We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful trip!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belizean Shores Resort

Save Saved
You added Belizean Shores Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belizean Shores Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3.5 Miles North | Ambegris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 0000, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #19 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful trip!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I've traveled to several beach resorts and Belizian Shores is definitely one of my favorite places to stay! The staff is friendly, the grounds are well kept and the condos are very spacious. It was just my wife and I but I hated we didn't invite another couple. The condo was that spacious! The pool is nice but I preferred the one at the sister hotel. The beach isn't that great but is swimmable (not like Cabo beaches) The food at the hotel resturant was decent. I preferred taking the boat into town and eating. Same food as the hotel but alot cheaper and more authentic.

The road trip to the ruins was cool. I enjoyed seeing how people lived outside of the resort. Based on what I seen, its wasn't great. However, it was still cool to be amongst the Belizean people. During the month of June tubing the cave isn't that great due to low season. It was low season so there wasn't much rain to fill up the river. A few times we had to pick up our tubes and walk. No matter what, I would still recommend goin. Looks of fun!

Belize is more laided back. A great place to relax and kick back. Not too touristy. We actually had a hard time looking for nice souveiners. If you're looking for excitement go somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    338
    175
    25
    2
    2
See reviews for
123
234
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We loved our three day stay at the Belizean Shores, and wish we had stayed longer! From the time they picked us up at the airport and met us at the dock with rum punch, to the time we left on their shuttle, we could not have wanted for anything! The staff was friendly and helpful, and the property was immaculately kept. We rented bikes at the front desk ($5 US per bike for the day) and explored the area to the south, as far as town. As we rode the beach by one property after another, we kept commenting on how glad we were to be at Belizean shores! We enjoyed going into San Pedro a couple of times, but we also could have spent the entire time enjoying the tennis courts, pool, kayaks, stand up paddle boards, basketball, volley ball, and dock areas (with water trampoline and slide).

We did one half day snorkel trip with Tough Enuff Tours (located on the hotel dock). We are both experienced divers, but found the tour was fun and interesting for all levels. We saw tons of rays, turtles, morays, and a couple of nurse sharks.


We stayed in a unit at the front on the beach and liked getting tamales and burritos from the vendors who come by on their bikes. They're not allowed to go onto the hotel property, so if you're interested in that, stop by the beach area between 730 and 830. You'll be glad you did!

We had originally thought it might be inconvenient to stay so far out of town (4 miles or so), but we found that the accommodations were far nicer a few miles north, and the water taxis run pretty much on schedule. The hotel also has complementary water taxis at the beginning and end of your stay, and they'll usually let other guests jump on those runs for free- it's just that those don't go on a specific schedule.

Obviously I can't say enough about this place. We loved it and hope to go back again sometime soon!

Room Tip: Units 1 and 12 are on the beach. We stayed in 1 and loved it, though it's true that it can be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent a week at the Belize shore resort and had great time there. Everyone from the team is friendly and very helpful. The resort has a beautiful and well maintained grounds and a very nice pool area. For the kids you find a playground,table tennis, kayaks, tennis court ....The apartment - we had a upper floor- was very clean and had large rooms with a nice kitchen where we made our breakfast - perfect for families! The shopping we did at San Pedro. For dinner we found places near by or we took the water taxi to San Pedro. It's a great resort to relax or explore the island.....with a wonderful staff!

Room Tip: The upper floor on the sea side has a wonderful view but can be windy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

All of the guests for my wedding stayed at Belizean Shores and it was the Perfect Spot! The hotel was the perfect size (we took 21 rooms) for all of my guests to enjoy the pool in the center and hang out together the entire week.
The price is great and rooms were really nice, the pictures don't do it justice. I have some very picky friends and family and they were very pleased with the cleanliness and size of the rooms! We were also very pleasantly surprised how comfortable the beds were. The staff greets you upon arrival with a rum punch and escorts you to your room. Marianne, that worked with the hotel, went above and beyond to make sure that our stay was great! She and all her staff were INCREDIBLE!

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The rooms are beautiful, the pool is fantastic, the grounds are immaculate, the staff are amazing, the restaurant is expensive, and the golf carts are fun, but also pricey. The water taxi pass through Tough Enuff Tours was a great deal! Kayaks were always ready to go, and the resident moray eels and fish that live around the dock provide for daily entertainment. I would recommend to families with younger children, and anyone looking for that "condotel" experience.

Room Tip: Request the buildings that are not near the new construction of the hotel going in next door. Reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I loved this hotel. Everyone was so welcoming and kind. I wanted to move in ! Marianne was awesome. The food and service was great ! Will at the bar was really cool too. I cannot wait to come back for longer next time!

Room Tip: Bring a lot of mosquito repellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We really enjoyed our 5 nights at Belizean Shores! The 2 story upper unit was just right for our family of 4 (ages 7 and 10). Do know that the kitchen comes with only salt and pepper, coffee and filters and sugar. It was nice having a kitchen to prepare a few meals. I actually shopped at a grocery store steps from the San Pedro airport while we were awaiting the taxi to take us to the water taxi upon arrival. The store was very small but had the basics. Kudos to Marianne and all the guys at the dock and around the property who were so pleasant and helpful. We had one dinner (Belizean BBQ) and one breakfast at the resort, and they were quite good!

Trip highlights:
-full day snorkel cruise (plus 2 hours at Caye Caulker) with Lady Leslie. big fun!!
-dinner at Mango's at a resort up north called Matachica. They send a bus at 7 to pick you up, and return you by boat at the end of the evening.
-the pool at Belizean Shores, including the bar!
-buying fruit from the product boat (Tues. AM) and tamales and burritos from the guy on the bike on the beach!

Don't forget
-bug spray (although we only had one dusk dinner when bugs were bad)
-flashlight for after-dinner walks home on the beach
-buy something at the duty free store inside the airport in San Pedro and you'll cut to the front of the line to leave the airport. ASK if this is not offered! Saved us probably an hour of waiting.

I didn't rent a golf cart ahead of time, but we rented one for a few hours and rode into San Pedro one day. I thought the roads were awfully bumpy and the ride was unpleasant. I was surprised to hear a local say that the roads were a 9 out of 10....and that sometimes they are completely impassable. ugh! So glad we didn't spend much money on the golf cart rental.

Enjoy Belizean Shores! We hope to be back one day...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belizean Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belizean Shores Resort

Address: 3.5 Miles North | Ambegris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 0000, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#15 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#16 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belizean Shores Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belizean Shores Resort is the perfect destination for active and adventure travellers. It is a great place to bring the family and have some fun. The resort offers comfortable and affordable pool view and beachfront suites with many amenities to keep the family entertained. It’s onsite Excursion Center gives adventure seekers every opportunity to explore the island and the country. After a full day of activities the Blue Hole Pool Bar is a great way to wind down, relax, and enjoy the beautiful swimming pool.Belizean Shores offers complimentary water sports to all guests- kayaks, paddle boards, paddle boat, and water trampoline. It also offers complimentary use of the onsite tennis/basketball court, ping pong tables, beach volleyball, children's swing set, and life size chess. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Belizean Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belizean Shores Hotel San Pedro
Belizean Shores San Pedro
Belizean Shores Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belizean Shores Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.