We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yoga: The Best In the World, no kidding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Exotic Caye Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Exotic Caye Beach Resort to your Saves list
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
South Coconut Drive | PO Box 11, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
San Pedro
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Yoga: The Best In the World, no kidding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I come to San Pedro often-and just a few months started going to Tara's Yoga Studio located next to Exotic Caye. She is a gem: the yoga classes are the best I have attended, ever which is saying a lot. She is professional, the room is clean with mats and water and blocks/straps and a bathroom. Tara pays attention to each participant, whether beginner or advanced. Cannot recommend this enough..I'd give it over-the-top ratings. The only issue I see is that the yoga classes aren't advertised that much so it took a friend staying at a hotel to bring it to my attention.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    65
    17
    9
    6
See reviews for
25
100
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Tara leads a beautiful practice. The yoga room has a delightfully warm room temperature so the muscles open up nicely. The view overlooking the palms and water is exactly what I wanted while practicing on the island. The class was gentle, yet challenging and appropriate for all levels. Water, mats and blocks are provided so you can still travel lightly. This is a great stop for the traveling yogi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didsbury, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at Exotic Caye from Dec. 13 - Jan. 3. Upon arrival, we were greeted by name and welcomed like we were family. Out of nowhere, a young man showed up and took our luggage to our room. We were given information on where to buy groceries, the fitness club we could use by showing our room key, restaurants to frequent and a run down on the bar, pool and such on the premises. We were then taken to our room and given a run down on everything in there. The next morning, Kelly came to our room to introduce herself and make sure all was okay. We met Josie and Nellie, the housekeeping staff, and they too welcomed us. Between the two of them, our "house" was spotless every day. Ben, Mait and Ally are the groundskeepers/maintenance staff that keep everything running smoothly. Every concern you might have is adressed immediately and professionally. After spending 21 days there, I can find nothing that wasn't top notch. We will definately be back and will be recommending Exotic Caye to everyone. It is truly a home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at Exotic Caye in January, 2012 and are returning Feb. 1-10th,2013 with a group of friends (4 couples). The location is great and the staff is friendly and helpful. While the units are older, our room was clean and spacious and I had no problem recommending the resort to my friends who have not visited the island previously. The staff can assist you with a golf cart rental which is a MUST for exploring San Pedro. Good luck and pleasant journneys to all fellow travellers! Tom D

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We went to SCUBA dive (fantastic) and utilized the dive shop on the property, Discovery Expeditions (see other review). The resort is a mixture of older and newer rooms. It's not a five star resort, but I think it was a good deal for what we paid. I had a room with a kitchenette in it for several days, and then moved to a different room as the staff was doing work on the building I had been in. The rooms are very basic and have seen some use, but the staff kept them very clean. As some people have said previously, there is a karaoke bar across the street so if you are in some rooms (like building 5) you might have to listen to them on Wednesday nights. The property is kept very neat. The beach is open to anyone wanting to walk through so there tends to be a lot of transient traffic. The staff were great. They took care of everything we needed and seemed to work hard at keeping the whole property clean. There is wi-fi available if you need to send e-mails back home. There are a few little stores within walking distance so you can grab groceries. Each room has a small refrigerator. After our flight landed in Belize City, we took a water taxi to Ambergris Caye. We arrived at about 7:30 pm and the hotel office had already closed. This caused a minor problem, but the staff soon got our rooms for us and we were set. If I had to do it again, I would have taken the 15 minute puddle hopper flight (Tropic Air or Maya Island Air) and saved the 75+ minute boat ride. It's a little more money to fly, but it seems to be less of a hassle. Also, if you take the water taxi back to Belize City at the end of the trip, be prepared to be hassled by people wanting to sell you things at the water taxi terminal, as well as the (car) taxi drivers fighting over who gets to take you to the airport. We grabbed our bags and walked out to where the taxis were. Most of the drivers wanted $25(US) to take us to the airport, but they started bidding against each other. We let them do it until it got to a price we liked. Overall, it is a good place to stay if you aren't expecting 4-5 star accomodations.

Room Tip: The "honeymoon suites" are located closest to the beach and farthest away from the karaoke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The rooms themselves are nothing too special...but if you are going to Ambergris Caye, hopefully the point of your trip is not to stay in the hotel rooms. The actual resort is BEAUTIFUL, with a beach that opens right to the Caribbean and hammocks that you can lay in and relax. The staff is beyond friendly, they were nothing but helpful for my boyfriend and me. We also got free snorkeling with a small upgrade to go snorkel Hol Chan (which was my favorite part of the trip!). Rhonda was super helpful in helping us get tour operators for all our adventures. We also got free breakfast everyday at George's Kitchen, which is way better than any continental breakfast I've ever had at a hotel. We even made friends with the extremely friendly resort live-in cat (and I don't even like cats!). All in all, this place is great if you want to surround yourself with a relaxing environment, with great people, for an amazing vacation in Belize.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Like I said the place is old, the value is great. My point is if all you do is sleep there, it is a great place. The news is it will be torn down soon and replaced so they aren't making many improvements. Kelly worked hard for us and the staff is wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Exotic Caye Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exotic Caye Beach Resort

Address: South Coconut Drive | PO Box 11, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#26 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exotic Caye Beach Resort is a place full of perfect moments. All suites of Exotic Caye's Resort are set in a tropical ambiance with ocean views. Enjoy the tranquility of a relaxing massage. Soak up the sun. Lounge peacefully in an oceanfront hammock. Smell the fresh air. Dance the night away at Crazy Canuck's Beach Bar, take a Yoga class, workout, snorkel, dive, fish or simply do nothing at all. Our staff makes sure this is a vacation you will never forget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Exotic Caye Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exotic Caye Beach Hotel San Pedro
Hotel Exotic Caye Beach
Exotic Caye Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exotic Caye Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.