We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pirate's Treasure Restaurant and Chilled Bar

Pirate's Treasure Restaurant and Chilled Bar
1/2 ml North, Tres Cocos Area, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
+501 668-2156
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 126 Restaurants in San Pedro
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We are the only restaurant that specializes in LIONFISH RECIPES on the island. We also have a one of a kind CHEF'S TABLE in Belize, where you WATCH YOUR 3 Course Meal made in front of you, with Chef Mar, sue chef and a bartender with full bar! A definite must do DINING EXPERIENCE when on Ambergris Caye. Reservations required for Chef's Table,Seats 17 persons only. Restaurant's daily menu is first come,first served.
New Orleans, Louisiana
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Prepare for a dining experience. We visited here on the last night of our 2 week adventure in Belize. Wish we found it sooner. Chef Mar was amazing along with her staff (Enrique the bartender, and Terrance with his super sharp knives). Sorry if I misspelled. The chefs table is so cozy and food is prepared FRESH right in front of you. You get to interact and talk about the dishes the Chef is preparing. You will see no processed food or cans here. Everything is chopped and sliced and diced in front of you. This place is excellent. The moment you walk in from the time you leave you feel like a part of their family. The lionfish ( apparently a nuisance fish in Belize that is damaging the reef system) Chef Mar uses in some of her creations is absolutely wonderful and also doing her part to turn this into a wonderful meal PLUS helping the environment. Prepare to be dazzled and stay for at LEAST two hours. We stayed longer. You are not rushed at all. If you want a "cheap quick meal" Go elsewhere. We stayed from 6:00 to past nine. Had several (l lost track) wonderful cocktails, a fresh prepared three course meal for about $80 usd. It was worth it. We miss you guys already. Our home away from home.
Cheryl & Maurice (May 2nd).

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holbrook, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My lay back home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

This was my wife and I second visit to Ambergris Caye with in two years. We can not get enought of this island.

First time we stumbled upon Pirates Treasure during our first visit to the island we truly felt at home. Though Pirates was only open for a couple of months at the time the experience and time spent was great. On that trip we became friends with the owners Jason and Maresha. The food, drinks, conversations and all around time was awesome.

The second trip down there April 12 was even better. They had expanded the restaurant by adding a private chefs table and bar in the back. There Chef (Mar) prepares and amazing dinner consisting of two appetizers and a main course. Chefs table is by reservations ONLY. It seats 15 total and is a great time. Plan to be at the Chefs Table for at least two hours being that you will be interacting with Chef Mar and others around the table. Great way to meet new people from around the world and chow down on some killer food.

Keri and I have a great time seeing old friends and even making new ones (Enrique, Ras). Hope to see you all soon. Wish you the best. And when visiting Pirates Treasure be sure to say hello to Pirate & Skully.

William & Keri aka Puddles

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annandale, va
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good food, but WATCH out.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

First, when you make reservations, you will likely be booked at the Chef's table which is a 15 seat bar surrounding a wood fire where the Chef/Owner will prepare and cook a three course meal directly in front of you. The price for this is $50, it's two hours and is non-negotiable. Drinks are extra and rum cocktails run to $10 each. This was a major surprise to our party of 12 with 6 kids and to another group with us that had to leave in 60 minutes. The owner brow beat the other group into paying and they left before the main course was served. The restaurant definitely could have worked with them to feed them the main course faster as it was already grilled.

Furthermore, they had other tables that were serving food for which you apparently didn't need a reservation and could order ala carte.

First course: conch ceviche was excellent; lime, tomatoe, cilantro, conch, onion,
Second course; Lion fish with vegetables: excellent. A delicious mild white fish.
Third course; a generous, thick pork chop grilled on the wood fire. This was a bit dry and was ready 30 minutes before they served it, but left on the side of the fire to keep warm (it's a large, beautiful hooded oven made out of stone) and therefore I think it dried out. It could have used some less cooking and salsa or something to go with it.

I like the concept; discussing cooking with the chef; and most of the food. I wouldn't have even minded the price if I had known ahead of time and left the kids somewhere else.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefMar, Owner at Pirate's Treasure Restaurant and Chilled Bar, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
NOW, WHEN IT COMES TO KIDS, I AGREE, KEEP THEM AT HOME. That was the first night I had kids at THE CHEF"S TABLE. Congratulations, they now made it a rule. 18yrs and above!

First off, we do not take reservations for our restaurant, it is First Come First Served, Sorry the person who was working front desk at the resort you stayed didn't clarify that you just wanted to come and eat off the regular menu especially since I explained to her that the Chef's Table seats only fifteen and couldn't have seated you all the night you requested.

Second of all, It is NOT WOOD FIRE; WE USE COCONUT HUSKS to smoked all our meats, this way we help to clean the beaches apart from adding a unique flavor to our food!

The other two which made their reservations for the Chef's table had been to our restaurant almost everyday within the week before and was explained over and over again what it was all about so they should have known they were going to be there for two hours, IT IS A DINING EXPERIENCE, not just going to a restaurant, sitting at a table. I have to go earlier in the daytime to shop for everything I need depending on the seats I have booked, most of the time it is all BOOKED, therefore I would loose out time and money if someone decides to cancel then an there when others could have booked those seats. Yes their meat was grilled already but I had to make their sides and they came back for their main course and hour later which was ready for them to take. We are not a fast food, you pay for the food and experience not for us to quickly box food up and get you the hell out off our property.

Your first course was a green mango conch ceviche served in its own shell with plantain chips.

Second course was LION FISH stuffed bell pepper lightly charred on our CORAL ROCK GRILL with COCONUT HUSKS.

Your 1 1/14 Pork Chops, was ready a few minutes before serving time, I apologize I had just hired a new Sue Chef and he was in training. Is this why you asked if you can take the extra pork chops that was left on the grill? Oh sorry that was someone else from your group! But I guess you speak for all of them. I made extra because we make a smoked pork ceviche at the restaurant.

EVERYONE, the CHEF"S TABLE seats 15 ppl only, RESERVATIONS ONLY. You get 3 courses, two appetizers and a main course. Everything is made in front of you from scratch. Full bar meaning there is a full bar available not an open bar as this specific person who wrote this review thought it was. Seating is at six and cooking starts at 7pm. No kids allowed. Call 668 2156
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Good food, definitely enjoyable. Lionfish fingers, chicken fingers, chicken wings all good bar fare. The pork chops were good too. A great place for some seafood nibblers. The music was not overly loud, but was not particularly pleasant. The staff seemed nice, if slightly laid-back. I would come here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food with Exciting Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

An exciting outdoor dining experience...great food, great fun. They cook gourmet style right in front of you and talk to you while you watch. They will not send you away hungry. Some of the friendliest people you will ever meet.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pirate's Treasure Restaurant and Chilled Bar also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye

Been to Pirate's Treasure Restaurant and Chilled Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pirate's Treasure Restaurant and Chilled Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.