellence combined with the beautiful natural grounds and unique buildings draw guests to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort Belize reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xanadu Island Resort Belize, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.