We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel of San Pedro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belizean Shores Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Belizean Shores Resort to your Saves list
Belizean Shores Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3.5 Miles North | Ambegris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 0000, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 56 Hotels in San Pedro
Newberg, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Jewel of San Pedro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Belizean Shores was a great place to stay in San Pedro, Belize. When we landed, in San Pedro, they met us at the airport with a taxi, and after two short blocks, they dropped us off at the Tuff Enuff Dock for a boat ride to the resort. They loaded our luggage on the boat and whisked us away. Maryanne, the guest services manager was waiting with Rum punch or fruit punch as we approched the dock. The porter put our luggage in a wheelbarrow and carried it to our awaiting room. After a little bit, we went to the office to register and get the golf cart we rented. We made our way to a grocery store about 3/4 of a mile up the rode to the north. The road is very rough and had been washed out a few days before. The resort had a great pool area, and my wife loved the coconut mojito's (Thanks Maryanne for the recomendation). The restuarant at the resort was good, we ate there twice. The resort is not far from some other good restuarants as well. The resort has free kayaks, paddle boards, a floating trampoline, and a slide off the dock, all of which was great to use and try. Tuff Enuff has an office at the dock and it was easy to either catch the water taxi or book a snorkle trip. They even let you bill it to your room if you want. I really like the fact that the room was a condo unit instead of a stuffy hotel room. We were able to eat on the front porch and watch the ocean or the sunrise. One day my wife got tamalles from the guy on his bike with a cooler on the front, filled with yummy food. We even got a good recomendation for a place to eat lunch one day from the staff, the Lazy Croc BBQ. The staff was very friendly, and Marianne, remembered everyone's name when you saw her. For our first time in San Pedro Belize, I booked it by expedia and didn't know a thing about it other than the reviews. We were impressed and will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    179
    28
    2
    2
See reviews for
127
248
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This place beat my expectations for what I thought would be a relatively modest budget-conscious vacation rental. First of all, the units are one-bedroom condos, not hotel rooms. They come complete with a kitchen. living/dining room, and bedroom. Each unit is differently furnished, as they apparently are individually owned, but centrally managed. Speaking of management, I have to give the place very high ratings. We were greeted on the dock by two welcome rum punches (they call ahead to find out your preference - booze or no), and the friendly, smiling face of Marianne, the guest services manager. She gave us a nice tour of the property, and arranged to have us moved to a unit closer to the beach the next day. Every single person you encounter in this place is friendlier than the last. It is rare to find a place where you have nothing bad to say about the service; usually, this happens at very high-end hotels like the Orient Express chain of hotels, but this modest condo complex delivers.

The cons: the beach is, at best, for sitting, only. There is mostly seagrass in the water, so you really don't want to go in. The food is at best, unspectacular. Don't bother eating there other than breakfast (which is pricey, at about US $12 plus drinks). Visit San Pedro town instead, or walk up the beach about ten minutes to the Terrazas resort, which has a good restaurant.

Overall - what a terrific place. It's not a super-lux hotel, but the service makes it seem like it is!

Room Tip: There are only a few oceanfront rooms. The rest are all set back a bit, but the ones closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We enjoyed an very peaceful 8 day visit at this resort. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are very clean. The pool is very beautiful and is the jewel of the resort. The swim up bar at the pool perfect for a hot afternoon!

The staff help to organize your visit and give great recommendations for outings and dining choices. The staff at the dive shop are very knowledgeable about the area so it makes your diving experience that much better.

You can rent bikes to go into town travelling via the beach. As the hotel is 4 or so miles north of San Pedro, so it is a bit of a ride. Great way to see the sights and discover the town. You can stop at the Palapa Bar and have a refreshment overlooking the sea! A water taxi is available as well on a set schedule so you have to plan a little bit to take it.

Diving and snorkeling is great. Blue Hole trips don't go everyday so plan ahead!

Great value for the money!

Room Tip: Building # 2 is close to the ocean and has an ocean view. Top units are bigger as they have a loft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

After landing at San Pedro airport then we were driven around the corner by a taxi to the dock where we took the boat taxi to the resort. The ride in the taxi was so short we could have walked it easily, but that just shows the great customer service awaiting us at Belizean Shores resort.

We arrived at the resort dock and waiting for us was a cold rum punch. The staff took our luggage to the suite. The suites were spacious and comfortable. The beds were by far some of the best I have ever slept in. The staff was accommodating and pleasant. The pool is beautiful and was never busy. Even though the pool wasn't busy they kept the swim up bar open. The resort is far from town though but that’s what we like (you don’t have all the traffic and noise, just peace and quite). Take the boat taxi in or rent a golf cart which is fun and a bit of an adventure. We loved ours stay at Belizean Shores and we will return.

Water Taxi - Water taxi's only run every hour and fifteen minutes. Its last run from town back to resort at 10:30pm. Get the 5 day water taxi pass which gives you unlimited journeys to and from town for about $30 US per person. This was definitely preferable to the golf cart; much of the road from San Pedro town to Belizean Shores is potholed sand/dirt track and can be a bit of a challenge! It takes about 30 minutes by Gulf cart, and 10 minutes by boat. You can take a golf cart from the property but only during daylight (not recommended when dark).

Groceries there are 2 stores within walking distance. Captain Morgan's is within 8 minutes’ walk south of the resort and has some basic food and liquor - but not much else. The other grocery is north but is much farther. It took approx. 20 minutes to walk and didn't have much more than the closer store. The best grocery store is new and located at the south end of the airport, prices a bit higher but it is clean and has proper refrigeration for the fresh milk, meats, etc. Burrito Man - rode his bike to our beach every morning at 8 with fresh burritos, tamales and fry jacks. For $2.50 each, we'd stock up for lunch with these.

Produce boat - stops by on Tuesdays.

Restaurants –The restaurant at Belizean Shores has just been turned around and it’s one of the best spots to eat. There are other restaurants very close to the resort - 2-5 minutes’ walk. All were good.

Rooms - each room has a hair dryer and comes with coffee and a jug of water that you can refill for free all vacation long. You are allowed to bring your own beverages to the pool as long as they're not in glass containers, so that can cut down a lot on your bill if you mix your own drinks in your room.

Bikes - One day we rented bikes and rode along the ocean...this is worth doing and inexpensive. The bikes are cruisers with only one gear but a very nice ride on the beach

I highly recommend the coconut mojito at the pool bar or a Dirty Banana at the pool bar.

Customs – When you land in Belize City buy something from the duty free shop before you go through customs. Note, if you buy from the duty free store, you go through a special line on the left for those who purchased. We jumped ahead of about 50 people this way. So buy anything and it’s well worth it.

Room Tip: All room have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I loved the flexible room layout with the separate sleeping loft. There is plenty of space to get comfortable, though with the lovely pool and beach you won't want to spend much time in the room. We had a gorgeous balcony view. The housekeeping service was excellent. The front desk staff was helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: The sleeping loft had a low ceiling and was not as cool as the rest of the unit. It would be excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our family, part of a larger group, had a great stay at Belizean Shores.

The water taxi from San Pedro is convenient. Make sure, though, that your luggage makes it from the airport all the way to the boat - some of our group's luggage was left curbside by the taxi about 100 feet from the boat. The arrival process is nice, with a guest services representative taking you directly to your room. Once you have had a chance to relax and unwind from your travels, you can then go to the front desk to complete the check-in process.

The rooms are all spacious suites, with a full kitchen (well-stocked), dining area, and living room. The upper units also have a loft with bedding (varies by unit). Housekeeping was fantastic - the rooms were spotless! Divers would probably do better with an upper unit as their dive gear can be hung-up to dry without the risk of walking off. Laid out in a horseshoe shape around the pool with all units facing the Caribbean, all of the units have a great view. The pool is fantastic with a swim-up bar. A limited menu can be ordered poolside.

The only drawback of Belizean Shores is the restaurant. The food is good, but the structure itself seems to be an after-thought, set-back behind the accommodations on the third floor of a building. So not only are the views poor, two flights of steps are required to get to it - not ideal for anyone with any form of disability. The food is relatively expensive with everything having to be transported in from the mainland. Each unit does have a kitchen, but don't be surprised by the high prices in the grocery stores. Talk to the locals to find out where they go for groceries. Golf carts are available for rent. It is about a 20 minute drive by golf cart down the main road to town. Lots of restaurants are along the road going into town.

The service is outstanding with very friendly staff members. They memorize your names and greet you by name each time they see you. Visit the bar or restaurant enough, and there's no need to order - they know what you want and how you like it.

A wide variety of activities are available from swimming to scuba diving, with paddle boats, sea kayaks, and jet skis also available. The front desk will arrange for spa services either in your room or on the beach.

Room Tip: Buildings 12 and 1 are on the water, but all building have good views of the water. Upper units h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is my third trip to Belizean Shores/COCO Beach properties and cannot say enough wonderful things about this Tropical Paradise on the shores of the Caribbean’s clear blue waters. I have read many of the other writers’ here and I’m at a loss for words for those who wrote negative remarks or comments about the staff, location, food or onsite services.

First off Belizean Shores is a family owned resort on a tropical island, situated on the second largest barrier reef in the world. Their staff; starting with Marianne and Rhoda, the onsite managers are some of the best I’ve come to meet in my travels. They are there to make your visit something to remember and enjoy from start to finish. Then comes the bartenders Mikey and Milton at the Blue Hole pool bar, who too make your visit not just to the bar and pool area something special with custom made drinks, Mikes “Dirty Barrel” rum drink, but are at your every call when on duty, again making sure your visit is a special one. Finally you have the guys at Tuff-E-Nuf (located right on the dock at the resort), from Rico to Sidney, who go out of their way to make you feel at home and provide you with the best taxi, diving and snorkeling services around. Yes they do want your business too, but they also want you to return home with great memories of your trip.

As I said in the beginning, you are on a tropical island, therefore the food is shipped from the mainland out to it, as well as their beer, soda and other products needed. This I’m sure is not an inexpensive service for any of the hotels, stores or restaurants and sadly the cost is passed on to the locals as well as the tourists and other customers. I myself made several trips into town to both the Greenhouse Grocery and Super Buy for provisions, in order to cook a few of my own meals not just for the experience of island life, but to save a few dollars here and there as well.

For me the resort has everything I needed and more, for great tropical vacation. But if you’re expecting a limo at the airport, day care or even MAC’d’s on the island then you need to go to Cancun or Cabo. This is a small and simple property with a total of 48 spacious units, one of the best pools on the island, a well-lit tennis court, bike or golf cart rental service, a restaurant and a water taxi service right at your door. All with ocean views you cannot find any better along the entire Ambergris Caye. For the second time I requested the ocean front room of 11c in the second building back from the beach and ocean. It is a ground floor unit with a small patio in front, and a large living room with loads of curtain covered windows and a sofa sleeper if needed. The bedroom has a “very comfy” king size bed, large closet with safe and an adjoining full bathroom with a glass block shower. The fully equipped kitchen has all handmade cabinets, with “local granite” countertops and stainless steel appliances. There’s a small four chair kitchen table and lovely local artwork donning the walls. The unit has a flat screen TV with both local and national channels from the US and WIFI service that works quite well as each building has its own repeater and my signal never dropped.

I have not stayed in a second floor unit as of yet and do not expect to as I have no need with such a great ground floor unit. I did look at a few and they too are also well equipped and have a loft above the master bedroom with extra beds or a sofa sleeper. They would be great for a large family or a couple that wants the privacy of the upper floor and views. Regardless the AC can keep you quite cool any time of year or if you like warm sea breezes then simply open the well screened windows and enjoy. The hot water in each unit are from an on-demand systems and sometimes the water pressure does drop when all four units are using water at the same time. It’s just part of life in the tropics.

While at the resort I would recommend taking a bike ride along the beach as there’s so much to see and there are many other restaurants in both directions from the property. Make sure you take along some water, sun screen and some cash as there are local vendors along the way and there’s even a young man who sells the best breakfast burritos from his bike each morning. Funny as it sounds the path gets very narrow in places and you have to make way for the locals as they go to and from work or home along the beach as well. You can go all the way into town on the path and come back via the road, as I have stopping along the way. Either way it’s a safe and interesting experience.

Weather if you’re on a bike, golf cart, or water taxi, make sure you stop and try the Palapa Bar along the beach, or Fido’s and Elvi’s in town for lunch, dinner or just drinks. They all serve great food and you’ll have a time of your life hanging out with the locals, Ex-pats or other tourists. If you’re into breakfast than going to Estelle’s is a must. As you can go wrong with anything on their menu, the services is fast and the views are outstanding.

In closing make sure you plan ahead for this wonderful adventure to the tropics and this great little island world. Regardless if you’re just going to hang out around the pool or be on the move every day, plan ahead. You are 3.5 miles from town by bike, boat or golf cart and 35 miles from the mainland by plane or ferry. If you’re wanting any off island sightseeing I’d suggest you book it in advance through the resort or Tuff-E-Nuf as the local sightseeing is easy to do and can be booked the day before. If you want any food and drinks I’d pick them up in town or have them delivered in advance of your arrival. In any case they will be a bit expensive! Finally you won’t need to bring a ton of clothes, this is the tropics and you’re NOT going to impress anybody by what you wear. Last, if you’re planning on buying some local crafts or gifts bring an empty bag as it will make things easier for you going back through customs at the airport.

Belize it or not you’ll have a wonderful time at Belizean Shores resort.

Room Tip: For the second time I requested the ocean front room of 11c in the second building back from the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belizean Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belizean Shores Resort

Address: 3.5 Miles North | Ambegris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 0000, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belizean Shores Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belizean Shores Resort is the perfect destination for active and adventure travellers. It is a great place to bring the family and have some fun. The resort offers comfortable and affordable pool view and beachfront suites with many amenities to keep the family entertained. It’s onsite Excursion Center gives adventure seekers every opportunity to explore the island and the country. After a full day of activities the Blue Hole Pool Bar is a great way to wind down, relax, and enjoy the beautiful swimming pool.Belizean Shores offers complimentary water sports to all guests- kayaks, paddle boards, paddle boat, and water trampoline. It also offers complimentary use of the onsite tennis/basketball court, ping pong tables, beach volleyball, children's swing set, and life size chess. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Belizean Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belizean Shores Hotel San Pedro
Belizean Shores San Pedro
Belizean Shores Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belizean Shores Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.