We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Exotic Caye Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Exotic Caye Beach Resort to your Saves list
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   South Coconut Drive | PO Box 11, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
WATERLOO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

Everyone and everything was SUPER. from the minute we checked in to the minute we left. Everyone is so friendly and helpful and goes above and beyond what is asked.
We stayed in unit 6 D we has a Great ocean view and pool view and a really comfortable bed.
I highly recommend this place to anyone who wants a relaxing trip with Super service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    69
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
25
108
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

My story is a little unique. My girlfriend and I went to San Pedro with a guy that I was seeing, and things didnt exactly work out. So after a few days of this he decided that us girls had to go, and since he had paid for our room we really did have to go!! Being the social butterflies that we are we had made friends with the people that run the dive shop at Exotic Caye the first day we were there, so we asked them if they knew a place for cheap we could stay for the duration of our stay. They did. Exotic Caye Beach Resort. They hooked us up with "The MAN" who let us stay there for $50 a NIGHT!! And we got maid service!!! Dont get excited people, we only got that rate because they were temporarily closed due to a recent hurricane. The pool was not in working condition, there was no phone, the television didnt work, there was bugs, and we had to share a bed. But WHO CARES. Youre in BELIZE. The only thing Ive experienced more amazing and surreal next to being here and swimming five feet from giant sea turtles and hiking thru the jungle for hours to see history is when I saw the Dali Lama. There was a hot shower, a bed to sleep in, good food for cheap, and lastly the best seafood I've ever had, and I grew up in Florida. So to all the whiners out there let me give you a little advice if you want Cancun, go to Cancun. And a quick question, ''Why do you go to foreign countries and want and/or expect American amenities?"

  • Liked — It was clean
  • Disliked — I had to leave it
  • Stayed November 2004, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, NY USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

I found Exotic Caye Beach Resort to be rustic and quaint. Although not posh, the staff more than makes up for that. I arrived to have Evalee know who I was immediately and call me by name. She and Rose were always there when I needed something or wanted to make reservations for an activity. Ali was at Crazy Canucks every night to make up our favorite drinks. Our room was cleaned up every morning and clean towels were left. The frig and mircowave in the kichenette were clean and dishes were available in the cupboard. India was always sweet and friendly when we stopped at Monkey Bites for breakfast or lunch and they had yummy food. All the resort units face the beach and the pool is right there in front, it's an absolutely beautiful view and the pool was pristine and refreshing. A little way out from the beach you'll run into some short seagrass. If you really want to swim, to the left you'll see Woody's Wharf...there's a deck at the end with chairs, shaded area and hammock. The swimming area is clear of seaweed, about 4' 10" deep at the stairs and roped off. We were lucky enough to see a sting ray swim in and out of the area one day. Look for sea horses clinging to the ropes dangling on the boat docks. Our second floor room had a real palm roof, which I thought was fun...even when we got a little palm debris on the floor one night after some really heavy wind. I would approximate Exotic Caye to be about 3/4 of a mile from town, it's an easy walk along the beach. You might consider bringing a flashlight to walk the beach at night because some areas are fairly dark. I never felt threatened or unsafe at anytime while I was in San Pedro. The people are smiling and kind and willing to help you. There are loads of shops and restaurants within easy walking distance and you can eat fairly cheaply. On the street side of Exotic Caye you'll find a grocery store a short walk down the road. If you're looking for fancy, schmancy, Exotic Caye is not for you, but it's down home and friendly as can be. Afterall, when you're in paradise why would you stay holed up in a hotel room? I would stay there again in a heartbeat. One last plug...if you want to go on an excursion, check out Sea-rious Adventures, they're located on the beach side of Wild Mango Restaurant. We went to Lamanai with Aaron and Carlos as our guides and snorkeled Hol Chan and Shark Ray with Martin John and Ralph before sailing on to Caye Caulker for the afternoon. These guides were amazingly knowledgeable, kind, friendly and rightly proud of their country and way of life. I felt like they existed just to impart interesting information and make sure I had fun. Safety was of the utmost importance and they made sure I was well fed and hydrated with water, soda, beer or rum punch. You can't beat it! So go on a Sea-rious Adventure!

  • Liked — The kindness of the staff.
  • Disliked — The rooms needed to be upgraded.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

We stayed at Exotic Caye beach resort from 2/24/08 to 3/2/08. We stayed in a Standard 1-bedroom, unit 5A (ground level); our friends were in 4A (deluxe 2-bedroom) and 5B (standard 1-bedroom). Everyone was extremely happy with our accomodations. Our unit was mostly hidden behind lush tropical foliage, yet we had a wonderful cooling breeze when sitting on our porch. We had a kitchen with a mini-frig, stove, microwave, coffee maker and dishes. There was a dining table & chairs and a sofa and coffee table in the living area. The air conditioner was in the large bedroom and cooled the whole unit. Our bathroom was small, with just a shower, but it was ok for us. It was spotlessly clean, and the housekeeping staff worked hard to keep everything fresh, clean, and always stocked with plenty of towels! We never saw any bugs, except some ants on the porch when we dripped orange juice (we washed them away with water). We had a grocery service stock our kitchen with beverages and snacks before we arrived, which was wonderful - we had cold beer when we got to the resort!

The resort is so nice - the staff is always grooming the beach to remove the seaweed that washes up. By the way, this happens everywhere on the beaches of Ambergris Caye, because of the barrier reef. Yes, some parts of the beach have trash on hem also, but not at Exotic Caye. There are hammocks and plenty of plastic lounge chairs on the beach, as well as loungers around the pool. The pool was clean, and we did not see any type of disrepair. Several of us in our group used the pool every day, and were very happy with it. The dive operator, Ocean Adventure Tours, was awesome! We dove 4 days with Bondy and Joe, and most of the time we were the only divers so we basically had a private guide. They offer all sorts of tours to the mainland, as well as scuba and snorkel trips. Even when the weather got rough toward the end of the week, they were able to take us to some nice dive sites.

The restaurant, Monkey Bites, was a great place to eat breakfast! The food was excellent - we especially enjoyed the One-Pan Ham Scramble and the Cinnamon French Toast. The average prices were $12-14 belizean, which is $6-7 US dollar. They also served lunch till 3:00 pm daily, but we never got a chance to try their lunch menu. The restaurant is closed on Sunday.

We went to Crazy Canuck's several times, but it never seemed to be as busy or active as we expected, except for Saturday night when Dennis Wolfe was playing, and Jerry Jeff Walker dropped in to sing with Dennis. That was the only time the bar was hopping. We saw more activity at BCs Beach Bar, and Wet Willy's (even on the nights Jerry Jeff Walker wasn't playing there!). It wasn't that big a deal - I bought 2 cases of beer for our condo because it was less expensive than drinking in the bars.

We rented a golf cart to get around the island. We went into town several times, and went to the ends of the island, so it was handy to have a cart. There were a couple of grocery stores near the resort, and an Internet cafe around the corner.

Without a doubt, we would stay here again. Its the perfect combination of a great beach for relaxation, enough space to unpack and live in the condo for a week, and close to town if you want restaurants and shopping. We love Ambergris Caye, and can't wait to come back to Exotic Caye!

  • Liked — comfortable, casual, and quiet
  • Disliked — having to go home.....
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2008

They told us that they were a 3 star resort with a 5 star attitude and they lived up to their promise. The 2-bedroom villa came complete with a full kitchen and dining area and suited our needs perfectly. When we weren't taking advantage of the superb diving, we enjoyed the Crazy Canuck Bar onsite or the Roadkill Bar across the road. The tiny but friendly Monkey Bites Cafe was a must for breakfast. We would gladly return.

Stephen Burns
Toronto

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia beach, virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2008

Exotic Caye is in much need of repair. A list of pros and cons as follows:

Pros:
Monkey Bites Cafe a real treat for breakfast and lunch, staff very friendly.
The bar located on beach, great drinks and staff.
Rooms are clean.

Cons:
Peeling paint and rotten wood on trim and railings.
Ants in living/kitchen and bathroom (spray provided by staff).
6 plastic deck chairs (no cushions), 3 wooden chairs (1broken)for full hotel.
A very old, uncomfortable futon the only piece of furniture in living/kitchen area. No table or chairs. Ordered pizza, ate in our laps. Bedroom had an old dresser missing knobs.
No ocean view, blocked by the large plastic pool, (other rooms did have ocean views).
Grounds very unkept. I compared it with several other resorts, Exotic Caye by far the worst.
There is a newer building which appears to be much nicer. If you decide to stay at Exotic Caye, make it very clear you want the newer accomodation, or you will be very disappointed.
We were required to stay 7nights, at premium rates because it was Christmas. Upon check-in I told the clerk I just could not stay in these conditions for a week, her reply was, sorry its all we have. At no time during the duration of our trip did they attempt to move us.

  • Liked — cleaning staff, cafe and bar staff
  • Disliked — accommodation itself, no ocean view
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

Our vacation was to be from December 24, 2007 through January 3, 2008 and after 3 days we wanted out. The kitchen had ants, our bedroom had ants, and we had ants in our bed. The appliances did not work. The pool was plastic and it's surrond was coming apart. The resort outdoor lounge furniture consisted of two broken wooden chaise lounge chairs, and then some plastic lounge chairs. There were no pads for the outdoor furniture as one would expect at a "resort". The beach was dirty. Our place reeked of mold. The entire resort has not been kept up and has been terribly storm damaged. We saw no evidence of any intention to put this place back to any kind of "resort". Exotic Caye Resort boast of an on site Message Therapist, (there was none). The restaurant "Monkey Bites" is only open until about 3pm, it is dirty with fly's every where and the food is nothing to mention.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belizeitfun, Manager at Exotic Caye Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2008
While we do not respond to any reviews, out of respect for ones own opinion, we must set the record straight on this one. Not one of the couple came to the office any time with a complaint. The husband/boyfriend came to the office to book tours, rent golf carts two or three times only to cancel within the hour each time. He indicated that his spouse/girlfriend was ill and needed to rest. We offered to make a doctor's visit for her but he refused. Each time any of the staff saw him, we never saw her, they asked whether everything was okay and if they could be of any assistance but he said no everything is fine. They refused housekeeping service each day, which is against management policy. They decided to leave on the 3rd day due to her health. We helped to change their flights and the office showed genuine concern. After their departure the housekeepers went in and found an accumulation of open food items on counters, food crumbs and dirty dishes throughout the unit. Yes there were ants everywhere due to the mess building up over their stay. The unit was immediately fumigated.
San Pedro and Belize is not for everybody. They expected a Cancun and were obviously disappointed.
Thank you for allowing our response to this review.
I believe all our staff did everything possible for this couple.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Exotic Caye Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exotic Caye Beach Resort

Address: South Coconut Drive | PO Box 11, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#32 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Exotic Caye Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exotic Caye Beach Resort is a place full of perfect moments. All suites of Exotic Caye's Resort are set in a tropical ambiance with ocean views. Enjoy the tranquility of a relaxing massage. Soak up the sun. Lounge peacefully in an oceanfront hammock. Smell the fresh air. Dance the night away at Crazy Canuck's Beach Bar, take a Yoga class, workout, snorkel, dive, fish or simply do nothing at all. Our staff makes sure this is a vacation you will never forget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Exotic Caye Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exotic Caye Beach Hotel San Pedro
Hotel Exotic Caye Beach
Exotic Caye Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exotic Caye Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.