We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value and location for the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belizean Shores Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Belizean Shores Resort to your Saves list
Belizean Shores Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3.5 Miles North | Ambegris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 0000, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #21 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best value and location for the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our recent stay at Belizian Shores resort was our best vacation yet. The location was a short boat and plane trip to anywhere in Belize. The staff was most helpful with any request made and the food at the resort was as good as any in Belize. Already planning our next stay for more scuba and snorkeling and to visit more Mayan ruins.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    204
    32
    4
    2
See reviews for
144
294
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Elm, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This place was Awesome from the beginning to the end and everywhere in between.......when we arrived Marianne greeted us with very refreshing fruit drinks and a nice man with a wheel barrel took our luggage.........we talked about the resort and all it had to offer............. it was so convenient... all the excursion tours right at the entrance of the resort..... there is also a huge water trampoline with a slide and diving board on that same peer although we chose to stay at the pool and relax........ William at the pool bar was very helpful ordering us food for lunch telling us about the local entertainment ( Chicken Drop ) as well giving us 10$ gift cards to the Casino at Captain Morgans about 5 min walk from Belizean Shores............. the breakfast at Belizean Shores was our favorite place so relaxing everymorning just taking in the fresh air and beautiful view atop the resort........if you want to party this place may not be for you but if you want a quit relaxing place to unwind this is it.......... we met so many nice couples form around the US We will be back......
Thanks to all at the resourt Juli & Cyril

Room Tip: Beach front lower level we liked sitting out on the porch beautiful view locals saling hand made ite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haysville, KS
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We just returned from a 6 day stay at Belizean Shores. Our family loved the resort! We kayaked to the bouy by the reef and snorkeled, spent alot of time in the pool, rented bikes, and booked some tours thru Tuff e Nuff (cave tubing and snorkeling Hol Chan - both highly recommend). All the staff, especially Marrianne, are super accomodating. William, the bar tender at the pool, knew us by name. The water in the rooms does have a foul smell, be sure and use the filtered water to brush your teeth with! The island as a whole is not a place to go if you want to camp out on the beach. It is very small every where on the island and has alot of sea grass right next to the shore. The water taxi is the cheapest (slightly) way to get back and forth to town. You can buy in advance a 5 day pass, but for the cost, we only went into town 1 day to shop and look around. The excursions have transportation included so unless you feel the need to go to town everyday, save your money. We were surprised at how expensive everything was in general. We made 2 trips to the grocery store and spent over $200. However, one meal in a resturant usually ran the 4 of us over $60. We ate at several restuarants off site, but our own resturant was just as good, more friendly, and in some cases cheaper. Loved the pool. We snuck over to Coco Beach and used their pool a couple of times so the boys could jump off the cliff, but found our pool and guests much more friendly and fun. We rented a golf cart one day to go north on the "road". Don't. Its bumpy, dirty, gross, and basically an alley. Stick to walking or riding a bike on the beach. Belizean Shores was perfect for us. Coco Beach was a little to uppity for our taste and way over priced. The friendliness and amenities of Belizean Shores was a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1D. Its the closet to the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenks, Oklahoma
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I vacation alot and have stayed at several condo type units in Mexico/Caribbean area. I am typically very picky about places I stay and I do quite a bit of research on places to stay before I choose one. I normally pay attention to all the small details.

This is my first time in Belize. We stayed for a week at Captain Morgans Resort (would not recommend this place to anyone), then we spontaneously decided to extend our stay for another 3 days. We switched to this resort and the service has been one of the best I have ever experienced. Even thought the condo unit is a little smaller than what we are used to, it is pleasantly comfortable. I got this one bedroom ground floor for $140/night, and asked for a unit close to the beach, and they were very accommodating. Love the large porch. Overall it's a small resort but very nice. Pool is beautiful and relaxing. Front desk employees remembered our names (I already forgot theirs). Would definitely pick this resort over anything else next time I come.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2A which was 2 units back from the beach on ground floor and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfry, KY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Marianne met our group at the dock with a big smile, fantastic accent and the best fruit juice you will ever drink! The resort as a whole is just lovely. The landscaping is bright and tropical, very exotic and with the many iguanas and hermit crabs wandering the property as you walk through the grounds that is mostly sand - truly island motif. The units are large and spacious, decorated nicely, very clean and comfortable. The air conditioning is great. I did notice that beside of several doors (not mine) there was a large bowl of water to clean the sand off your feet before entering your rooms and I was disappointed that every unit didn't have this option. I had read many reviews about the on site restaurant not being very good but I didn't have a single bad meal there and would've gladly eaten every meal there and skipped the whole water taxi to town issue if I hadn't been with a group. Yes, the meals are slightly cheaper in town but once you factor in the time it takes to get to town, the cost of the water taxi, and having to plan everything around the water taxi times, cost isn't a factor. The big disappointment was the lack of beach time and ocean time you get here at the resort, which I knew prior to the trip and knew what to expect, but I feel that everyone should know that this is not a beach that you walk/swim along the shore - it's too grassy and at low tide the sun dries the exposed sea grass and it stinks. The perk of this resort is the fabulous pool. I normally never even glance at the swimming pool while on vacation however, I practically lived in this one (also because there was nothing else to do that didn't cost major $$). This pool has multiple depths, lounge chairs down in the water, a swim up bar that makes the best drinks (do yourself a favor and try the Belizean Coloda) - it was super nice! Be prepared that the water in the rooms is not good quality and you must refill your drinking water at a station beside the pool. Also because of this you will notice a very sulfur like smell while using the shower, toilets, sinks. Also beware that if in groups, they will most always put everyone on one bill which makes it very confusing to them to split up so insist as soon as you set down to order that each person is separate. Overall it was nice but I have no desire to return back to the island just for the overall nothing much to do that doesn't cost a lot and this is absolutely NOT a place I would ever bring children of any age under late teen years, they would be miserable!

Room Tip: We were in unit 5b (there are 4 units per building) and it was perfectly located close to the pool e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

ARRIVAL
After a rather stressful flight (due to weather problems), we arrived on San Pedro on Tropic Air on time (the resort made reservations for us).
We were met at the San Pedro airport, bags claimed and loaded for us, taxi to the dock, water taxi to the resort, bags unloaded for us and taken up to our room on the upper level of building 9. (Have tip money handy). It all went like clockwork! (as did the departure—in reverse).

Marianne greeted us at the dock with non-alcoholic punch (we are non-drinkers and had let her know this in our email correspondence prior to arrival) and she told us to get settled before we checked in, which was very nice.
The upper level room was VERY nice. There was a loft with a pull-out bed. Comfy bed (queen). The A/C had been turned on (thank you!!)
Flat screen TV with TONS of channels.
We ate our first and only meal at the resort restaurant (limited menu, no A/C) but you can see the sunset from there.

KITCHEN: only salt and pepper and paper towels are provided. You must buy or bring everything else.
HINT: buy some small zipper plastic bags at a hobby store and fill them with your favorite spices, bacon bits, dried cranberries, mustard, etc. I froze some ketchup and BBQ sauce in small plastic tubs and brought those with us.
Bring a bunch of different sizes of plastic zipper bags for storing your ice, leftovers and such.

FOOD: We ordered online that day from Mata Grande, and they delivered to the room the next day. As advised on their web site, we emailed them to let them know of the order. They responded promptly. Check the Tropic Air brochures for a free delivery coupon.

We purchased ground beef, pork chops and their WHOLE SMOKED CHICKEN (which turned out to be AMAZING, and fed us for several meals) plus eggs and sausage for breakfast. Oh! And some mint chip ice cream. Also a HUGE papaya (delicious and fully ripe!) and an avocado. You cannot bring fruits/veg into the country.
We brought some packaged rice with us, an add-water only cookie mix and an add-water only blueberry muffin mix. There was no muffin pan, but when we called the front desk to see if one was available, were told they had a CUPCAKE pan  which of course is the same thing, so we were able to have our muffins.
HINT: bring some oil in a Pampered Chef oil spritzer pump. SO GLAD we did that.
We purchased some canned meat at local grocer, but could easily have brought that if we’d thought of it.

EXCURSIONS: (we are not the snorkel/scuba types, but there are some fantastic excursions available if you are.)
• Inland and Sea triple mainland excursion (Jungle Zip Line, Cave Tubing and Mayan Ruins). Our guides “Brown Sugar” and David (“King” David) were fun and knowledgeable. Check Inland and Sea for a review there. $250US seemed to be the most reasonable around. That includes a flight to the mainland. ASK if your land transport will have A/C. This is a MUST! Some we saw from other tour operators did not.

• Jungle Water Adventure all-day ATV (4-Wheeler) Adventure: right on San Pedro. (Check there for the review). The front desk helped us arrange that. $165US (CASH ONLY!)

We wanted to do the Black and White Cultural Center, but they will only bring in dancers, etc. for groups of at least 8. So if you have a large group, consider asking the desk to arrange that, but do it early in your stay.

We also wanted to do the ACES Crocodile Sanctuary evening excursion, but they were either booked or not having tours. They are quite responsive on email, so make that reservation even before you get there.

WATER TAXI to San Pedro: It was convenient and fast. My only complaint is the infrequency. At some times of the day, if you missed it, you might have to spend another 2 hours or more killing time. We bought the 5-day pass. You are likely to have a wet seat, so be advised of that in case you are wearing anything fancy; and just give up on your hair, ladies, and tie it back or do it up.

Our travel options to town were handicapped by repairs on “the bridge” to San Pedro, which could only accommodate pedestrian and bicycle traffic.

GOOD EATS:
We had an amazing meal at Wild Mango (owned by a renowned chef, and right off the water taxi dock).

FIDO’S: (fee-doe’s) on the beach for lunch. It was pretty good, and we were entertained by the resident cat, which begged for tidbits from table to table (on the deck).

ELVI’S: (about a block west from the clock). We were going to do the Friday night Mayan buffet, but it did not start until 5:30 (wound up being more like 5:45) so we ordered off the menu so we’d be done in time to catch the 6:15 water taxi back to BS so we could pack for departure the next day. They actually have a sand floor! The buffet smelled delicious, though, and wish we could have indulged.

CHOCOLATE: there is a chocolate shop right off the Tuff Enuf water taxi dock. Chocolate shake, yum! And air conditioned. Good place to kill some time awaiting the water taxi.

THE HEAT: in May, we were just barely out of our local winter. The San Pedro heat and humidity in the afternoon will suck the life right out of you. Try to do anything strenuous early in the day. This was probably the only vacation ever for which I did not pack ENOUGH clothes (tops, anyway).

THE POOL: amazing! Enough said.

BOTTOM LINE: We are empty-nest baby boomers and we had a memorable and thoroughly enjoyable vacation and stay here. We recommend Belizean Shores without reservation.

In general, bring way more cash than you think you will need, especially if you are doing excursions with small operators. The credit card companies charge them 12.5% for using a credit card, so they want cash.

You might get back Belizean dollars for change for your US money, but near the end of our stay I requested US dollars and got them. We did not want to be stuck with Belizean money. I did notice a couple of enterprising charities had boxes at the airport though, so you could put any leftover $BZ to good use, or leave it for tips.


BON VOYAGE!

Room Tip: Our upper level had a loft/bedroom, and great view of the pool from the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This place is so cute. My husband and I stayed here when we were dating. It is perfectly located right in front of the scuba shop. Belizean Shores has a fully equipped kitchen. I recommend that you stop at the grocery store in town and stock up for breakfast and lunch. Ambergris Caye is a quaint town so don't expect a huge party.

The diving is amazing in Belize!

*Note...you have to take a motorboat to get to most places on Ambergris Caye.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Belizean Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belizean Shores Resort

Address: 3.5 Miles North | Ambegris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 0000, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#14 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#20 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belizean Shores Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belizean Shores Resort is the perfect destination for active and adventure travelers. It is a great place to bring the family and have some fun. The resort offers comfortable and affordable pool view and beachfront suites with many amenities to keep the family entertained. It's onsite Excursion Center gives adventure seekers every opportunity to explore the island and the country. After a full day of activities the Blue Hole Pool Bar is a great way to wind down, relax, and enjoy the beautiful swimming pool. Belizean Shores offers complimentary water sports to all guests- kayaks, paddle boards, paddle boat, and water trampoline. It also offers complimentary use of the onsite tennis/basketball court, ping pong tables, beach volleyball, children's swing set, and life sized chess set. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, T4B, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Belizean Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belizean Shores Hotel San Pedro
Belizean Shores San Pedro
Belizean Shores Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belizean Shores Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.