We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belizean Shores Resort

Save Saved
You added Belizean Shores Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belizean Shores Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3.5 Miles North | Ambegris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 0000, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
Blair
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The location is North of town and if you want activities, bars, and resturants you have to take the water taxi or rent the golf cart. We rented a golf cart for a week and loved the freedom of coming and going. Staff is wonderful and helpful. Went on a great snorkeling/picnic. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Plan on going back to Belize however we will stay somewhere in town.

Room Tip: Top floor oceanfront room has great view was a little windy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    344
    175
    26
    2
    2
See reviews for
126
238
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Spent 6 days at the Belizean Shore and had a great time there. Landing at the San Pedro airport there was a pick up waiting for me to take me to the pier, where there was a boat waiting for me to take me to the hotel, Arriving at the hotel pier, the guest manager, Marianne, was there waiting with fresh towel as well a cold drink for refreshing. The hotel is very well located, quite, with a fantastic pool with a wet bar. The restaurant has a reasonable menu and the people working there is very friendly. Rooms are spacious with quite a/c. Small kitchen, but enough. Bedroom with a very confortable bed. Stayed in a room a few meters from the water. There is a dive shop at the pier just in front of the hotel with a great service for beginners and advanced divers. The master diver, AC is a great person and a guarantee of fun. Marianne is a german lady, which manages the hotel with a latin personalite. Very german making sure everything is running well for your confort, but with a brilliant sense of humour and hospitality with all guests. You feel very confortable with any need from the hotel. It is just a matter of asking to Marianne and you will get what you need. She is available all the time either at the reception or walking aroung. Another great value at the hotel is the check in. After hours traveling and getting to the hotel you want to go straight to your room, right? But most of the case you need first to go to the reception, full fill forms, credit card, etc. It is completely different at the Belizean Shores. From the pier, Marianne takes you straight to your room, while someone brings your luggage. Then Marianne lets you at the room and after someone comes for proceeding with your check in. You sut visit the reception if you want during your whole stay. The hotel also offers for a reasonable price water taxi if you want to go to San Pedro city, however during my stay I went there just once to walk aroung and see how it looks like, but it didn't last more than an hour. Once at the Belizean Shores you may not want to leave the place, unless at your diving time with AC.

Room Tip: There several buildings at the property with two floors each. If you prefer to stay at the secong fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have nothing bad to say about this place. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. The rooms were great!! Lovely pool and hot tub and you can't beat the happy hour specials at the pool bar. We can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We just returned from a great vacation in Belize. This was our first time in Belize and we learned a few things on this trip that we thought we would share with everyone. If you haven't been here before it might be nice to know.......
1. Arriving in Belize City --- Buy your liquor at the Duty Free - you will save a ton of money. We purchased several bottles of wine for $6 and $8. We didn't really have high hopes for them -- but they turned out to be very good. Comparable wines on the Caye are a min. of $25 and they go up from there;
2. Tropic Air is a great airline to fly over to the Caye. Everyone was helpful and friendly and the flights are quick and convenient;
3. Once you land in San Pedro - it is a quick 1 1/2 blocks to the dock where you take the boat to the Belizean Shore Resort. Unless you have a ton of luggage there is not much point in waiting for the taxi;
4. Once you arrive by boat to the resort you are greeted and given a very refreshing rum punch and cool towel, shown to your room, and left to unpack -- it was great after travelling for over 15 hours;
5. Our 'room' was actually a very nice 1 bedroom with loft 2nd floor condo. As people have mentioned the Condos are somewhat dated -- but it was very comfortable and had all the necessities - including a full kitchen. The bathrooms are supplied with numerous toiletries including soap, shampoo, lotion;
6. We had dinner the first night at the resort - as we got in after 7:00pm. The food was okay, but not great. The wine was terrible. Breakfast - on the other hand -- was great. We had the full meal deal with eggs, bacon, potatoes, coffee. Very good.
7. The location of the resort is a bit isolated so if you are looking for a major party place this is probably not where you want to be. You can take a golf cart or bikes into San Pedro during the day. At night you would need to take the water taxi.
8. For groceries there are 2 stores within walking distance. Captain Morgan's is within 5 minutes walk south of the resort and has some basic food and liquor - but not much else. The other grocery is north but is much farther. It took approx. 20 minutes to walk and didn't have much more than the closer store. There is supposed to be a grocery that you can order online with - but when I checked for our trip they were out of most items that we needed.
9. Restaurants -- there are 3 that we tried very close to the resort - 2-5 minutes walk. All were very good. The two locally run ones that I would recommend are Rendezvous and Capricorn. The 3rd one is 'O' which is in the resort just a few minutes north of Belizean Shores. This one had great food -- but it is definitely a 'formula' restaurant -- typical of the big Mexican resort restaurants.
10. Finally I have to say that the staff here are amazing. They will try to accommodate any request that you might have. Marianne - the Guest Service Manager - is fabulous. It is easy to see that the staff are one of the many reasons that people come back to Belizean Shores!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

The staff was very nice and tried to be very helpful. My complaints consist of being told there was wifi which didn't work very well and the food was not very good. You have to pay to go to town either by boat or by cart each and every time you want to go I thought everything was very much over priced.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Marianne, Deon, Milton, Cesar, Michael and everyone else thanks so much for making our trip to Belize perfect! Whatever we asked for, and didn't ask for, the staff made happen for us. The hotel is beautifully maintained, the suite we stayed in was perfect for the week, and there were so many things to do!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Belizean Shores in July 2012 for our honeymoon. This was our third stop in Belize and it was a great way to end our honeymoon. The first two hotels had no A/C so Belizean Shores felt like a luxury resort! We stayed in an upstairs room facing the ocean. It is a very big space and we were spoiled with the A/C and TV! Ha, the Olympics were on and we did not have TV in our two previous hotels, so it was a treat. The room was great, the bed was so comfortable, there was a little kitchen which was nice, the staff was nice also. The resort is actually a bunch of privately owned condos whose owners rent out as a resort, so it was funny to meet some of the owners in the pool and hear about their life in Belize! The pool was very nice and the swim up bar was fun. We are not really lounge at the pool or beach people though so we did not spend too much time there. The restaurant is not that nice, but was convenient when we needed a snack. We bought the water taxi pass and went into town for all our meals. For breakfast there was a vendor riding by on a bicycle every morning selling breakfast tacos! (Or go into town to Estelle's!) There are not a lot of restaurants in close walking distance so we definitely made use of the water taxi. But going into town was a lot of fun and part of the experience. Overall we really liked the resort and we liked that Tuff E Nuff tours was right there at the Belizean Shores dock!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belizean Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belizean Shores Resort

Address: 3.5 Miles North | Ambegris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 0000, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belizean Shores Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belizean Shores Resort is the perfect destination for active and adventure travellers. It is a great place to bring the family and have some fun. The resort offers comfortable and affordable pool view and beachfront suites with many amenities to keep the family entertained. It’s onsite Excursion Center gives adventure seekers every opportunity to explore the island and the country. After a full day of activities the Blue Hole Pool Bar is a great way to wind down, relax, and enjoy the beautiful swimming pool.Belizean Shores offers complimentary water sports to all guests- kayaks, paddle boards, paddle boat, and water trampoline. It also offers complimentary use of the onsite tennis/basketball court, ping pong tables, beach volleyball, children's swing set, and life size chess. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Belizean Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belizean Shores Hotel San Pedro
Belizean Shores San Pedro
Belizean Shores Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belizean Shores Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.