We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, wonderful staff, and cozy accommodations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Exotic Caye Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Exotic Caye Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
South Coconut Drive | PO Box 11, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 56 Hotels in San Pedro
Vail, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing location, wonderful staff, and cozy accommodations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was me and my wife's first trip to Ambergris Caye- We went on the trip with an open mind, not really sure what to expect, other than the beach, the ocean and the sun! When we first arrived, we were very pleased to see how close we were to the water, just steps from our unit. Just to let everyone know- there is no swimming right off the beach. However, all docks are open to the public and they are great to swim/snorkel around. There are also a few spots within walking distance that have a beach you can walk into the water. The staff of Exotic Caye was overly helpful and friendly, and made us feel at home as soon as we arrived. Our room had a perfect view- there are about 5-6 thatched 2 story "houses", each with 2 units on top, 2 on bottom- they all seemed to be angled perfectly, maximizing privacy and optimal view. Because of the way it's set up, its easy to meet other guests at the resort and make friends. The rooms themselves have just about everything you need- living space, kitchen, air conditioned bed room, bath, and deck. Ours even had a loft! Just know that things are very basic, sometimes out dated, but, taking into account that nothing on the island is "fancy", you get used to it quick. Honestly, you just need a little sense of adventure! For us, within 12 hrs we were in love with this place, and irrationally talking about moving to this simple paradise. Another thing that makes Exotic Caye so special is that everything you need is within walking distance- a fruit stand and a grocery store right out back, MELT, an amazing restaurant featuring breakfast and lunch located steps from our room, Crazy Canucks, a great bar featuring live music right on site, and a multitude of different restaurants and bars up and down the beach to explore! The resort is very professionally run and the staff are great. They were very helpful in planning various activities around the island and very accommodating to our every need. The housekeepers did an amazing job at keeping our room clean and homey and were always smiling! The groundskeepers did an awesome job at making the resort look great, along with sharing some enlightening conversations and laughs. Locals on the island are genuinely friendly and helpful- they seem to really want you to enjoy their island as much as they do! My wife and I had an amazing time at Exotic Caye! We would highly recommend it and look forward to our return!

Room Tip: Get a room on the 2nd floor- the thatched roofs really make your experience that much more unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    64
    17
    9
    6
See reviews for
25
98
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, TN USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Exotic Caye is not the fanciest place on Ambergris Caye but has a terrific location and outstanding staff. The new restaurant is also a winner. The staff does a great job of arranging for local trips and attractions. The activities at Crazy Canucks bar allow for opportunities to make new friends. The on-site yoga studio was a treat as well.

Cannot emphasize enough the graciousness and helpfulness of the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the bedroom does not overlook the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Our trip to San Pedro was our best trip ever and our stay at Exotic Caye made it perfect. Firstly, the staff are all amazing and friendly and helpful. It is a lovely small, cozy, clean and comforable resort. It was everything we needed and wanted. The beach started just one step off of our condo porch, what more could you ask for!! Their new restaurant on site: Melts is amazing!! A great place for breaky to start your day or a quick lunch. The location of the resort is perfect. There are many restaurants right in the general vacinity. I would recommend: Pepperonis pizza, George's Kitchen and Pinocchio (all basically across the street and down a block) If you want to go to a beach front restaurant there are many just a 15 min walk down the beach in town. Crazy Canucks beach bar is by far a ton of fun. Always lots of tourists, locals or expats there to socialize with. I loved the horseshoe tournament on Sunday afternoons along with the live band: Gino and the Shack Shakers. A huge thank you to: Kelly the GM who is always smiling, the office staff who will organize anything for you, Josie who kept our room very clean, Mailtland and Ben who always offered some conversation and kept us smiling and laughing, Indie who works at Melts who was so friendly, and of course Jane the resident cat. I hope I did not forget anyone. We will be back next year and hope to stay a month. You couldnt ask for a more comfortable, clean, convenient and friendly place. Also there is a grocery store across the street to stock up on anything for your room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our first trip to this little island paradise was fantastic. This hotel is very quiet and calm, except for their live band nights which I describe later. We are easy walking distance to just about everything we need, as explained by our hotel guide when we got here. We were in the office for about 30 second and a nice gentleman came and took our luggage to our room. As like most places next to the sea, the room shows it on metal parts and some wood work. Plumbing pipes are also sometimes hard to work when you are just steps from the sea but our guide explained how to get the most out of our room. Highly recommend Pepper Oni's for VERY good american pizza just in case you want a change. Crazy Canuks bar here on the property is full of locals who will point out all the great spots you must visit when you are here. We ate, fished and snorkeled our entire five days here and we really don't want to leave. It is very easy to get into the rhythm of the island and the local vibe here is amazing. We have a wonderful time and are busy plotting our next trip!

Room Tip: Most rooms have a kitchen but our Honeymoon Suite did not. Crazy Canuks bar has live bands on Sunday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My wife and I went here in 2012 over the Christmas holiday. It was one of the best trips we have ever been on. First the resort is a great place to stay. Easy access to everything on the island and I would encourage you to rent a golf cart and explore as far as you can. The staff was also extremely friendly and accommodating. By the end of the trip, most everyone knew our names and would always say hi anytime they saw us walking by.

The rooms are clean and comfortable as well. With nice balconies or decks to sit on. All of the rooms look right out onto the beach and ocean so there isn't a bad spot in the lot (from what I could tell).

Then there is of course Crazy Canucks bar which isn't even run by Canadians. This was the first place we went to grab a drink and simple bite of food. Of course, one drink turned into two and two into three and so on. Until I realized I didn't have enough cash to pay the full bill. I mentioned this to the bartender (owner) and he just said, come back and pay me when you have the money. That was when I knew the island life was for me.

I would recommend you go and visit Ambergris any chance you get. The island is beautiful, you are close to Hol Chan and people are all so friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I come to San Pedro often-and just a few months started going to Tara's Yoga Studio located next to Exotic Caye. She is a gem: the yoga classes are the best I have attended, ever which is saying a lot. She is professional, the room is clean with mats and water and blocks/straps and a bathroom. Tara pays attention to each participant, whether beginner or advanced. Cannot recommend this enough..I'd give it over-the-top ratings. The only issue I see is that the yoga classes aren't advertised that much so it took a friend staying at a hotel to bring it to my attention.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Tara leads a beautiful practice. The yoga room has a delightfully warm room temperature so the muscles open up nicely. The view overlooking the palms and water is exactly what I wanted while practicing on the island. The class was gentle, yet challenging and appropriate for all levels. Water, mats and blocks are provided so you can still travel lightly. This is a great stop for the traveling yogi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Exotic Caye Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exotic Caye Beach Resort

Address: South Coconut Drive | PO Box 11, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#26 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exotic Caye Beach Resort is a place full of perfect moments. All suites of Exotic Caye's Resort are set in a tropical ambiance with ocean views. Enjoy the tranquility of a relaxing massage. Soak up the sun. Lounge peacefully in an oceanfront hammock. Smell the fresh air. Dance the night away at Crazy Canuck's Beach Bar, take a Yoga class, workout, snorkel, dive, fish or simply do nothing at all. Our staff makes sure this is a vacation you will never forget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com and Otel so you can book your Exotic Caye Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exotic Caye Beach Hotel San Pedro
Hotel Exotic Caye Beach
Exotic Caye Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exotic Caye Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.