We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sapphire Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sapphire Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sapphire Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Miles North of San Pedro Town | Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 501, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
San Pedro, Belize
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Satisfactory!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed in a villa and it was very nice. The thing is, we could not watch TV because of no signal. Instead of using WiFi, we had to use MiFi so we could use the internet. It may not be as modern as I thought it would (because I love modern), but that was ok. I still like it though, It is a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, Guest Relations Manager at Sapphire Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for your review.
We do offer DVD movies that can be borrowed from the front desk at any time. As you noticed we offer flat screen tvs and DVD players in each unit. Indeed we do not yet have cable tv this far north and this has its pros and cons. To those that would absolutely love getting away from it all, then Sapphire Beach Resort is the perfect place.
Nestled 10 miles north of town, we face daily challenges and lack of cable tv is just one.
These are issues that we are resolving daily and we hope to host you again in the future.
Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    15
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
22
29
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Many of the reviews I read here before our 6 day trip in December of 2013 made me believe we were going to an exceptional resort. This was our 12th trip to Ambergris Caye, and I fully understand the glow that follows your first trip to this wonderful destination - it would make a tent on the beach seem terrific. We really enjoyed Sapphire Beach, and I agree with many of the good points made in other reviews - we would certainly go back. But for the same price point, there are options that might better fit your tastes. Do you like to hang out by the pool, or do you have young kids that will spend most of your trip in the pool? When we were being shown to our rooms we walked by a water feature that I took to be a really nice hot tub. When we were told that it was a swimming pool I almost laughed out loud. It would literally fit in my garage. They have three, but one was not working when we were there. We are all about the beach, and our kids are over the "play in the pool" all day phase, so this was not a let-down for us, but if a super cool pool is important to you, go to Belizean Shores for a great pool at the same price point. The beach is fantastic, but they do not have a cleaned out swimming area surrounded by buoys, a common and sensible feature. They have free kayaks to paddle to a buoy and snorkel (although don't buy a reviewer that reports seeing dolphins here), but they only have two kayaks and one buoy. When we wanted to use this fun resource, we always had to wait, and in one case just give up. It is very common on the Caye for a resort to have 10 kayaks and three buoys. Do you want solitude? This is the place. At more than 10 miles north of San Pedro, there is no beach traffic, no sales people - a very quiet environment. On the flip side during our trip the insects were terrible - really terrible, think the movie "The Birds". When we returned home my daughter had to see a doctor to treat her bites. To the credit of the resort, the staff worked very hard and continuously to address the problem. We believe that the remote nature of the resort contributed to the situation. One review I read touted being given a private cell phone and Wi-Fi hot spot on check in. The hot spot is great, many resorts have free Wi-Fi that has a poor signal, this approach solved that problem, but the phone is only so you can call the office. There is no phone in the room. If you want to call a dive shop or restaurant you have to buy a phone card. There is no TV service, and about 20 DVD's in the office. The rooms are tiny, and very nicely appointed. We had kids sleeping in the "fold down" bed in the "living room" (which is basically the size of the fold down bed). When it came time for our first night the staff could not figure out how to fold down the bed, and ultimately had to get a carpenter with a circular saw to cut pieces off the new furniture to make it into a bed! The bedroom is just a bit larger than the queen bed, with a closet (with no door) that includes a dresser (whose size prohibits a door) and end tables mounted to the walls. There are no lamps in the rooms so it is kind of weird lying in bed trying to read with the overhead light. There are no plugs by the night stands, so if they had lamps in the bedrooms there is no place to plug them in anyway. The restaurant is currently in the building with the office (they are building a nicer space in the second phase under construction). I was worried about the food because of this, but my fears were not realized, the food here is fantastic compared to what we have had before. This is a really good resort restaurant. Unlike resorts in the mid-north (say, five miles north of San Pedro), you cannot walk down the beach and find another place to eat. El Secreto, one mile north has a fancy restaurant, that is worth a visit and can literally be walked, but it is a rough mile trough garbage strewn jungle. So going to dinner elsewhere requires a boat ride - many restaurants offer this as a complimentary service. They did burn trash one day and the smell was unavoidable, and the beached was not raked every day, which is typically the standard practice - who wants to build a seaweed castle? The staff of the resort was great, really friendly and anxious to help out in any way. We will look back on this trip fondly, snorkeling, diving, hanging out, drinking a bit too much, soaking up the natural beauty and eating well. When it is time to return, we absolutely would come back to Sapphire Beach, but our likely choice will be closer in, with a better pool and more restaurants close by.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, Guest Relations Manager at Sapphire Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
I thank you for your candid review. We accept that you have posed some very valid points and are taking all this into consideration.
We have since addressed most of the problems that you have mentioned:
*Our beach is definitely raked everyday.
*We are in the process of getting the right permits to be able to clear a swimming are for our guests. This is no easy feat as we are very close to the reef and are cognizant of the fact that we have a very sensitive marine eco -system.
* We are in the process of purchasing more equipment that will be made available to our guests so as to better enjoy your stay with us.
We will definitely have more canoes, as you rightly said, 2 canoes certainly is not cutting it.
* We have since hired a new chef that has certainly improved an already great menu. I can safely say we are now boasting world class menu items being served from El Zafiro.
* Cable tv has not arrived this far north and it is a situation that we have to cope with. In the mean time we offer dvds at our office.
Overall, we are making great progress and we would love to have you again in the near future.
Thank you once again for your review.
Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Beautiful place long way from daily routine and problems. Nobody bothers people there at all. Not even a cell phone reception :) Place is new, spectacular and very clean. Beach is cleaned several times a day. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We swam with turtles rayas morays and sharks on a payed snorkeling trip and then we even discovered very similar reef with a stunning sea life just few meters from our room. Kayaks and snorkeling gear it available free of charge. HIGLY recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for a week. It was perfect. The staff was outstanding; they were always available to handle any request. The palapa bar was a great place to hang out. The beach is spectacular. We tired quite a few different things from the restaurant and everything was great. Honestly the week was perfect. We will definitely be back. Sam is running a really great resort. Bryan & Amy

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Okay, I have never written a review before. I guess I have never been motivated to but, Sapphire Beach Resort has motivated me. We just got back from 5 days at the resort. The resort and its staff are excellent. If you ever want to get away from it all and be treated like you deserve, this it the place to go. The staff is friendly and treats you like family. Ask for something and they will deliver beyond your ask. My wife's only request on this trip was to find a place to eat where we could have a romantic dinner on the beach. All I had to do is ask the restaurant staff and they made it happen. That is only one example but there are many.

One note, the resort is 10 miles north of the town of San Pedro. The only access is by the resort's shuttle boat or by a public ferry service. So, if you want to get away, this is the place, but if you want the hustle and bustle of a big resort, this is not for you. Things to do: take the shuttle to San Pedro and eat or shop (many local artist and street vendors selling their wears at good prices), lay by the beach and read a book, lay by the pool, kayak inside the reef or get a mask and snorkel and kayak out to the reef for some great snorkeling. You can also arrange all sorts of water and land adventures from hiking to diving.

Communications in Belize can be tough for international travelers but Sapphire Beach Resort takes care of that in style. Upon check-in, we were handed a cell phone to use. This allows you to go anywhere on the island and still be reachable. They also gave us a mifi device to use for interet. This was great and meant we were our own traveling hot spot. We could disable our cellphone except for wifi and stay as connected (or disconnected) as we wanted.

One new note "the pool bar is open." This is a great place to end the evening with new friends or just quench your thirst during the day.

Room Tip: All rooms we saw were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor bc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful rooms and great staff. New place and construction going on but did not bother us.Nice to have a kitchenette. Very accommodating . Food is very good and reasonably priced. 20 minute boat ride was good because i liked the seclusion only issue i had was is the garbage that was burned along the beach i understand they have to get rid of it but they should have had a better location . I love walking the beach but didn't go to far because it bothered me seeing it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed at the resort for 6 nights and it was so relaxing. The location is secluded, quiet and peaceful. The staff was super friendly ready to help and answer any questions we had. The accommodations are beautiful. Stayed in the one bedroom one bathroom pool view unit. Cozy, clean, just lovely. Used the kayaks quite a bit and relaxed on the hammocks. I love how you walk out from the unit and you're right on the beach. I liked having the kitchen to cook some food. A 20 minute boat ride will take you to town where you can get groceries and supplies. Overall a great getaway spot.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sapphire Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Beach Resort

Address: 10 Miles North of San Pedro Town | Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 501, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sapphire Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sapphire Beach Resort-Belize boasts beautifully appointed Condos and Villas amidst lush tropical foliage and secluded beaches. We are located a mere 25 minutes from San Pedro's town core via boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Sapphire Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sapphire Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.