We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belizean Shores Resort

Save Saved
You added Belizean Shores Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belizean Shores Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3.5 Miles North | Ambegris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 0000, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 56 hotels in San Pedro
Monterey, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Holiday Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was our third stay at Belizean Shores. The staff was again exceptional. Their attention to detail and committment to customer excellence was supurb. From the guest reception to the housekeeping staff to maintainance staff, waitstaff and management all went above and beyond to the level of excellence.

Room Tip: Choose Ground Level, Ocean View for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    346
    176
    26
    2
    2
See reviews for
126
241
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I had no expectations of this resort. Having booked it only a few days before arriving, I was just happy to get away from the city and into the sun for a few days after a stressful couple of months at work.
PROS:
• The rooms are amazing. We stayed in building 6. It overlooked the pool and offered great security. The bed was comfy, the TV had American cable (local news for NYC) the kitchen was adequately equipped and the shower had plenty of warm water. Our room had 2 beds and a fold out couch. Plenty of room for a 3-5 person stay.

• The pool was amazing. From the looks of the various other pools up and down the beach, I would say Belizean shores had the best.

• Service. Staff was friendly, Everything was taken care of.

• Quiet. The resort is very sleepy. No parties or distractions. People leave you alone. I like that personally.



CONS
• No child care. I thought i read there was child care... but there wasnt. So be ready to spend your time with the kids.

• The beach
Since the only road in the area is basically pot hole riddled and overgrown, many local commuters use the beach to get to and from town. It's charming to see so many bikes and dirtbikes, but it's not great for relaxations to have traffic at your feet.
Also... you can't swim for the beach. If you crave fun in the water, it will be in the pool because these beaches have not been prepared for swimming. This was a significant upset for us, and cost the resort one of the stars.

• The price of Food.
Very, very, very... very expensive. To frame your expectations... double the price of "Whole Foods Markets" but expect the quality and selection of a convenience store. Quality fruit and vegetables were next to impossible to source, but we found out that a produce boat stops by Tuesdays (we found out wednesday) to supply the resort and you can buy direct.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here last week in December and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and made this place extra special. The rooms were spacious and the kitchen had all the essential utensils if you choose to cook. The facility has beautiful tennis courts, pin pong tables, volley ball nets, kayaks, and an amazing pool. Belizean Shores is somewhat secluded since the downtown area is 3 miles away but there are a few nice resorts nearby if people want other food options. I would recommend the CocoBeach bar for food, great staff and best prices in the area.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed here for the week before Christmas. This lodge is a great value for your money. Absolutely the friendliest staff I have ever met. The room is spacious, with a full kitchen, including a Mr. Coffee, pots and pans etc. Very clean. All rooms face the ocean. Confortable bed. The staff responded to requests quickly. I gave it four stars because it is a distance from the towm, although the water taxi runs frequently and we also rented a golf cart for a day excursion. The dive operation is first class, well run and very professional. The swim up bar at the pool makes great drinks. There is a restaurant on site, and several at other resorts, within walking distance, if you choose not to cook.

Room Tip: It is worth it to pay a little extra for the second floor room. Great view and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

What a fabulous place. From the moment we arrived (to Marianne waiting with a rum punch for us on the dock) to the moment we left, we absolutely loved our stay here. All the apartments are in a horseshoe shape either grouped around the pool or facing the beach. While initially disappointed we weren't in a beachfront one (ours was the furthest back from the beach!) but we were fine being close to the pool and the beautiful (and immaculate) landscaping throughout the resort means you've always got a great view. Our room was very clean, well equipped and although not state of the art inside, it was spacious and the bed was one of the best we've slept in. There's a drinking water tap (you get a large container of drinking water on arrival and can refill it from the tap outside as you can't drink the tap water here) by the pool which saves having to keep buying bottled water.
The pool is really great and we spent more time that we probably should have done at the pool bar. The stretch of beach that the resort is on is pretty typical of those on that part of the coast; not one you'd really like to wade in from due to rocks, seagrass etc but you can avoid all that by jumping in off the end of the dock. Once you get out from the beach, the water is the clearest turquoise.
We ate in the restaurant just once for breakfast which was nice, but rather expensive for what it was. We didn't use Tuff E Nuff for any excursions but did get the 5 day water taxi pass which gives you unlimited journeys to and from town for about $30 US per person. This was definitely preferable to the golf buggy; much of the road from San Pedro town to Belizean Shores is potholed sand/dirt track and can be a bit of a challenge! It takes about 30 minutes by buggy, and 10 by boat. You certainly wouldn't want to be coming back in a golf cart at night.
Overall, a fantastic holiday and somewhere we can't wait to come back to.

Room Tip: Rooms 1,2 and I think 12/13/14 are closest to the beach. The others are all around the pool. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We're nearly at the end of our 10-night stay at Belizean Shores, and wish we could stay even longer.

This location offers great value for your money. Our accommodations were well-appointed, and definitely worth the small price difference for the upper-level suite. The bed was comfortable, the view from the patio was great, and housekeeping staff regularly went above and beyond our expectations.

The pool is nice, with a swim up bar (and friendly bartenders), lots of poolside seating in both sun and shade, and a good-sized hottub. You can opt to swim in the ocean too, only a few steps away, with beach-side seating, hammocks, and free access to kayaks that can be used to paddle to the reef -- great snorkelling just off your front door.

This location is family-friendly, but wasn't too busy during our visit. We're leaving just as the xmas season gets into full swing, so we wonder how busy it will get at high season -- but this didn't affect our stay. We found it to be really quiet and comfortable, so even with more people around there should be lots of room.

The staff were *excellent*, from Marianne greeting us at the pier, to the restaurant and bar staff, and the cleaning staff and groundskeepers. Everyone was friendly.

Some other reviewers mentioned that it was possible to use the pool at the sister resort next door, Coco Beach Resort, but this wasn't the case during our visit. We did visit their bar, which is nice and close, and some of the bartenders are shared between the resorts, so they already knew us.

The restaurant offers good value for breakfast, with large portions and nice taste for the cost. Unfortunately, the food at dinner, both in the restaurant and during the Thursday fiesta taco dinner, was poor value. We went into town to buy groceries to make our own food (something we'd planned to do), or else went off-site for nearly all of our meals, either to nearby restaurants or into San Pedro (see other reviews). While it worked for us, the water taxi schedule isn't as convenient as it could be. Also as others have mentioned, the wifi access can be spotty and slow, but we were able to get online every day, including now to submit this review.

Overall, we loved it here and would stay here again. If you're looking for sun, beach, pool, relaxation, and comfortably quiet, while still providing access to San Pedro, we recommend Belizean Shores as your destination.

Room Tip: Stay in an upper-level suite if you can, it's worth the small price difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Had never been to Belize and weren`t sure exactly what expect but from the time Marianne met us at the boat when we arrived till she said goodby at the boat when we were leaving it couldn`t have been a better experience. Anytime we needed anything they were right there. This trip was for a 60th birthday and they went way out of their way to make it special. beautiful room, great pool and friendly staff made for a wounderfull trip. This is the place i would stay whenever we come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belizean Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belizean Shores Resort

Address: 3.5 Miles North | Ambegris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 0000, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belizean Shores Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belizean Shores Resort is the perfect destination for active and adventure travellers. It is a great place to bring the family and have some fun. The resort offers comfortable and affordable pool view and beachfront suites with many amenities to keep the family entertained. It’s onsite Excursion Center gives adventure seekers every opportunity to explore the island and the country. After a full day of activities the Blue Hole Pool Bar is a great way to wind down, relax, and enjoy the beautiful swimming pool.Belizean Shores offers complimentary water sports to all guests- kayaks, paddle boards, paddle boat, and water trampoline. It also offers complimentary use of the onsite tennis/basketball court, ping pong tables, beach volleyball, children's swing set, and life size chess. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Belizean Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belizean Shores Hotel San Pedro
Belizean Shores San Pedro
Belizean Shores Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belizean Shores Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.