We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belizean Shores Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Belizean Shores Resort to your Saves list
Belizean Shores Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3.5 Miles North | Ambegris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 0000, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

After MUCH research, my friend and I decided on this resort. I am very glad we did! From our greeting upon arrival at the pier by Marianne, drinks in hand, to the wonderful swimming pool and kind staff, it was a lovely place to stay, and conveniently accessible to town by the water taxi service Tuff Enuff, located on the hotel's pier. By staying 3 miles north of San Pedro, you get the beauty of the island without the noise of town.

If you want to snorkle Hol Chan, you can use the hotel's company. It will be $10 BZ more than if you use Amigos del Mar located in town, but there is the convenience factor, and James is the guy to go out there with, so be sure and ask for him.

Room Tip: If you're looking for separate beds, ask for a room with 2 comfortable beds. That would not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    184
    30
    2
    2
See reviews for
130
259
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Probably the friendliest, nicest and most attentive staff at any hotel I've ever stayed at. Great price, great people. Marianne made our trip so easy and we had a great time. We will definitely stay here next time we are on Ambergris.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed 15 nights at this place. The best part of it was the outstanding staff. From Levi to Maryann, the gals in the office, and the sweet maids, and Aida who gave us spa treatements, and Milton who served great drinks, we cannot say enough about them. they made sure to know us by name, and treated us like we were at the most luxurious place on earth. Very casual, very refreshing! The rooms were well appointed; my only complaint being is that the couches were not very comfortable. We bought some food/wine to have on hand but enjoyed tring the hotel's restaurant as well as the various eateries up/down the beach.

Room Tip: ask for sea side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blair
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The location is North of town and if you want activities, bars, and resturants you have to take the water taxi or rent the golf cart. We rented a golf cart for a week and loved the freedom of coming and going. Staff is wonderful and helpful. Went on a great snorkeling/picnic. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Plan on going back to Belize however we will stay somewhere in town.

Room Tip: Top floor oceanfront room has great view was a little windy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Spent 6 days at the Belizean Shore and had a great time there. Landing at the San Pedro airport there was a pick up waiting for me to take me to the pier, where there was a boat waiting for me to take me to the hotel, Arriving at the hotel pier, the guest manager, Marianne, was there waiting with fresh towel as well a cold drink for refreshing. The hotel is very well located, quite, with a fantastic pool with a wet bar. The restaurant has a reasonable menu and the people working there is very friendly. Rooms are spacious with quite a/c. Small kitchen, but enough. Bedroom with a very confortable bed. Stayed in a room a few meters from the water. There is a dive shop at the pier just in front of the hotel with a great service for beginners and advanced divers. The master diver, AC is a great person and a guarantee of fun. Marianne is a german lady, which manages the hotel with a latin personalite. Very german making sure everything is running well for your confort, but with a brilliant sense of humour and hospitality with all guests. You feel very confortable with any need from the hotel. It is just a matter of asking to Marianne and you will get what you need. She is available all the time either at the reception or walking aroung. Another great value at the hotel is the check in. After hours traveling and getting to the hotel you want to go straight to your room, right? But most of the case you need first to go to the reception, full fill forms, credit card, etc. It is completely different at the Belizean Shores. From the pier, Marianne takes you straight to your room, while someone brings your luggage. Then Marianne lets you at the room and after someone comes for proceeding with your check in. You sut visit the reception if you want during your whole stay. The hotel also offers for a reasonable price water taxi if you want to go to San Pedro city, however during my stay I went there just once to walk aroung and see how it looks like, but it didn't last more than an hour. Once at the Belizean Shores you may not want to leave the place, unless at your diving time with AC.

Room Tip: There several buildings at the property with two floors each. If you prefer to stay at the secong fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have nothing bad to say about this place. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. The rooms were great!! Lovely pool and hot tub and you can't beat the happy hour specials at the pool bar. We can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We just returned from a great vacation in Belize. This was our first time in Belize and we learned a few things on this trip that we thought we would share with everyone. If you haven't been here before it might be nice to know.......
1. Arriving in Belize City --- Buy your liquor at the Duty Free - you will save a ton of money. We purchased several bottles of wine for $6 and $8. We didn't really have high hopes for them -- but they turned out to be very good. Comparable wines on the Caye are a min. of $25 and they go up from there;
2. Tropic Air is a great airline to fly over to the Caye. Everyone was helpful and friendly and the flights are quick and convenient;
3. Once you land in San Pedro - it is a quick 1 1/2 blocks to the dock where you take the boat to the Belizean Shore Resort. Unless you have a ton of luggage there is not much point in waiting for the taxi;
4. Once you arrive by boat to the resort you are greeted and given a very refreshing rum punch and cool towel, shown to your room, and left to unpack -- it was great after travelling for over 15 hours;
5. Our 'room' was actually a very nice 1 bedroom with loft 2nd floor condo. As people have mentioned the Condos are somewhat dated -- but it was very comfortable and had all the necessities - including a full kitchen. The bathrooms are supplied with numerous toiletries including soap, shampoo, lotion;
6. We had dinner the first night at the resort - as we got in after 7:00pm. The food was okay, but not great. The wine was terrible. Breakfast - on the other hand -- was great. We had the full meal deal with eggs, bacon, potatoes, coffee. Very good.
7. The location of the resort is a bit isolated so if you are looking for a major party place this is probably not where you want to be. You can take a golf cart or bikes into San Pedro during the day. At night you would need to take the water taxi.
8. For groceries there are 2 stores within walking distance. Captain Morgan's is within 5 minutes walk south of the resort and has some basic food and liquor - but not much else. The other grocery is north but is much farther. It took approx. 20 minutes to walk and didn't have much more than the closer store. There is supposed to be a grocery that you can order online with - but when I checked for our trip they were out of most items that we needed.
9. Restaurants -- there are 3 that we tried very close to the resort - 2-5 minutes walk. All were very good. The two locally run ones that I would recommend are Rendezvous and Capricorn. The 3rd one is 'O' which is in the resort just a few minutes north of Belizean Shores. This one had great food -- but it is definitely a 'formula' restaurant -- typical of the big Mexican resort restaurants.
10. Finally I have to say that the staff here are amazing. They will try to accommodate any request that you might have. Marianne - the Guest Service Manager - is fabulous. It is easy to see that the staff are one of the many reasons that people come back to Belizean Shores!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belizean Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belizean Shores Resort

Address: 3.5 Miles North | Ambegris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 0000, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#12 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belizean Shores Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belizean Shores Resort is the perfect destination for active and adventure travellers. It is a great place to bring the family and have some fun. The resort offers comfortable and affordable pool view and beachfront suites with many amenities to keep the family entertained. It’s onsite Excursion Center gives adventure seekers every opportunity to explore the island and the country. After a full day of activities the Blue Hole Pool Bar is a great way to wind down, relax, and enjoy the beautiful swimming pool.Belizean Shores offers complimentary water sports to all guests- kayaks, paddle boards, paddle boat, and water trampoline. It also offers complimentary use of the onsite tennis/basketball court, ping pong tables, beach volleyball, children's swing set, and life size chess. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Belizean Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belizean Shores Hotel San Pedro
Belizean Shores San Pedro
Belizean Shores Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belizean Shores Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.